Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean Claude from sf, Ca

Great location, rooftop was nice..!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
The 3 Elevators are so bad it will make you want to shoot yourself, so be patient , grab a seat, you'll be in room within 5-10 minutes..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JS

4 nights in Feb

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: location, friendly staff
Location: Our visit to Rocinha favela with JeepTours was the highlight, our guide Daniel was outstanding.
Overall our whole stay in the hotel was up to international standards, room was rather small but staff was friendly, food in hotel restaurant very good and the location excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from London

Superb and seconds from nicest stretch of beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Staff = superb. Hotel is modernist, immaculate but not corporate - as you cross the lobby you really get the feeling you're in mid-C20th Jetset Rio.
Cons: The pool & gym on the roof are small, but as the sea is only yards away this wasn't a major problem for us.
Location: This was a beach holiday and the nicest stretch of Leblon beach is opposite. The hotel helpfully provides complimentary towels, deckchairs & umbrella
We didn't intend to, but we essentially went full board with this hotel, the food was so terrific. You're close enough to Copa and Ipanema (everywhere you would want to go is about three quid away in a taxi), but being in Leblon you're on the nicest, quietest stretch of Rio beach. The hotel couldn't do enough for us. I'd recommend asking for a room as high as possible, we were on the 20th floor and had incredible views.
3 out of 5
by Ryan

Location

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Nice location and obviously close to the beach. I had a nice view of the ocean from the room but that was about the only thing nice. AC broke one night and was pouring water from the ceiling, and had to rough it out for the night. Not very clean especially for over 300/night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RioVacationer from Rio

Could use a little TLC, but still a GREAT hotel!

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
So this is not a US hotel, in fact I was the only US person there, but it's cool. Anyway, the hotel itself was built in the 60's or 70's and it does look a bit dated, but it's one of the few reasonably priced hotels that is right on the beach. A couple things I noticed, the check in process took about an hour, but they did offer me champagne which I thought was a nice touch. The other thing I noticed was several things were broken, namely; the Internet (actually just the signup page, so they gave me vouchers so it was free!), the safe (they changed it once and it still wasn't working so they just put a new one. Well not actually new, all the button labels were worn away but the thing locked at least. They did work very hard to fix everything as fast as they could. Now, the views. They said that it was a "partial ocean view" It was a SPECTACULAR view. It was actually better than my FULL ocean view at another hotel. Why? Because instead of just looking out into the ocean (eastward), I had a North/South view up and down the WHOLE Ipanema/Leblon beach coast, and in addition, to the left (west) were the mountains, with Corcovado in the distance, the beach in the middle, and the endless ocean to the right. I'll take that "partial ocean view" any day. Also the staff is REALLY friendly and helpful. I forgot my jacket and they had it waiting for me when I stopped back in. I recommend this hotel highly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dianne from New York

it was pleasant

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: the staff, they are very warm people
Cons: bathroom facilities, could be more modern by these days
Location: great restaurants, the mall shopping , the sand of the beach it is so beautiful
our stay was pleasant, hotel was ok, service was good, the staff excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mario from Atlanta

Great location

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location!!! Very friendly staff. Negative point: no free wi-fi at the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fiona from New Yorker

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Marina palace is a small, extremely well located hotel. The front desk staff was courteous. The lobby small, but pleasant with good wifi. The room was small but comfortable, as well. Some small areas for improvement exist. They didn't replace my linens or toiletries daily. The gym was very small, but being a beach hotel, this is not a big dea. All in all, a good value and I would recommend it to friends
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Seattle, WA

Beachfront hotel with tired infrastructure

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: View, Location, Room Space, Shower
Cons: Decoration and facilities are old. Laundry was not delivered on time
Location: Leblon is the best or second best beach in Rio. We can walk from the hotel to great bars and restaurants. If you want to shop, go to Ipanema.
The location and view are great. I stayed in a ocean front 17th floor room with good view from the best beach in Rio. Staff was a bit slow, my laundry was not delivered at the promised time so I needed to dress used clothes for a meeting. The hotel infrastructure probable reached its prime in the late 90s early 00s. Decoration and facilities feel a bit old and there is a constant bleach smell at the reception that we couldnt avoid noticing (left a complaint at the reception). They charged USD20+ for breakfast so we just walked around the neighborhood and had a different and great breakfast for 1/2 the price.