Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by mike

why are no repairs being made??

Posted May 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Both passenger elevators broken, in room wifi not working, a/c too noisy to use, and both computers out in the business center in the lobby. Yet they were renewing perfectly fine marble floors. This makes no sense. The building was once beautiful with great balcony, lobby, dining room, and bar.Service people are desk great. But who can stay in a room on the 8th floor without elevators, computers, air conditioning, Some new furniture would be an addition.
1 out of 5
by Mariyoy from Boston, MA, USA

WORST HOTEL - CALIFORNIA OTHON

Posted Apr 2, 2012
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, room, towels, bed, staff, everything..
Location: Copacabana, BRazil
This hotel is extremely bad and I never ever would recommend anyone to stay in here. The staff was extremely rude and the check in process was really poor. The room were really dirty, blankets stained and the bathroom was dirty. I cannot tell you how many times I have stayed in hotel but please understand that this was the WORST stay and I NEVER will recommend anyone to stay here. I never write reviews but I wanted to take the effort to let you all know that you shoudl not spend a minute in thsi hotel. The elevators do not work and the whole hotel smells. It is not upgraded back from the 30's and I mean that. Breakfast was so horrible and internet does not work in the room but they make sure to charge you. PLEASE STAY IN A TAXI if you have only this option..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Stay away from this hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Besides being old as molasses, having a bed as soft as a mount of bricks, there were a few pubic hairs sunbathing in and old bathtub, one that I would never consider putting my feet into. I thought I was getting a good deal, but in reality they would have to pay me to stay in that rat hole.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from copenhagen

Posted Sep 3, 2011 on Hotels.com
Wi-fi is not working when we were at hotel. Even though they have two computers they were busy all the time. It spoiled all our plans as we thought of planning all our tour while we were in hotel. Room is a little bit better but the toilet is very very bad, the flush and shower were not working properly. I think the hotel is not worthy for the price we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Good for the money.

Posted Feb 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
Overall, it is a good hotel for the money. The location is great but next time I would like to have a better room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Don't stay herel

Posted Aug 17, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel is terrible, the rooms are dark, dirty and old. My room was very small, the shower stall is the smallest I've seen. Nothing has been updated though the lobby is beautifully restored to its classic 1920s period. There is a strong problem of mold and mildew in the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and unclean!

Posted Aug 1, 2010 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend this hotel. The mattress, bedding, and pillows were in extremely poor condition, the bathroom was dirty and the windows didn't close properly. There is no safe and internet is quite expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Hotel California Othon - not a 4 star hotel...

Posted Jun 15, 2010 on Hotels.com
You are not allowed to bring anyone up to your room, ANYONE. This is the biggest joke ever. If you have friends they must hang out in the lobby, even after you paid for your room. The hotel is not that clean, for sure a 1 or 2 star hotel at best. They need to address the fact that people meet friends, and since they paid for the room, they should be able to use it however.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

Served its purpose

Posted May 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel is basic but the staff is very nice. If I had a room with a view of the beach my ratings would be higher, but as it stands this hotel will suffice if you don't spend a lot of time inside of it. The beach is right across the street, and eateries and shopping are very near. If I had to I would stay there again but only after exploring other options.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from huntingdon valley,pennsylvania

Rio,Othon Palace

Posted Mar 18, 2010 on Hotels.com
The hotel lobby is inviting. my only problem was that my phone did not work the entire time i was there and no one seemed to care . i reported this the first day but to no avail. I had to go down to request for things,to be brought up to my room. The bathrooms,needed much deodorizing and cleaning.The room needs dusting. The best thing was their brunch was excellent.