Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Beautiful Hotel - Wonderful Staff

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: - Beautiful Grounds - The Size, Layout, Decor, and Comfort of our Bungalow - Gracious Staff
Cons: The road to Rio Celeste (and half the roads we traveled on in CR) are unpaved and a bit rough. These are best traveled with a 4WD vehicle.
Location: The waterfall and blue lagoon found in the adjacent Rio Celeste National Park are a spectacular.
This hotel and adjacent national park was the highlight of our 12 day trip through CR. GROUNDS: The hotel is magnificent, with individual bungalows surrounding the central lobby/restaurant and pool. The tropical landscaping is gorgeous and dense enough to isolate each of the bungalows, affording privacy, even when sitting in the covered front porch. The ¾ kilometer trail down to the Rio Celeste on their property provides a great 15-20 minute hike to the river’s edge, where you may choose to take a dip in an area protected by large boulders. The hotel also has a large pool, with a pool edge bar, and three hot whirlpools, which provides a great place to relax after hiking the adjacent National Park. SUITE: The bungalow was large and comfortable, with rich mahogany floors, vaulted bamboo ceilings, and a British Isles style décor. I appreciated the modern design and layout of the spacious bathroom, with an indoor tub/shower and a second private outdoor shower, which came in handy when we running late for dinner! FOOD: The complimentary breakfast buffet in the beautiful open air restaurant was delicious, with plenty of fresh fruit, and many American and Tico options to choose from. Dinner was also excellent, with impeccable service. STAFF: The bilingual staff was warm and friendly, and provided outstanding service. We enjoyed the company of Juan Pablo, Greivan, and Ever, who all went above and beyond to meet our needs, and helped make the stay even more memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Beautiful and Romantic

Posted Aug 21, 2014
We had such a relaxing incredible time at the Rio Celeste Hideaway. The staff was very attentive and sweet. The room was beautiful and much bigger then we thought. The food at the restaurant was great! We'll defiantly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South GA, USA

First Class Resort Hotel in the Rain Forest

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was built around and very open to the natural beauty there. The common areas and rooms were plush and well appointed.
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the Central Costa Rican rain forest and near the entrance to the Tenorio Volcano National Park, there is hiking, tubing, horse riding, etc.
We were very surprised to find such a top shelf resort in the wilderness. The facilities, room, and food were excellent. The staff was very accommodating. There are many outdoor activities to choose from. It was a real bargain!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia, USA

Garden of Eden

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Big surprise. Reminded me of a cross between Humphrey Bogart and Ernest Hemingway. Loved the tropical surroundings. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Beautiful Facility.

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Family of four with two teenage kids. We stayed here for two nights in June as part of a two week vacation in CR. Remote location that would have been difficult to find without a GPS in our rental car. The hotel is an oasis nestled in the rain forest. Staff and the accommodations were excellent. Our four wheel drive vehicle made travel easy along the rain slick dirt road to the hotel. We experienced the heavy rain and thunderstorms in the evening that were typical for this time of year so be prepared.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
It's a good thing it was as nice as it was because the road up there was a little unexpected. Once you were there it was beautiful, so I guess worth the bumpy road
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Chicago

Romantic Getaway

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, I thought Rio Celeste Hideaway was a great place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were really clean, and the food was great (although fairly expensive). I think this is a wonderful place if you really want to "hide away". It's fairly difficult to get to if you are driving your own car, the roads are not paved for 15-20 miles in either direction from the main entrance. I didn't give 5 stars for a few reasons, the power went out once (only for 15 minutes), the hot tubs were not functioning in the morning, there is no room service, our outdoor shower was broken (in the on position), our room was damp and had a 'musty' smell (like no one had stayed there in a while)...these are small things, but added up made me reduce my overall rating to 4 stars. We went during rainy season, so the hotel was fairly empty (which was nice), but they filled up as the weekend approached (which was also nice).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Recently moved

Very nice & romantic.

Posted May 31, 2014
Make sure you go before sundown and I recommend getting their via 4x4. This is a very unique hotel. Unforgettable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jen from Baltimore, MD

AMAZING

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: I loved everything about this hotel
Cons: Just the road to the hotel
This is one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed at. Yes the ride is rocky and sometime scary but in the end it was all worth it to arrive in this paradise. Everything you are expecting it to be from the reviews is that and so much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overwhelmed by this hotel

Posted May 9, 2014
Off the beaten path, very romantic, super friendly staff (look for Andres). Like the name of the hotel suggests a true hideaway. If you do not like relaxing and nature, Rio Celeste is nothing for you. If you want to eat out of the hotel, no "real" restaurants nearby, but eating at Posada Rio Celeste (at a local's home) was a great experience. I thank all the reviewers who warned for the roads that lead to the place and mentioned that a 4x4 is needed. It is true especially if it is raining, but it is worth the drive!