Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay near rincon de la vieja

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The fact that it is near the parc.
Nice hotel, near the parc. The staff is friendly (try the pina colada made by the chef, it is delicious).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice place

Posted Feb 15, 2014
We had a great stay at Rinconcito Lodge! The room was clean, breakfast was really good and the site is stunning! We saw rainbows every morning, and thee staff was polite and very friendly. If you are planning on staying more than a day, you might want to have a car of your own, since the site is very remote. Overall, a very decent place, at a very low price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by evoah from brooklyn

Nice place. food overpriced

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice rooms. Decent staff. I would eat next door at Giovanni's. His fried chicken is dope and he's very welcoming.
1 out of 5
by Allie from Boston

Terrible Experience!

Posted Jan 19, 2014
We stayed 2 nights. The 1st night was fine, but in the morning we were told that we were being upgraded to a better room because they needed to paint the one we were in. We had to pack all of our things in a hurry since we were about to leave, and gave them to the desk. When we came back, we got to our new "upgraded" room, which was just slightly bigger, but it was infested with a colony of ants. I saw at least 50 ants in the upper corner of our shower, at least 100 in a ceiling corner of the bedroom, and at least 20 crawling on the corner of one of the bed frames. When we told the owner, apologizing for complaining but that there were just too many to feel comfortable, he gave us spray and told us to spray them and make sure we leave the door open for a while to air it out - he never came to see the problem himself, and left us to deal with the issue. We sprayed them all and sat on the porch for a while as it aired out - when we went back in there were hundreds of dead ants all over our room, and apparently were expected to sleep there that way since we were given no broom or anything to even sweep them out. When we asked for another room because there were just too many dead and half dead ants to handle, the manager seemed irritated and was reluctant to give us another room because all he had were nicer ones available, even though we said we would take anything at all. He never even came to see the ant problem and it completely ruined our night. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!
2 out of 5
by Edy from Philadelphia

Terrible Tour Guide

Posted Jan 10, 2014
It's pretty much what you can expect for a eco-lodge. Staffs are generally very nice there. The only thing we are so disappointed is their tour guide. The lodge offers tour guides for nature walks. They gave us a English tour guide who cannot speak much English. He took us to the upper part of the park and rushed through the circular trail and all of the sceneries in less than two hours. He didn't explain anything except saying things like "this is the mud pod" when we get there, and he couldn't answer simple questions like "if there's any snake in this area". Basically he's no use since the map is easy to follow and we have to drive ourselves anyway. And we had to pay him for the day even though we only used him for about three hours if including the drive. So if you want to have a resourceful guide when touring park, try some other lodges. If you want to walk the park by your own, then it's a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tasha from Alaska,USA

Great Budget Lodge

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rinconcito is a great budget lodge, its not fancy, its rustic and that's what makes it great. Its private and not crowded, very relaxing and quite. Its in the perfect location to go exploring the volcano's. This is a great lodge if you are a nature lover, there is great bird watching on the lodge grounds and its in a perfect location to explore and hike the Volcano parks. The breakfast are nice and so are the dinners, its local fare and you have your choice of 4 options. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff wewe good. The rooms were very plain, bed, night stand, bathroom, sink, toilet, shower. No pictures, bed lamps, or extras. The resturant searved breakfast. There wasn't a large choice to select from. You are located on a ranch, which is nice. The property is very nice, and kept up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug

Beautiful countryside in the dry northwest

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: The peace and the food.
Cons: The rooms I saw are somewhat on the dark side. The room next to us had no windows except in the bathroom.
Location: If you're visiting the volcano, this is a good option (except on Mondays). Horseback riding. The waterfall.
Some reviewers complained about the long drive in on a bad road. It wasn't the best road, but typical of what you will find in Costa Rica. The road to Monteverde is worse. That being said, the staff are great. They will arrange anything for you. Except a trip to the nearby volcano in Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja on Mondays when the park is closed. If we had known that, we wouldn't have come. Horseback riding to the falls was a worthwhile subsistitute. And any time is a good time to look for birds. Red-lored parrots can be found in trees near the dining area. Rufous-naped wrens had a nest near there. Toucans are easy to find. And a trip up the river path will turn up some interesting birds. They have a great cook. She turned out delicious dinners. And you can order almost anything for the included breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by linda from USA

Rinconcito Lodge

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was hard and expensive to get around. The is a 3 km walk to the close side of the national park and a $30 ride each way to the far side of the park. It also costs $30 each way to get there and back. They didn´t have a night walk as advertised. The lodge was nice the staff pleasant. It works if you have a car or on a tour. Otherwise it is expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by mer from Costa Rica

Good location for Rincon de laVieja NP

Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful view from room quiet beautiful flowers, bed not great but okay spacious room, back patio area for every two rooms w hammock & rocking chairs. Menu limited for lunch & dinner /have the chicken/pork and beef options tough, salads w meals delicious. Had tv in side of dining ask to turn off last am for breakfast did so. Recommended hiking & horse back riding tour all day trip but amazing. Not upscale but great for the price.