Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS

4 nights in Feb

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff
Location: Our visit to Rocinha favela with JeepTours was the highlight, our guide Daniel was outstanding.
Overall our whole stay in the hotel was up to international standards, room was rather small but staff was friendly, food in hotel restaurant very good and the location excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from London

Superb and seconds from nicest stretch of beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Staff = superb. Hotel is modernist, immaculate but not corporate - as you cross the lobby you really get the feeling you're in mid-C20th Jetset Rio.
Cons: The pool & gym on the roof are small, but as the sea is only yards away this wasn't a major problem for us.
Location: This was a beach holiday and the nicest stretch of Leblon beach is opposite. The hotel helpfully provides complimentary towels, deckchairs & umbrella
We didn't intend to, but we essentially went full board with this hotel, the food was so terrific. You're close enough to Copa and Ipanema (everywhere you would want to go is about three quid away in a taxi), but being in Leblon you're on the nicest, quietest stretch of Rio beach. The hotel couldn't do enough for us. I'd recommend asking for a room as high as possible, we were on the 20th floor and had incredible views.
3 out of 5
by Ryan

Location

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Nice location and obviously close to the beach. I had a nice view of the ocean from the room but that was about the only thing nice. AC broke one night and was pouring water from the ceiling, and had to rough it out for the night. Not very clean especially for over 300/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dianne from New York

it was pleasant

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: the staff, they are very warm people
Cons: bathroom facilities, could be more modern by these days
Location: great restaurants, the mall shopping , the sand of the beach it is so beautiful
our stay was pleasant, hotel was ok, service was good, the staff excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mario from Atlanta

Great location

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location!!! Very friendly staff. Negative point: no free wi-fi at the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fiona from New Yorker

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Marina palace is a small, extremely well located hotel. The front desk staff was courteous. The lobby small, but pleasant with good wifi. The room was small but comfortable, as well. Some small areas for improvement exist. They didn't replace my linens or toiletries daily. The gym was very small, but being a beach hotel, this is not a big dea. All in all, a good value and I would recommend it to friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Seattle, WA

Beachfront hotel with tired infrastructure

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: View, Location, Room Space, Shower
Cons: Decoration and facilities are old. Laundry was not delivered on time
Location: Leblon is the best or second best beach in Rio. We can walk from the hotel to great bars and restaurants. If you want to shop, go to Ipanema.
The location and view are great. I stayed in a ocean front 17th floor room with good view from the best beach in Rio. Staff was a bit slow, my laundry was not delivered at the promised time so I needed to dress used clothes for a meeting. The hotel infrastructure probable reached its prime in the late 90s early 00s. Decoration and facilities feel a bit old and there is a constant bleach smell at the reception that we couldnt avoid noticing (left a complaint at the reception). They charged USD20+ for breakfast so we just walked around the neighborhood and had a different and great breakfast for 1/2 the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Arizona

Perfect location on Leblon beach in Rio

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: location, staff, breakfast, rooms and the view
Cons: The breakfast buffet rate quoted on Expedia was 38 reals per person...actually was 48. about $21.
our 4th stay at the Marina Palace. we stay on the upper floors that have been renovated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David from San Francisco

Leblon beats Ipanema!

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location across the street form the beach. Minimalist boutique hotel in great location.