Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Awesome place

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Just be ready for the rough road. A lot of car rental companies rent small sedan style 4x4 that have smaller street tires. These will get you through (it's what we had) but get something with better tires if you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, Ga

Remote Paradise

Posted Nov 27, 2014
After traveling hours from most tourist, this hotel provides the remote paradise that I had been seeking in Costa Rica. Incredibly decorated bungalows provide an escape into unspoiled Costa Rican rain forest. The 24 individual bungalows provide privacy and ensure that you never feel crowded like other properties. The walk down to the Rio Celeste River provides an opportunity to swim in the cool refreshing blue waters. The restaurant, pool, hot tubs, reception area, and bar leave little to be desired. 5 stars from this frequent traveler!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Great HIDEAWAY, if you want to be far.

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: The people, the food and the swimming pool are great. The excursions are fantastic, make sure you go TUBBING!!!
Cons: There are no sports channels in the TV. Maybe you dont go there to watch TV, but you would love to see the results at night. No internet in the rooms
Location: The excursions are fantastic, make sure you go TUBBING!!! But everything else is 2hrs drive from there.
The hotel is great and the people are amazing. However, we booked a hotel in the "Arenal" area but this is 130 miles away from Fortuna!! The hotel is 11kms inside a dirt road that REQUIRES a 4x4 car or truck. Once there, you will enjoy the place, if you like to be lost in the middle of no-where. The excursions are fantastic, make sure you go TUBBING!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by LLTOURSfrom NYC

it is a paradise, only if you know how get to it.

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel is next to the National Park. Within the hotel has a trail lead to the rainforest and the river. You can even swim in the river. The night walk in the rainforest is specially fun and can find many creatures.. The staffs are very friendly, food is very good. You must try the pool, one of the best keep condition...They do free pick up service from the nearby town... be sure toask them, because the road is very difficult to drive...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Princeton, NJ

Beautiful Hotel - Wonderful Staff

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: - Beautiful Grounds - The Size, Layout, Decor, and Comfort of our Bungalow - Gracious Staff
Cons: The road to Rio Celeste (and half the roads we traveled on in CR) are unpaved and a bit rough. These are best traveled with a 4WD vehicle.
Location: The waterfall and blue lagoon found in the adjacent Rio Celeste National Park are a spectacular.
This hotel and adjacent national park was the highlight of our 12 day trip through CR. GROUNDS: The hotel is magnificent, with individual bungalows surrounding the central lobby/restaurant and pool. The tropical landscaping is gorgeous and dense enough to isolate each of the bungalows, affording privacy, even when sitting in the covered front porch. The ¾ kilometer trail down to the Rio Celeste on their property provides a great 15-20 minute hike to the river’s edge, where you may choose to take a dip in an area protected by large boulders. The hotel also has a large pool, with a pool edge bar, and three hot whirlpools, which provides a great place to relax after hiking the adjacent National Park. SUITE: The bungalow was large and comfortable, with rich mahogany floors, vaulted bamboo ceilings, and a British Isles style décor. I appreciated the modern design and layout of the spacious bathroom, with an indoor tub/shower and a second private outdoor shower, which came in handy when we running late for dinner! FOOD: The complimentary breakfast buffet in the beautiful open air restaurant was delicious, with plenty of fresh fruit, and many American and Tico options to choose from. Dinner was also excellent, with impeccable service. STAFF: The bilingual staff was warm and friendly, and provided outstanding service. We enjoyed the company of Juan Pablo, Greivan, and Ever, who all went above and beyond to meet our needs, and helped make the stay even more memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Dos dias en el paraíso

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Un hotel precioso con habitaciones de ensueño y zonas comunes con un mobiliario de madera tallada exquisito. Muy buena decoración en general. El servicio muy atento y agrable. Los jardines, fantasticos. Desayunos muy complertos. Lo único malo, la carretera tan mala para llegar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by oré

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Lauderdale

Beautiful and Romantic

Posted Aug 21, 2014
We had such a relaxing incredible time at the Rio Celeste Hideaway. The staff was very attentive and sweet. The room was beautiful and much bigger then we thought. The food at the restaurant was great! We'll defiantly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South GA, USA

First Class Resort Hotel in the Rain Forest

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was built around and very open to the natural beauty there. The common areas and rooms were plush and well appointed.
Cons: Nothing
Location: In the Central Costa Rican rain forest and near the entrance to the Tenorio Volcano National Park, there is hiking, tubing, horse riding, etc.
We were very surprised to find such a top shelf resort in the wilderness. The facilities, room, and food were excellent. The staff was very accommodating. There are many outdoor activities to choose from. It was a real bargain!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom georgia, USA

Garden of Eden

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Big surprise. Reminded me of a cross between Humphrey Bogart and Ernest Hemingway. Loved the tropical surroundings. Excellent food. Friendly staff. Will return.