Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thunderkitty from Washington, DC

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Not an awful experience...but for the price it was a decent hotel. Also have to take into consideration that most everyone was preparing to receive the world for the Copa, and this hotel was no exception. The lobby was being renovated so there was no where to sit or wait for people. But overall, the staff was very nice, the room was clean enough (although the chair at the desk was kind of gross with stains and what not...I'm scared to know what I may have been sitting on). I think this hotel was recently acquired by this company and they have not yet transitioned it and so there remain many items, chairs, especially, that are gross looking. Other than that everything was fine. Breakfast was decent, too...although not included in my price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ricardo from Salvador , Bahia

Close to everything

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff very friendly but should be better trained, Needs more maintenace. Hotel 5 minutes walk to Botafogo subway station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good,well priced hotel in Botafogo, en excellent l

Posted May 8, 2014
clean enjoyable room with excellent staff and location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Staff made up for lack of AC during night

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Location: Copacabana is not far away, but if you try to go during or close to rush hour, be prepared to sit in a lot of traffic.
We got in late from GRU because of hard rain and flooded roads. So while we had a late dinner, we asked the front desk to fix our air conditioner, which would not come on. When we got back it had not been fixed, but because it was so late and it was cool outside on account of the rain, we slept with the door open to the balcony. During the night, however, it got warm and stuffy. So we complained in the morning, and they made it up to us two-fold: (1) They comped our breakfast, which was not included the way we reserved it (and the breakfast was excellent!); and (2) They gave us a late check-out of 6:00 PM, because our flight out of Rio was not until 9:00 PM. Once the air was fixed, through our own resetting of the breaker in the room, the room was very comfortable and nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Milton Keynes

Good hotel that offers sensible prices

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Second time I have stayed at the hotel and compared to Copacabana, the rooms are a better standard and better value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Steve C from Leicester

OK'ish

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Basic business orientated hotel. Nothing special - probably a 3 star by European standards. Pool area a disappointment (small, unattractive and murky water). Breakfast good quality and value. Botafogo not the nicest of areas, and taxi drivers invariably could not find hotel (maybe recent name change caused confusion). There are several Mercure hotels in the area, so be sure to quote the address to taxi drivers. Overall an adequate hotel, that did not live up to expectations of a 4.5 star rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by brent from ausralia

Close to metro a bonus during carnival to get roun

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Front counter staff helpful,location good because very close to metro and restaurants only two stops on metro to start of main beaches.rooms basis but very large. Go for junior suite give you a extra room.we did not eat in the hotel,plenty outside eating places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, Safe Area

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Pros: Location, Area
Cons: Elevators
Location: Botafogo Shopping Mall is walking distance. Subway is walking distance. Near Copacabana Beach.
This hotel is very nice hotel for the location and price. The area is safe, walking distance from subway, and shopping. Nice Restaurant across the street open late. Only two elevators side by side and each operate independently. I found myself pushing the button for both because to wait the least.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Caro from Hamilton

Affordable place / close to beaches / sugar loaf

Posted Sep 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
You need to walk / take taxi for the beaches .... it is near a shopping mall
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosa Maria from Amersham, Buckinghamshire, UK

Great hotel in every aspect, especially location.

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Location of hotel. Size of room. View from the room.
Cons: Surrounding area with petrol station, not very attractive
Location: Perfect for accessing metro and buses to move around the city.
Great location for metro and buses to all landmarks in Rio. Very helpful staff at reception. Lovely, spacious room with great view of Corcovado.