Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS

4 nights in Feb

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff
Location: Our visit to Rocinha favela with JeepTours was the highlight, our guide Daniel was outstanding.
Overall our whole stay in the hotel was up to international standards, room was rather small but staff was friendly, food in hotel restaurant very good and the location excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from London

Superb and seconds from nicest stretch of beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Staff = superb. Hotel is modernist, immaculate but not corporate - as you cross the lobby you really get the feeling you're in mid-C20th Jetset Rio.
Cons: The pool & gym on the roof are small, but as the sea is only yards away this wasn't a major problem for us.
Location: This was a beach holiday and the nicest stretch of Leblon beach is opposite. The hotel helpfully provides complimentary towels, deckchairs & umbrella
We didn't intend to, but we essentially went full board with this hotel, the food was so terrific. You're close enough to Copa and Ipanema (everywhere you would want to go is about three quid away in a taxi), but being in Leblon you're on the nicest, quietest stretch of Rio beach. The hotel couldn't do enough for us. I'd recommend asking for a room as high as possible, we were on the 20th floor and had incredible views.
3 out of 5
by Ryan

Location

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Nice location and obviously close to the beach. I had a nice view of the ocean from the room but that was about the only thing nice. AC broke one night and was pouring water from the ceiling, and had to rough it out for the night. Not very clean especially for over 300/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dianne from New York

it was pleasant

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: the staff, they are very warm people
Cons: bathroom facilities, could be more modern by these days
Location: great restaurants, the mall shopping , the sand of the beach it is so beautiful
our stay was pleasant, hotel was ok, service was good, the staff excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Seattle, WA

Beachfront hotel with tired infrastructure

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: View, Location, Room Space, Shower
Cons: Decoration and facilities are old. Laundry was not delivered on time
Location: Leblon is the best or second best beach in Rio. We can walk from the hotel to great bars and restaurants. If you want to shop, go to Ipanema.
The location and view are great. I stayed in a ocean front 17th floor room with good view from the best beach in Rio. Staff was a bit slow, my laundry was not delivered at the promised time so I needed to dress used clothes for a meeting. The hotel infrastructure probable reached its prime in the late 90s early 00s. Decoration and facilities feel a bit old and there is a constant bleach smell at the reception that we couldnt avoid noticing (left a complaint at the reception). They charged USD20+ for breakfast so we just walked around the neighborhood and had a different and great breakfast for 1/2 the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Arizona

Perfect location on Leblon beach in Rio

Posted Sep 5, 2013
Pros: location, staff, breakfast, rooms and the view
Cons: The breakfast buffet rate quoted on Expedia was 38 reals per person...actually was 48. about $21.
our 4th stay at the Marina Palace. we stay on the upper floors that have been renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Randy from Calgary, AB, Canada

Nice Hotel. Watch the hidden charges.

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Location, clean rooms,
Cons: Hidden charges. Elevators slow.
Location: LeBlon is quieter and safer than Copacabana where most of the hotels are. The Beach is similar. Bus service is great there.
Generally pretty positive. The staff were helpful. They put us in touch with some good tours. They also were partially wrong about a couple but it was a lot better than we would have done on our own. There are a few things that are pretty frequently offered free in Canada that were not only not free but really quite over-priced. WiFi was one. Free at the local Starbucks but they were charging 40 Reals a day. Quite obscene. Continental breakfast was another. We didn't understand it was not free. Blame it on the language. Still the price was not reasonable. I thought the quality was good but given what they charged for it it was not THAT good. The location was good. Right on the beach. The roof has a great view. The hotel is the tallest building in the area so you see a lot from up there. They could really use a hot tub up there. The beach did have big waves which was good for surfing but swimming was banned quite frequently because of riptide issues.
2 out of 5
by Sergio from Montreal

Disappointing stay

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Condition of maintenance. Breakfast should be included in room price (normal in Brazil)
Location: Exceptional.
Needs urgent reform in units. There was water from rain inside the suite through the windows. Dirty carpets. Very old bathroom. Elevators did not work well.
2 out of 5
by sz from new york, new york

Dreadful rooms, lovely location

Posted Mar 9, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: completely disgusting room
I frequently travel to Rio and have stayed at Marina Palace in the past. unfortunately, this was an extremely disappoiting experience. There seems to be a sizable gulf between the updated rooms and those that have not been updated. The first day, the drawer fell out of my dresser, the toilet was leaking so much from the base that the bathroom was always soaking, the air conditioning did not always work (in 97 degree heat), etc. I informed the front desk, and they did not seem to care very much nor were any of these items fixed during my four night stay. location is great, but that is all i can say.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Winter Park, FL, USA

Great hotel on Leblon Beach

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast and internet expensive!
Location: Leblon Beach in Southern Rio de Janeiro
Great hotel. Clean and comfortable room. Perfect spot on Leblon Beach and many great restaurants in walking distance. Only negative - Internet is not included. I thought breakfast was included. 2 breakfasts for myself and my fiancee was $98. What?!? For the price of the room these things should be included. Otherwise, a very nice hotel in Rio.