Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bayern / Schönsee

nettes kleines Hotel im Stadteil Santa Teresa

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Ausblick von der Terasse und das Frühstück dort. Die Freundlichkeit des Personals
Location: Stadteil Santa Tersa In Rio der Janeiro. Künstlerviertel mit Bars und Restaurants
Mir hat der Aufenthalt hier über das Wochende sehr gefallen. Das Hotel ist einfach und sehr sauber mit schönem Blick über Rio de Janeiro. Ich wurde sehr freundlich enpfangen und gut eingewiesen und gleich mit zwei Karten versorgt. Das Viertel ist sehr sicher und es gibt Bars Restaurants und Künstlerläden in der näheren Umgebung. Zur Metro sind es 10min. mit dem Taxi, es gibt auch Kleinbusse für ein paar Reais. Der Cocovado ist 20 min mit dem Taxi gut zu erreichen. Wer keinen Luxus und Strandblick braucht ist hier genau richtig.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by joshuafrom Miami

Beautiful GEM your going to love it !

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Its a home away from home, gives you access and perspective for another part of RIO loved the place simple nice and very nice hosts, only thing missing and only part of time is A/C which can get warm during summer, wonderful deck beautiful views, it is a place leaving with you the feeling of wanting to come back, very personal - recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel in the centre of Santa Teresa

Posted Dec 23, 2014
We had a lovely stay at hotel castelinho38. It is well located in a safe area and just short walk away to the bars and shops in Santa Teresa. The hotel has good facilities, nice breakfast and bar and great views of Rio. The staff are wonderful and are very helpful, their English is excellent. The manager is so kind he encouraged us to use the spare shower room after we went to the beach on our last day as we had a late night flight. The only problem we had (which wasn't the hotels fault) was that every taxi we took back did not know the area and it cost more we don't know if this was a scam or they genuinely didn't know but it's best to confirm the address and directions in advance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia.

Charming Castelinho38

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. This place is more like a guest house than a hotel. Breakfast was on the large balcony overlooking Rio.
Cons: The hand basin in the bathroom was starting to come away from the wall; it needed a permanent fix.
Location: A very hilly historic location within a jumble of streets; I would never have found it without a good taxi driver. Good choice of restaurants nearby.
I had three nights in mid September staying in Rio de Janeiro at Castelinho38 and was really happy there. Olindo and his staff were friendly and helpful. Olindo helped me choose the best tours to get the most out of my two short days in Rio and I was very happy with those choices. He also organised a taxi driver friend to take me at a very early hour to the airport when I was leaving, so if I was going there again I would have him organise the same friendly driver to pick me up from the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hamburg

Ein Schmuckstück von Hotel!

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Das Hotel ist eine sehr schön restaurierte Villa mitten in Rio. Unser Zimmer war einfach ausgestattet ,aber sehr sauber und geschmackvoll mit alten Möbeln eingerichtet! Die Frühstücksterrase bietet einen wunderbaren Blick über Santa Teresa und Rio centrum. Es gibt viele Restaurants und Bars in der nähe und für Ausflüge rund um Rio ist die Lage ideal. Das Personal sprach englisch und war sehr freundlich. Das Frühstück war gut und ausreichend. Wir würden beim nächsten Rio aufendhalt das Hotel wieder buchen!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bjornfrom Stavanger

Best experience in Rio

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had high hopes for Castelinho and I must say that they didn't disappoint. If you stay here you will meet a very helpful and friendly staff. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The view of the city from the balcony where you eat breakfast is breathtaking, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff seems to take pride in hotel where they work. Piled on top of this is a price per night that is very cheap considering that you are in Rio, a quite expensive city. The neighbourhood is also among the most interestig i Rio. Enjoy your stay at Castelinho and make sure to pay a visit to Rustico, a nearby restaurant with great atmosphere and mouthwatering dishes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Douglasfrom Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Wonderful Hotel in Santa Teresa area of Rio

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent room, fantastic host, good price. Delicious breakfasts on the city-view terrace, with fresh local tropical fruits, breads, spreads, and eggs made to order. Olindo, the owner, made every guest feel special. The neighborhood is colorful and felt safe to us (despite some other reviews of the Santa Teresa area). The street is a bit off the beaten path, so taxis sometimes had to ask directions, but it was a short walk to the main streets, and to the bus to get to the Metro (if you want to save the 10-15 minute walk to the Metro). Santa Teresa is centrally located, so pretty convenient for tourism. If we come to Rio again, we'll stay at Castelinho38.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

unique hotel in brilliant position

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Position, staff, the whole ambiance
Cons: Probably much but should be left alone !!
Location: Close to centre of Santa Teresa with interesting walks etc.
We had two days at this hotel it was good fun . Staff really helpful. Laid on a simple but really tasty buffet breakfast You must order scrambled eggs excellent ! Room is very basic but clean with a bathroom that is antique but good fun. Its position at top of hill makes views of Rio a real treat. This was an introduction to Brasil and it set the scene we loved it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com