Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Cintoa

Too expensive for what it is

Posted May 22, 2014
The room we stayed was a deluxe and we paid a pretty expensive rate for what it is. The room and hotel need a good renovation to meet the expectation of guests paying a 4 star hotel price. Bathroom was small, with stained tiles, horrible shower and a old bathtub that couldn't be used and looked disgustinng. The rooftop swimming pool has a beautiful view but is very small. Location, staff and breakfast were good though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by K from Brooklyn, NY

Good hotel among mediocre options

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel could not be better. The beach services with towels and chairs are rare on Ipenema and a great benefit.
Cons: Better working facilities and more monitoring of housekeeping procedures.
This was my second stay at the Golden Tulip Ipenema and it certainly seems as if the hotel has seen better days. While there the elevators were constantly being serviced or breaking down. This often meant waiting for quite a while for an elevator or very crowded elevators. Upon check-in we were ignored for a while before finally being helped. Once in the room, we discovered the bathroom was in unacceptable condition. The tub appeared dirty and there was a stain on the shower curtain. The staff worked to fix this right away and replaced the shower curtain and re-cleaned the bathroom, but for the rates that they charge a guest should not need to tell them to clean a bathroom properly and replace dirty or damaged fixtures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Freda Routh from Arizona, USA

Carnaval

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is in need of updating especially bathrooms. We paid 3 x regular rate o stay there during Carnaval. The staff did a great job of coping with the crowds and trash from the 100,000 people on the street during the Band of Ipanema's syrett band performances. I even saw what appeared to be there staff cleaning the streets in front of the hotel. Unfortunately the a/c broke . After 2 days we were offerred choices by the manager. We opted for moving to Copacabana to a very nice room in a different hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Regarding the air condition problem.. was ok

Posted Mar 7, 2014
air condition not working, staff really nice. Close to the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from London

A very conveniently situated hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The room was spacious, the restaurant large enough to make finding a table in side or out very easy and breakfast good with special requests welcome.
Cons: Rather small pool crowded with overweight men during my stay.
Location: 2 minutes walk from the middle of Ipanema Beach. Close to bars, restaurants and shopping. Cruise along Ipanema at 07.30 every morning - marvellous.
Mine was literally a last minute booking for a wedding on Ipanema. I checked in at mid night only 2 hours after the on line booking. On arrival the room was prepared and I was in bed within 30 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rio traveler from new york

Great time

Posted Jan 8, 2014
The staff spoke English well and very courteous to ones needs. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I recommend to reserve a lounge chair if you plan to spend time at the pool. The hotel is perfectly located w/ in impanema beach neighborhood. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rio traveler from new york

Great time

Posted Jan 8, 2014
The staff spoke English well and very courteous to ones needs. The rooms are clean and comfortable. I recommend to reserve a lounge chair if you plan to spend time at the pool. The hotel is perfectly located w/ in impanema beach neighborhood. We had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by BCD from USA

Good Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
When in Rio, one does not spend a good deal of time in the hotel room, therefore the style and finish of the room may not be important. This room was satisfactory. The Golden Tulip Ipanema shines on their service though. Very good hotel. If the prices are good and availability is there during my next visit, I will repeat.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Could Have Been Better

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Front desk plays an important role to shape the customer's impression of the hotel and its services. When there is no connection to the internet because of some circumstances beyond its control, we expect the Front desk to inform us at the time we check-in and not to allow us to discover this later by ourselves. Without internet connection, our stay was seriously affected. The corridor lights are controlled by motion sensors but this are not synchronized with the lifts. We have to keep moving inorder to keep the lights on while waiting for the slow moving lifts.