Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

The Ipanema Inn, Rio de Janeiro

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: It has recently been completely re-decorated / designed, but one of the staff told us that by next year there will be a roof top swimming pool.
Location: It's a great location, near to the beach, the shops, restaurants and all of the sights are just a walk or taxi ride away.
The Ipanema Inn is a lovely boutique style hotel, located in a very good part of Rio, just near the Ipanema beach. Although compact, the bedrooms are bright and well designed with comfortable beds and bedding, computer desk and very nice bathrooms. The public area is stylish and the breakfast was absolutely delicious and very generous. But best of all, the staff are charming and helpful. It was the perfect place to stay in Rio and I would definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Anson from Philippines

too pricey for the ongoing renovation of the hotel

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
firstly, the hotel was under renovation and they should have given a price discount for the inconvenience of the guest. Secondly, the front desk people are very incompetent, we booked 6 rooms and gave us 2 rooms which were already had people check in the rooms. One had a person on the bed sleeping when one of my group couples went inside the room. the other room, had somebody's things inside. It means that somebody was still using the room when the hotel gave it to us. Good thing that the person who was using the room was not around when we check in. Good thing also when the other couple went inside the room who had a lady sleeping on the bed was not with another person in bed or it would have been a scandalous event.
2 out of 5
by anson from philippines

Booked rooms already occupied

Posted May 18, 2014
We booked 6 rooms, of the 6, 2 were already occupied and we given keys to these rooms. One of the rooms they girl was in bed. The other room the lady was not around but her things was in the toilet and the dresser cabinet. We complained and we werr given replaced rooms. The hotel was undergoing renovation but they still had the nerve to charge a very high price for the inconvenience and the smell of paint. The place is just walking distance to the beach which was good. Breakfast was also good. Not too much and not too few.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by GillyG from Scotland

Nice room and helpful staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: It was in a good location and the staff were helpful and friendly.
Cons: The lobby is not inviting!
Location: I had one day off so I went to Cristo Redentor, Sugar Loaf, Copacobana and Ipenema beaches - all wonderful!
When I first arrived I have to admit I thought 'oh dear, what is this place" as there is building work going on so the lobby is not the most inviting. HOWEVER, I was shown to my room by a young man who spoke excellent English. The room is small but comfortable. The TV did not work but I wasn't going to be watching it anyway. I always travel with earplugs and I did need them as my room was on the street and it was noisy. The bed was very comfortable and a great shower. Breakfast is served to your room and it was lovely - a selection of rolls, cheese and meats, yogurt and fruit. The two Managers speak English and helped me with an adaptor for my electrical items, finding a box of materials that had been sent to the hotel for me, and in arranging a taxi to take me to the two high schools I was there to visit. The hotel is in an excellent location near to the beach and to restaurants, and they have trusted taxis who will take you on a whistle-stop tour if you wish (for cash, not credit card).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SungHoon,Kim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gary from California

Best Value In Ipanema

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was small compared to US standards, but very clean. Bathroom was very clean and everything worked well. Good water pressure, nice hot water. Great air conditioning with remote control. Flat screen TV. No coffee maker, but I guess that's normal for South America. Continental breakfast was good and staff were very polite and friendly. Just a half block to the beach. I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, OK hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2013
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: there was a posted sign in the elevator about renovations which would be nice since some things were seeming to be a little run down
Location: The beach is just outside, also great shops nearby. Have dinner in Leblon or Gavea!!
The location of the hotel is fantastic, Ipanema is definitely a much nicer area than Copacabana. Staff is friendly and there is a great shop attached to the hotel. Breakfast is also good. Rooms are clean which is very important. Our room was very small but we got the standard room so I guess shouldn't have expected much. No real complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vanessa from SP

Renovated, great location, needs to improve servic

Posted Dec 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has just been renovated, so the rooms and common areas look great. Location can't be better. They can get better in service. For a business trip, it would be more comfortable to stay in a hotel with room service, or at least a small restaurant. The breakfast is good, but they prepare it for few people. For instance, they serve bread and it's over in 2 minutes. Then it takes up to 30 minutes for them to serve more bread...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by May Aung from NYC

Loved our 5 night stay

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very clean and just a 2 minute walk to the beach. Very friendly staff as well as a delicious daily breakfast! The only con is that the rooms are a bit small but it didn't really affect us (2 ppl) much at all. I highly recommend this hotel!