Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tash from New Zealand

Nice hotel in good suburb

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Hotel is located in a middle class non-beach suburb. Staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities are very good, although our unit was small, a bit more room would have been appreciated for our 4 night stay. Walking distance to good public transport, supermarket and local restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Fayetteville, N.Y.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4-stars hotel - misleading

Posted Jan 13, 2014
No really a hotel as it lacks some basic services - eg. no staff helping with the luggage when check in, nor anyone showing guests the location of their rooms. Hotel lay-out is confusion: reception at 2nd floor, and at one stage, only one lift functions from the ground floor to the 2nd. Location is far from any tourist/shopping centres - taxie is the only viable transport. Staff who speak English are extremely helpful, but others have no knowledge of English at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian McMahon from Canada

Excellent

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Hotel was a pleasure to stay at and we would recommend this to anyone. The friendly staff greeted us, the room was very well appointed with swimming pool, spa, restaruant, buisnes center. Our room had a room with a balcony that had a wonderful view the "Christ the Redeeemer" This motel is close to all means of travel, bus, metro and taxi's. There are may restaruants nearby, with shopping a pleanty. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is coming to Rio de Janerio (Botafogo area) and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vitus from Sao Paulo

Not bad for Rio

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
In the context of Rio hotels notoriously being under-serviced and over-priced the Mercure was rather nice.. The only major blemish on the stay was the ultra-clumsy check-in but that seemed to be more a training issue of one person rather than the norm. The Breakfast is good, the shower small but nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GABRIELA from Mexico

Bathroom

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Every thing is perfect just I did not understood why they don't changed towel when is in the floor and why they did not wash the bathroom perfectly during the period we stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 24, 2013
We arrived after a 26 hour journey the receptionist was slow and did not speak English. The room was booked for 3 adults but it just had one double bed and no linen for sofa bed with great difficulty after having to phone family in brazil to speak on the phone to housekeeping we got the third bed made up. We were leaving early in the morning and one of the receptionists spoke good English when we were checking out he asked use to pay for the room that we had already paid through Expedia. He said we had to pay him and then claim back from Expedia. We were not going to do this but it took him 40 to agree it was paid to Expedia I did have my receipt from Expedia but he would not accept it. It was a nightmare won't use this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from London

Nice hotel in Botafogo

Posted Sep 1, 2012
A nice hotel situated in Botafogo, close to the metro and bus links. Great pool, sauna and hot tub which added that little extra to our holiday :) A great place to stay if you want to be away from the touristy areas of Copacabana and Ipanema.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
It is well located. People is nice & helpful. We have some gifts (sweets, candies,etc) and they got lost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Oakland, california

We loved Brazil and this was a good hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2011
The staff was nice. There were four adults in our party and the rooms were able to accomodatae us comfortably. The breakfast was good. Although I do not think travelers should depend on people in other countries speaking their language, it was helpful that several staff did make that effort for us. I can't say enough good things about the people of Brazil. They are kind to each other, to their children, and to ignorant tourists. I didn't see anyone being rude or obnoxious in two full weeks. I'm going to look more into their child-rearing practices. They have something going on that we need to learn to turn out such nice folks!