Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo, SP

Great location, poor cleanliness.

Posted Jul 10, 2008
Great location, helpful employees, poor cleanliness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Austin Texas

Rio Central

Posted Jun 18, 2008
Arrived early and had to wait until 12:00. We received a free upgrade. Hotel staff was excellent. Food was great and reasonable. Was not a 5 star but I didnt need one. It was a good value and would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Santa Ynez, CA

Moderate choice

Posted Mar 30, 2008
This hotel had great views of Sugarloaf and we could even see Cristo Redentor as well. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was quite basic but the shower was great. The breakfast was ample as well. The condition of the hotel was older and they were renovating the room next to ours. The air conditioning was great. The location was remote from the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema--cabs were pricey to those areas. After a day or so we became familiar with the metro and buses. The metro station and local shopping were only one block away. The hotel is near the water and convenient to downtown by metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Rafael

Very Happy Camper

Posted Mar 23, 2008 on Hotels.com
I had to rush to Rio because my teenage daughter was undergoing emergency surgery. All the Copacabana & Ipanema hotels were full and Hotel Novo Mundo was close to the hospital and resonably priced. After a day of pointing and grunting in Portuguese I arrived late and tired and the staff was helpful, accomodating, and spoke English! When my daughter left the hospital she stayed with me for several days and claimed the hotel to be invalid friendly. They cooked her special meals, the shower didn't require her to bend, and the beds were soft, which she says is rare in Rio. The restaurant food was very good and I had a beautiful view of the bay. The hotel is located on the opposite side of town from Copacabana & Ipanema if beaches and nightlife is your goal, otherwise I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Comfortable and clean!

Posted Jan 16, 2008
The hotel was a reasonably good standard, clean and comfortable, although the decor is quite dated. There was a good selection for the breakfast buffet. The location was good for nightlife - I highly recommoend a night out in the samba bars and clubs in Lapa. However, it was quite a long way from other attractions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york city

Poor service

Posted Jan 9, 2008 on Hotels.com
Although the hotel is clean, the service is terrible. The one request we asked was for them to make a dinner reservation, which we waited 20 minutes to get someone to help us, then left them the information for 3 different restaurant choices, went out for the day & came back with no reservation, no note as to why & no help from the whoever took over the desk!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sao Paulo

Excellent view and close to subway

Posted Aug 15, 2007
Nice hotel though it needs some upgrade in some aspects. There is no hairdrier in the room (but they provide one when asked... it takes about 30 minutes to have it)... There is no queen size bed... Sugar Loaf seen from the window... Good beauty salon in the lobby... No swimming pool... Oppsite Flamengo Park, good for jogging... The beach is not good for swimming... Central to attractions like Christ, downtown museums, Lapa night clubs, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2007 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Nice hotel

Posted May 2, 2007
Hotel is on Flamengo bech. Near is safety and clean metro. Uppest rooms are renovated. Nice view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico City, Mexico

Enjoy a very special hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2007
At the time you get into the hotel you will feel a very warm atmosphere, the architecture still has the taste of the 60s-70s very well mantained, uniformed staff make you feel very comfortable, I really recommend this place