Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel provides a beautiful view of the beach and sits rights in the heart of my favorite area of Ipanema.
Cons: Friendlier staff!
Location: Sunday's Hippie Market is a must plus several great restaurants and the subway is close by.
Sits right in the heart of my favorite area of Ipanema with great access to beaches, restaurants, and shopping. This was our third stay at the hotel because of the location, easy access to the beaches, and the rooms with complimentary breakfast are great. Unfortunately the staff is never very friendly. For the second straight year, the front desk tried to give us a lesser room than the one we were guaranteed on Expedia. Please make sure if you book this hotel that you take a copy of your reservation - especially if you pay in advance. After a long discussion, both years they did eventually upgrade us to the room we paid for in advance on Expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

The location is the only asset

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location
The room was small and though I had explicitly requested a king bed they gave us two twins. The gym is a joke, the few machines are broken. The pool was frozen cold, hence was always empty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
great location excelent staff very nice clean rooms but to small
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Small, basic hotel in good location

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
In general, the hotel was good. It is on Ipanema beach and near good restaurants. I did not have a room facing the sea so the view was disappointing.The breakfast was very basic and the same food every day. On my first day only one elevator worked so it was a long wait to go either up or down. The bar on the roof only seats 3 so if someone else gets there first you are out of luck. All staff from maintenance (had to get my safe door changed) to front desk, to housekeeping, to restaurant/bar staff were very helpful and friendly. I had left a watch in the room but a staff member from housekeeping found it and brought it to me before I checked out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda from USA

Helpful staff, clean hotel, great location

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was courteous and helpful and spoke very good English. The location can't be beat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MO

Nice hotel across from beach

Posted May 31, 2014
Great hotel. Rooms away from beach have ugly view. Within walking distance of shops, restaurants, beaches etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim

Posted May 19, 2014
Great location, very good hotel. Very good breakfast included. Staff are gracious and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Samba from Beverly Hills

Definitely the best Best Western!

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel in Ipanema with outstanding staff and great views from the ocean rooms. I was very impressed with staff and their courteousness. The rooms look recently upgraded with wooden floors and have iPhone docks. Nice breakfast with a view of the beach. The pool is on the roof with a gorgeous view but it's a plunge pool, and the gym is really tiny. Ideal location. I would stay here again. Splurge on the ocean view; it's a very tall hotel with great views and the sound of the ocean waves is wonderful.