Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

A little quality goes a long way

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The manager did not have any objection to cancel our remaining two days and refunded us.
Cons: The whole place needs a serious remodeling.
Location: The street was completely quite as it is off the main street. Things close by are Rio's business center, Aterro do Flamengo and Pão de Açucar.
We arrived at the hotel after a long day. The welcome was nice and promising, but as soon as the check in was completed we were taken to the service elevator. We were explained that the main elevator was going through maintenance and would be ready for use next morning. We got up to the sixth floor, opened the door and stood in front of the door to our room. The first impression when stepping into the room was all but uplifting. The sheet did not cover completely the mattress. The light on the ceiling was a simple light bulb. The restroom did not have any shelf besides the lavatory and we did not have anywhere to place our stuff. Things got worse when we heard the elevator leaving the sixth floor to pick up a guest from some other floor. The elevator was loud and gave us a good introduction to what the night would be. Our fears were multiplied by the time we laid on the mattress to go to sleep. It was rock hard. The night was horrible with the constant noise of the elevator going up and down and our body was sore from the mattress. Once we got up in the morning the mattress was now fully exposed as the linen got completely loose during the night. The sides of the mattress were torn and showing its age dating some date being from the last millennium. We tried to shrug all the bad experience off and take a shower to have our breakfast. Here came the next surprise. There was no water to flush the toilette and no water to take a shower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good as a plan B

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Restaurant.
Cons: The room comfort and quality.
Location: Not much.
I got this hotel since it was the only one left that was not a hostel during the world cup. I booked everything 4 months in advance only so I was very limited. The room and bathroom was not up to my standards, but the restaurant they have was great! Staff also was but its not near copacabana or ipanema so taking metro or a cab to see anything worth while is neccessary,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A major mismatch with star rating.

Posted May 12, 2014
Good folks but old and dirty building, out of date and very small rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by sarah.o from london

exactly what we needed

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and I stayed here for just one night before we flew back to the UK. We were nervous after reading both good and bad reviews but it turned out to be an extremely pleasant stay . We were not expecting luxury so were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The breakfast was great, the room was clean and quiet and the ground floor reception decor was beautiful. We sat there with a coffee planning our last day in the city.
1 out of 5
by Alex from Brazil

old,uncomfortable and scary place to stay

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything! Throw away all the furniture, redecorate, clean properly and you will get more guests!
The hotel located in good area of the city on the quiet street. The hotel condition is terrible - furniture, facilities are old and dirty. It's not giving any charm to the hotel at all. The cleaning situation - is horrible: Walls, bed,closet, sanitation in general. Found an alive cockroach inside the bed, hairs from previous quests (or maid) all over the bathroom. Safe locker didn't work. Sealing in bathroom was liking all the time, noise from AC, buffet downstairs and from cleaners .... Will never stay there again and won't recommend it to anyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Klaas from NY

Not really for tourists

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
ok hotel, friendly people with a decent knowledge of English. Close to the beach of Flamenco but you need to take a (short) train ride to Copacabana or the other nice beaches. No night live or restaurants that make you go back in that neighborhood. Rooms are very basic but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renzo from Lima, Perú

Great location

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Staff is friendly and the location of the hotel.
Cons: Wifi should be included in the price. Staff should learn spanish and/or english. The facilities could be a little bit more modern.
Location: The location is convenient. Really nice neighborhood, quiet and safe. Very close to a beach and to a nice park with several options to eat and shop.
Its location is great and the staff is very friendly. However, they barely speak spanish or english. The facilities are very old and the wifi is not included in the price!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by luis from London

quaint hotel in a safe and frienly area

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: all good
Cons: bathroom could be improved. lift very noisy
Location: restaurants around and great area
very simple but nice hotel with no many facilities but great if you travel on a budget. I loved the french windows. lift very noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by L george from California

Good hotel but?

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The receiption, restaurant and management very helpfull. Location is good and safe. Rooms small and the dble bed small, we had to change the room for two single beds. Hotel need upgrades old furniture . Good internet and ask at the front if you can have it for free, they did for us as we stayed 10 days. Close to metro, if we ever stay at this place again be for the management and location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by cp from sb

just Okay

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is not new but no amenities in the room old elevator not really clean rooms old towels but the restaurant was good and the location was very convenient