Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great Location

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Beachfront Location & Super hi-speed Wifi
Cons: Pillows can be firmer.
Location: In the heart of Copacabana beach. Lots of restaurants and shopping a block or two away. It was also easy to get to the local Metro line.
Fantastic hotel located in the heart of Copacabana action. Easy access to beach and facilities. Due to the WC, it was great to see lots of ex football stars staying at the hotel too! really enjoyed the caparinhi's at the lobby bar! The concierge staff were super helpful - credit especially to Tamarys who went over and above!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bonnie from Eastern Canada

Lovely, friendly, a perfect location on beach!

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Pros: I could talk about the small pool area and even the room size, but neither negatively impacted the overall experience. The hotel was lovely!
Cons: It was perfect as we found it.
Location: This hotel was all about its perfect location! Everything I wanted was right there!
Although the hotel was a little older and small, it was charming and tasteful and the employees were so polite and helpful. My husband and I loved it and would go there again and again. Our room looked out onto Avendida Atlantica and the beautiful Copacabana Beach! Because it was small, we found the ambience especially welcoming. It offered very personal attention and even the other guests we met coming and going added to the pleasant experience. The hotel was well appointed. The bed was comfy! Everything was quiet and organized. A gem that was very conveniently located to restaurants and tourist sites!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johannesburg SA

Fabulous experience as the base to celebrate Rio.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Cons: Attention to detail with guests in mind; little but significant waterway to the beach against the hot sand.
10 out of 10 for everything except the language issue. Marriott was by far the best hotel in South America with a reasonable level of English spoken at the desk level. Still room to improve as many thousands of visitors are English speaking. Some staff showed sulky indifference if size of tip was considered low?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don

Nice hotel close to the beach. Great view.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The staff was friendly. They spoke English as well, which made it easy to communicate for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by r from Seattle

5* in beautiful Rio

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: rooms, view, hotel staff, English speaking and very helpful. Prompt room service.
Cons: Hotel concierge needs to warn tourists about being careful especially in the tour that they organize. Guide should be guides and be there all the time
Location: See sunset from a point withing walking distance (Arpoador). Take the train to Corcovado. Don't miss Columbia bakery. Truly worth the trip.
We had a fantastic time in Rio. Hotel staff was nice, Japanese restaurant excellent. And, we were lucky some Seahawks happened to be staying there at the same time. One thing we were not impressed. On our day 1 we and 9 other guests from the hotel went to see Carnival practice through hotel concierge. Guide took us in a van to the stadium and we had to work through the crowd to get to our seats. 2 of the guests lost everything in their pockets. Apparently some small children and adults work as a team. We were told by my colleague here in USA who is from Brazil that when in the crowd keep your hands in the pocket or don't let go your purse. Guide was supposed to be there "all the time" but was never there. Other than that one incident where we felt bad for these 2 couple this was the most fantastic trip and everything about the hotel except this one concierge incident was outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Travel Panama from Pty

Beach front...

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: rates
Location: great
Great location, beach front and close to everything, very safe. The attentive staff. highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from São Paulo

Awesome hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Great experience, I strong recomend! Staff very polite and everything was perfect! The room Iit is also veru good, excelent. The ocean view room is a good choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S Lee from Plano TX

First Class Accommodations

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: English speaking Staff. Bar,Concierge and Health club staff provided good information regarding area restaurants and sights to see in the area.
Location: Good location with safe access to area restaurants, shops and ATM locations.
The location of this hotel provided a good experience of the surrounding natural beauty of Rio. Experienced friendly people from the wait staff of local area restaurants and local patrons within those restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Comfortably pricey

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good comfrotable hotel with american style and normal amenities. The over the top price is obviously location, location, location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com