Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabriel from Chile

Nice hotel. Problems with registration

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Rooms were nice. Location excellent but I lost more than hour with my kids and wife because there was a problem with the information transmited by Expedia. If I pre paid more than a month previously, I expect that their informations problems wouldn't need my help before assigning me the rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jess H.

A centrally-located surprise

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked rather last minute, and this was the best-sounding of the bargain hotels—it more than delivered! What a perfect location (exactly between Copacabana and Ipanema beaches with cool surf shop Osklen down the street), what a great room (overlooking the pool, with kitchenette & living area), what good service! It was more than we expected and a great value.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Convenient location between Ipanema and Copa. mall pool in shade. 2 Bedroom window locks were broken on 1st floor - had to place a piece of wood to secure window. half of rooms face busy commercial street, other half face a courtyard. Hotel is not on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johann from Springbok, South Africa

Communication in English

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: Coffee at reception
Cons: Lack of communication in English
Location: Very good and near important places
We were happy about our stay but feel a little bit lost about the communication problem. Is it not possible that at least one staff member on duty at reception can communicate in English?
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jen1 from Ontario, Canada

Average hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Propane smell; breakfast is not continental (25 Real!)
Location: 2 Blocks from Ipanema beach! Great Location
Great Location; about two blocks from Ipanema beach. Front desk staff are helpful; not all speak English; have tours and can arrange personal car transportation to the international airport for 90 Real; Good restaurant next door. Hotel itself is apartment style; gas range stove; as a result the entire hotel smells like propane. Breakfast is not included in hotel rate. Found housekeeping was not done in a timely manner (cleaners were in the room as late as 5 pm) and there was consistently sand on the floor. Overall an good stay but nothing spectacular.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best..

Posted Jan 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
The hotel was not the best. Smaller room compared to friends room in same hotel. Swimming pool was under maintenance, loud party outside the room, broken window and poor air conditioning. Just some of the highlights!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Lovely Arpoador, beautiful location

Posted Sep 2, 2010
The hotel is lovely with apartment type rooms. Room cleaning service was very late and didn't happen at all one day, otherwise service was excellent. They said they couldn't have two beds instead of one, which was a bit annoying as one of us ended up sleeping in the sofa. Also, the internet connection was incredibly slow. Otherwise a great little hotel and I would not hesitate in recommending it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Rio de Janeiro in Winter

Posted Aug 25, 2010
This is a hotel located in a neighbourhood close to both Ipanema and Copacabana, and walking distance to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rio-yearly from Toronto

Great Location - Rio's Hidden Bargain

Posted Feb 12, 2010
- lovely suite - couch is looking worn - everything else is new and comfortable - great lap pool - limited hours of coffee shop are a problem - will return for sure
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Location & Stay at Mercure Arpoador

Posted Jul 26, 2009 on Hotels.com
Wonderful location between Ipanema & Copa, great value for rating. Having a "suite" for the long stay was great. Occasioanly had to find someone who understood English and kitchen supplies limited, ie no cereal bowls.