Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, convenient location

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Good breakfast, great views of the Sugarloaf from our room. Wifi speed can be a problem in Brazil but here it was ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Go

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Too many things to fix it should be shut down.
This is the worst hotel I have stayed in. The hotel is under construction and filthy with a curious odor throughout. When we checked in we were put in a room with no ventilation looking onto a tiny shaft. We complained and they moved us to a "suite" on the 10th floor. This also smelled and the ac did not work. Truly an awful experience and I would advise giving this hotel a wide berth.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by marine exhaust

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel and staff were nice and courteous, and restaurant was good but not excellent. The main issue I had was that on the floor I was staying they were performing construction and due to the location of the wireless router I had absolutely no internet signal. In order to work I had to go to the lounge or bring my laptop out into the hallway. I requrested someone to come and try and resolve the issue but no one showed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel but building works spoilt it

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, professional.
Cons: It is simply not worth the money if you have to listen to the noise from the building works.
The hotel was obviously a nice hotel. The staff were nice and I could see Christ the redeemer and sugar loaf mountain from my window. However, the hotel has building work going on and the noise was so loud it was like the work was going on in my room. Very loud drilling and banging although not constantly all day. There was also water dripping from the bathroom ceiling. When the work is finished I would recommend this hotel to a friend as everything apart from the noise was good. If you were out early till late it would not bother you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Austin from San Francisco, CA

Great spot, rooms under construction

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel and location were good, nice to be away from the beaches (although we did spent a few nights in Ipanema to balance that out). Catete and Flamengo are super lively and fun. A lot of their rooms are being renovated and our room was right in the middle of a bunch of rooms that were being improved so there was a lot of noise, hammering, and some smells of burning. Other than that though, enjoyed the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money

Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is under renovation because of the World Cup and the Olympics. Try to get a room on a higher floor. Front office staff and doorman were very helpful. Beware of taxi drivers. Always have the doorman check to see if they know where you want to go otherwise you will be driving around for hours. For the most part they don't know where any of the restaurants are.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Richmond, TX, USA

You can do better than this

Posted Apr 27, 2013
Pros: Convenient to Catete subway station
Cons: Terrible Internet, Some rooms are very outdated - not all. Lots of street & park noise
Location: Location is handy for business meeting in Rio Centro
My rating is purely based on the value of this hotel vs the price you pay. This hotel is just not worth more than $120 -$130 night in Rio. You can do much better for a $210 to $230 per night hotel. I have stayed at this hotel a few times but this was my last time. Consistent problems with the internet service on every single trip. Forget about skyping for hours at a time, the internet just does not have enough bandwidth in the mornings or early evenings when other guests are using the internet. Rooms are hit/miss. Some of the rooms have not been remodeled for 20+ years while some are much newer. Be prepared if you get an older room and plan on working on a computer. The built in desk is 6 inches taller than a normal desk so forget working on a computer for extended periods while sitting down. There are large football fields across the street from the hotel and games/noise can go on until 1am or later. Be prepared for this if your room faces east or south. The area around the hotel seems safe although I was not on the street walking around after 9:30pm. Day time is perfectly safe. I have found the staff to be helpful and have no complaints about them whatsoever. The problem is really that the hotel is really overpriced compared to other hotels in the area. Go stay by Copacabana and hop on the subway back to Rio Centro. Subway is fast, easy and safe from Copacabana to Rio Centro and you will be much happier with the hotels. You can do better.
3 out of 5
by George from St Louis, MO

Mixed quality, and be sure to ask for a view!

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Pros: views over beach and Sugarloaf
Cons: plumbing, restaurant, generally showing its age
Location: close to Catete Metro station. Location is safe and upscale.
Temperature control in shower was unpredictable, to say the least -- fluctuating between scalding and icy. Lots of street noise, even on the 9th floor (there are 2 soccer pitches just across the street from the hotel, resulting in hooting and hollering at all hours of the night and early morning). The restaurant was a bit overpriced and dinner was a generic Italian-style buffet. We would have liked something more Brazilian. On the positive side, front desk staff were courteous and spoke very good English, and the view of the ocean, beach and Sugarloaf from my room was SPECTACULAR (see photo). This being said, colleagues of mine were put in rooms that had no window at all, save for a frosted glass pane that overlooked an internal "courtyard". So the view is luck of the draw.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont like!!

Posted Oct 16, 2012
Hotel is too old. Room smells. The washhand area is too small and old. Price is too high than the quality of the room. so I wouldn't recommend and will not stay for future either.