Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver canada

Close to beach terrible dining room

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Have stayed here for 10 years. Needs some fixing especially bathrooms. No fan in bathroom. I take my own face cloths but maids take and don't return. One positive thing wi fi worked this year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires, Argentina

Ideal location next to the beach in Ipanema

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Location, pool area in terrace, breakfast, bathroom amenities, views, restaurant, lively area, nearness to beach and stores, surprisingly quiet
Cons: The bathrooms are perfectly ok but old.
Location: It is in the heart of ipanema, lots of restaurants, stores, residences, travel agencies (the hotel overcharges for this), banks, beach, metro, buses.
The hotel is fine, casual, very much a four star hotel, with a good breakfast buffet that includes eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit, breads, cold cuts, juices. It is one block away from the beach, the gay beach in fact which is great fun and full of lively characters. It is in perhaps the most popular street in Ipanema, Farme de Amoedo, a kind of Greenwich Village feel to it with a beach. The hotel restaurant is Asian and from what I tried, very good, and a good meal for two cost about 50 dollars. At the moment there is no fitness center but you can ask for a voucher daily to go to a decent and air conditioned gym three blocks away. The pool area in the terrace had just been renovated -- I was there ten days and it only opened three days before I left -- and it is glorious, with wonderful views of the Corcovado on one side and the sea on the other. I believe the fitness center, when finished, will be up there us well. And there is a small bar there too. I was on the 9th floor, a supposedly deluxe room with two double beds, comfortable. The decoration is nice, but perhaps they might want to think of renovating the bathrooms. They are fine but old, with a bathtub and a shower curtain. However, the amenities (soaps, etc.) are of very good quality. I went during the high season and it cost me about 300 US dollars a night. I believe rates vary. New Year and carnival rates are much higher, but I think they must go down as of March. I thought it very much worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gabrielfrom São Paulo

Ótima localizacao

Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels.com
Ótima localização, perto da praia e do metrô. Conseguimos fazer quase todos os passeios a pé ou de metrô. No Hotéis.com diz que o check in é as 12h, no hotel informaram que está errado e correto é as 15h, esse foi nosso único contratempo. De qualquer forma, conseguiram nos alocar no quarto as 13h. O quarta tinha uma cama gigante, mas decoração e acabamento são bem antigos. A piscina e um elevador estavam em reforma e não fomos avisados disso previamente.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RENEfrom Aracaju

Falta de boa fe objetiva

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Falta de respeito e lealdade com o consumidor por nao informar no momento da reserva que a piscina do hotel estaba sem funcionamento.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Deisefrom Campinas

Reforma

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fiquei decepcionada quando soube que a piscina estava em reforma, deveriam avisar no site sobre isso! Mas num geral o hotel Eh bom, quarto espaçoso, camas confortáveis, café da manhã excelente, sem contar a localização que Eh otima!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Shabby but nice staff

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The staff were all helpful and kind people The location is perfect
Cons: Clean the rooms and hotel better overall fix all the peeling wallpaper Upgrade the elevators renovate the lobby
Location: Location was perfect and beautiful
No Wi Fi the in the room the whole time I was there Room was not cleaned very good and something had dried between the two bed and was not cleaned up I had to do it myself THe elevator was scary clunky and needed an upgrade badly Very Shabby overall
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Francescofrom London, UK

Avoid, it's a nightmare

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was ghastly - from the rudeness at reception, to the state of the room - rotten ceiling in the bathroom, stained bathtub, air conditioning not working, and a persistent smell of smoke and damp. To top it all: the rooftop terrace, bar and pool have been closed 'for renovation' since the 28th of October, yet they keep on appearing in the 'amenity' list promoted by this site. Considering that this was one of my key requirements - bravo to everybody involved. Hotels managed and cared for so poorly deserve to fail.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

do not expect anything good inRio

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were rude, reception was inefficient and unhelpful. It took me 30 mins wait to be checked in. The receptionist was rude with regard to me having an early check in not having checked that I had booked the previous night. The toilet was broken and the fittings of poor quality. The hotel entrance awning was falling down. The service in the restaurant was poor and lengthy. The pool was closed Nothing good about the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Josefrom NYC

Great hotel going through Improvements.

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Renovations going on so pool and roof top was closed. Had no internet for 2 days. The beach club was out of chairs and towles twice.