Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is not at a JW Marriott quality level

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Can't be taken to JW Marriott status without a major renovation.
Drab, lacking in maintenance, disappointing food quality, and overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great beach-side hotel with awesome roof-top view

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Staff were amazing. I had numerous needs which changed as we extended our stay. The concierge and front desk team we super patient and helpful with every detail. Hotel was on the Copacabana beach and perfectly situated. Would highly recommend. Try to get the Expedia hotel and air package to get good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great Location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Beachfront Location & Super hi-speed Wifi
Cons: Pillows can be firmer.
Location: In the heart of Copacabana beach. Lots of restaurants and shopping a block or two away. It was also easy to get to the local Metro line.
Fantastic hotel located in the heart of Copacabana action. Easy access to beach and facilities. Due to the WC, it was great to see lots of ex football stars staying at the hotel too! really enjoyed the caparinhi's at the lobby bar! The concierge staff were super helpful - credit especially to Tamarys who went over and above!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by aspen from USA

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Expensive but worth it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by maria from chile

excecutive rooms

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It´s a good hotel for Río, but it´s not a JW Marriott standard. Would not recommend rooms with no ocean front, as the room we had faced an indoor view that made me feel like in a walking closet, with the rooms in front to close and with even no view to the sky, which made it impossible to even notice what the weather was outside!! Executive lounge very good, with correct food, and lots to drink. Gym a bit small and crowded. Rooms confortable and clean, with good linens. Good location, great staff service. Found it expensive compared to what other JW Marriotts offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by JWMarriott Rio de Janeiro, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, I am very happy to know you had the opportunity to join us at our concierge lounge and were able to taste some of the many Brazilian flavors that we offer in our property. Thank you for your compliments for our location and staff service, all of our team is grateful to know that were able to meet your expectations. I hope that you visit us again as we would be happy to great you with the enthusiasm that makes stand out. Regards, Jhesenia Guaman-Guest Relations Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Eastern Canada

Lovely, friendly, a perfect location on beach!

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: I could talk about the small pool area and even the room size, but neither negatively impacted the overall experience. The hotel was lovely!
Cons: It was perfect as we found it.
Location: This hotel was all about its perfect location! Everything I wanted was right there!
Although the hotel was a little older and small, it was charming and tasteful and the employees were so polite and helpful. My husband and I loved it and would go there again and again. Our room looked out onto Avendida Atlantica and the beautiful Copacabana Beach! Because it was small, we found the ambience especially welcoming. It offered very personal attention and even the other guests we met coming and going added to the pleasant experience. The hotel was well appointed. The bed was comfy! Everything was quiet and organized. A gem that was very conveniently located to restaurants and tourist sites!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg SA

Fabulous experience as the base to celebrate Rio.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: Attention to detail with guests in mind; little but significant waterway to the beach against the hot sand.
10 out of 10 for everything except the language issue. Marriott was by far the best hotel in South America with a reasonable level of English spoken at the desk level. Still room to improve as many thousands of visitors are English speaking. Some staff showed sulky indifference if size of tip was considered low?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don

Nice hotel close to the beach. Great view.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The staff was friendly. They spoke English as well, which made it easy to communicate for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good Hotel, friendly service