Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

only a good location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Logo cation is excellent butvthe hotel is decadent. I guess value for money is ok, but is not comparavla with 4.5 stars hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel oOnly two blocks from Ipanema beach

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Service was excellent and they give you beach towels, chairs and umbrellas for use on the beach so you save money on rentals.
Cons: There are less amenities due to the central location and the facilities are small but clean.
Location: Everything is within easy walking distance, including access to public transit and metro
Nice hotel on main boulevard with shopping/amenities and only 2 blocks from the beach.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Nice hotel but some easy things to improve

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Breakfast spread is perfect. Staff are friendly and helpful most of the time. Rooftop bar is nice. Very close the beach.
Cons: WIFI is TERRIBLE. Also there needs to be a better hotel directory to outline all the things available to guests!
Location: Close to the beach, shops, bars and restaurants.
Stayed 4 nights at Mar Ipanema. It is a nice place (not 4* though...). There are some simple ways to make this place a lot better. Staff were helpful to an extent, but generally pleasant. We had serious issues with the WIFI (along with other people). It did not work in the room, the rooftop bar or the breakfast room. Only in the lobby. We were trying to arrange the next leg our of trip so this was very inconvenient. Staff were not very interested when I brought it up with them, just suggested restarting my ipad. The place could benefit directory of available services. e.g. we saw people with beach towels, chairs and umbrellas from the hotel. We had no idea about this. We inquired a few times about the best way to get to the airport and the guy at the desk said taxi every time. We were never offered a shuttle or transport service until I asked specifically about it. We eventually arranged it through the hotel, but I suspect that it was just one of the concierge's friends from up the street who took us there. He was nice though.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Try to avoid if you can..

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Stayed 3 nights in Mar Ipanema. Tought it was 4* but definitely wasn't! Waiting for the lift is like waiting for the bus in central London! Especially at rush hours. After 5 mins wait it's full and anothe 5 mins if you lucky! Other rooms aircon noise from outside made us feel like we were trying to sleep in the noisy factory. I record it and took my noise record to the reception and lady (who looked like the manager) said I know what it is yes I know! That's all! You are in Brazil everyone relax about everything! No one cares you paid this much money and you didn't sleep! Shower never had a hot water in 2 different rooms in 3 days, gets little warm only. Next to the hotel there is an american type of diner and in the morning they turn it to a breakfast place for the hotel residence. Location is on the big main shopping street and 3 blocks behind the beach. I stayed in 6 different hotels and pousadas in Rio de Janerio state and it was the worse one unfortunately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Clean, good wifi, great breakfast, very friendly staff, good location (3-4 blocks from beach), safe neighborhood, and very nice bar on top floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

Nice hotel close to beach & shops

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Clean room, great view on the rooftop, great location, breakfast can be improved
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Rio was awesome:

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: The location and the people working at hotel from the lobby staff to the room attendant every one was very nice to us, and we did not speak Portuguese
Cons: The bedroom set up instead of two small beds to have a large bed for a couple. The A/C unit was noisy also. besides these two items we were great
Location: It is in the heart of Ipanema so there are places to shop, exchange dollars and eat. We also discovered a nice fair with souvenirs 5 blocks away
The neighborhood of Ipanema in which the hotel was located was very nice and safe as described by other visitors. The hotel is old but functional for the city of Rio. We loved the people at lobby and the excellent daily breakfast that came with hotel. For lunch and diner it was a lot of places to chose from. The hotel was very nice, small if compare to USA hotels but very cozy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rock Hill, SC

The best place to stay in Ipanema

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: The shops, beaches and restaurants. A great location to just walk, explore and try things from.
Great location within walking distance of great restaurants, beaches and shops. The staff were wonderful and very fluent in English. The rooms are extremely clean and nice. Each day when we had returned from the beach not only had housekeeping cleaned the room, but folded our clothes and tidied up everything. I've never been to a hotel that went that far to make guests happy. If you are an English speaking person looking for a good, safe and clean place to stay in Ipanema / Rio then look no further. We made it back to the US today and are already in the process of booking our next stay at The Mar Ipanema.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta GA

Prime Location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Staff was accommodating and attentive. Great location with just a few blocks from the beach, shops and eateries. Rooms are on the small side, but clean with no issues. Nice roof top view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vanessa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com