Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom São Paulo Capital

Hotel com equipe de profissionais preparadíssimos

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: da preparação da equipe de profissionais, sempre atenciosos e zelosos pelos interesses dos hóspedes.
Cons: As camas são antigas, e um hotel 5 estrelas não pode ter quarto de frente para o mar, onde o banheiro ainda usa cortina.
Location: Localização excelente
Passei dois dias muito agradáveis no Rio de Janeiro. A equipe do hotel é extremamente atenciosa com todos os hóspedes. Meu quarto era com vista frontal para a praia de Copacabana. Ótima vista, mas achei algumas coisas que prejudicam um pouco a imagem de uma rede internacional, a exemplo da cortina na área de chuveiro do banheiro, a micro sauna e a piscina, que, em que pese ter uma bela vista, não passa de um " tanquinho", maculando a imagem de 5 estrelas do hotel. Mas, no todo, gostei do hotel. A equipe de profissionais compensa esses detalhes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA, USA

Nice hotel, ocean view, engaging lobby and bar

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: good location, good view, very comfortable, engaging lobby, good for conference
Cons: improve communication from all staff, confirm changes with guests to be sure you all are understanding, no language issues
Location: Very good location, across street from beach, feels safe, controlled elevator access with keys. We enjoyed it very much and felt safe there.
Mostly good service but some comments- at the end of our stay (maybe there was language barrier/ misunderstanding) we were hounded by housekeeping to change rooms for a later checkout. We had declined the change and agreed to check out by noon. They called and knocked soooo many times asking us if we wanted to move, when we were leaving, etc. It was very unpleasant. Also, there was construction noise. Concierges were quite helpful and nice. They offer a good driver tour guide named Carlos- highly recommended. The Corcovado van (to see the Christo) they suggested was good, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Very well decorated and conserved as new!

Posted May 10, 2015
Cons: Convenience store like we have in the U.S. to offer children snacks with more options.
J.W. Marriott in Rio de Janeiro is consistently decorated with a classic revival luxurious style, present in Rio de Janeiro in the most antique areas and more historic. Roman columns, luxurious balconies and many interior architecure details were consistent with this style including furniture in the lobby and rooms. It is very large lobby that gives an amazing experience. The view from the top of building, swiming pool area, is breath taking, with a safe feeling and worth to many pictures. It was a very good time!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Europe

Nice hotel but bed is bad and not well managed

Posted May 5, 2015
Facilities are ok, but the bed is not good and they sell memberships for the pool to people living close by. This means that the pool area is occupied by many people who bring their food and drink and use the pool area and occupy basically all lounge chairs. For a Marriott I would expect that the pool area would be a quiet place for hotel guests only. That is not the case....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio de Janeiro

Experiência inesquecível

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Gostei de absolutamente tudo do hotel. Todos os funcionários são muito agradáveis, o café da manhã é excelente, a localização é perfeita.
Cons: O hotel é perfeito, realmente não sei o que poderia ser feito para melhorá-lo.
Location: A localização é perfeita. O hotel se localiza em frente a praia de Copacabana, próximo de restaurantes, farmácias, bancos.
Gostaria de agradecer a experiência inesquecível que tive no Marriot no dia 01/05. Planejei propor minha namorada em casamento e contei com a ajuda de todos os funcionários do hotel, que atenderam todos os meus pedidos e se preocuparam tanto quanto eu, em tornar esse dia especial e inesquecível. Queria parabenizar todos os funcionários pela atenção e cordialidade. Um agradecimento em especial para a Rosane, Carmen, Afonso e todos os outros envolvidos por toda a atenção de vocês. Obs: Como a Rosane teve um imprevisto no dia, não pode estar presente. Mas deixou tudo organizado para a surpresa e inclusive, me ligou no dia seguinte para saber se tudo tinha ocorrido conforme o planejado. São gestos como esse, que encantam qualquer pessoa. Parabéns a todos os funcionários do Marriot e mais uma vez, obrigado de verdade por se preocuparem tanto com esse dia tão importante para mim e minha noiva (graças à ajuda de vocês rsrs).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Riyadh, SA

My opinion about the hotel

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Most of the service is very good
Cons: Free internet in the rooms
Location: Perfect location
Nice hotel, good condition, perfect location and good foods. One bad thing about the hotel no free internet in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
The staff went the extra mile to assist me with my requirements!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

spa and pool areas

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: Overall great location but NO ocean views in many rooms .
Cons: Spa areas and pool need major rework to meet 5 star level
Location: Ocean beach is great asset and easy to walk..........
Very disappointed with pool area and spa facilities were terrible. Shower area, changing area and spa room were pretty bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Beautiful view of Copacabana

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Location, great staff
Location: Lots of great restaurants and shopping
Fantastic room - lovely view and lovely amenities. Close to some wonderful restaurants. Concierge staff gave great recommendations for eating places and how to get to attractions. All spoke very good English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom f

Lighting inside rooms in non-existent. Need to upg

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Overall a good hotel,but outside on-going construction is a strong negative, and since I like to see day-light, the inside balcony rooms, lack sunlight. choose a beach biew room, if possible.