Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by City Girl from London

Good hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for 3 nights, the Botafogo area is near a metro station which is handy otherwise reasonably priced metered taxis can take you anywhere easily. You will find that not all of their front desk staff speak English, Carlos who served us with check in and queries was pleasant. It is a hit of miss with some of the other female staff who hardly smile. The en suite was clean enough, the duvets were manky yellow and cover sheets hardly hide this. We had a 'modernised' room which was alright with Cristo Redentor view which was nice. This hotel was good enough for a short stay if you are not too fussy/picky. Security on the ground floor were adequate. All in all, an average gearing on decent place as one would expect. The location made it our choice due to wanting to stay in a neighbourhood where there are majority of locals rather than tourists where we stayed at Copacabana preceding this stay for half a week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Captain Fandango from Winchester

Great staff. Tired decor

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here with my family and was given a 2 bed apartment which was reasonably spacious. However the decor seemed a little tired and would benefit from some attention. The staff were first class and provided a huge amount of help when asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tash from New Zealand

Nice hotel in good suburb

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Hotel is located in a middle class non-beach suburb. Staff are friendly and helpful and the facilities are very good, although our unit was small, a bit more room would have been appreciated for our 4 night stay. Walking distance to good public transport, supermarket and local restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donna from Fayetteville, N.Y.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2014
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4-stars hotel - misleading

Posted Jan 13, 2014
No really a hotel as it lacks some basic services - eg. no staff helping with the luggage when check in, nor anyone showing guests the location of their rooms. Hotel lay-out is confusion: reception at 2nd floor, and at one stage, only one lift functions from the ground floor to the 2nd. Location is far from any tourist/shopping centres - taxie is the only viable transport. Staff who speak English are extremely helpful, but others have no knowledge of English at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ian McMahon from Canada

Excellent

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Hotel was a pleasure to stay at and we would recommend this to anyone. The friendly staff greeted us, the room was very well appointed with swimming pool, spa, restaruant, buisnes center. Our room had a room with a balcony that had a wonderful view the "Christ the Redeeemer" This motel is close to all means of travel, bus, metro and taxi's. There are may restaruants nearby, with shopping a pleanty. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is coming to Rio de Janerio (Botafogo area) and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Vitus from Sao Paulo

Not bad for Rio

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
In the context of Rio hotels notoriously being under-serviced and over-priced the Mercure was rather nice.. The only major blemish on the stay was the ultra-clumsy check-in but that seemed to be more a training issue of one person rather than the norm. The Breakfast is good, the shower small but nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GABRIELA from Mexico

Bathroom

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Every thing is perfect just I did not understood why they don't changed towel when is in the floor and why they did not wash the bathroom perfectly during the period we stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 24, 2013
We arrived after a 26 hour journey the receptionist was slow and did not speak English. The room was booked for 3 adults but it just had one double bed and no linen for sofa bed with great difficulty after having to phone family in brazil to speak on the phone to housekeeping we got the third bed made up. We were leaving early in the morning and one of the receptionists spoke good English when we were checking out he asked use to pay for the room that we had already paid through Expedia. He said we had to pay him and then claim back from Expedia. We were not going to do this but it took him 40 to agree it was paid to Expedia I did have my receipt from Expedia but he would not accept it. It was a nightmare won't use this hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from London

Nice hotel in Botafogo

Posted Sep 1, 2012
A nice hotel situated in Botafogo, close to the metro and bus links. Great pool, sauna and hot tub which added that little extra to our holiday :) A great place to stay if you want to be away from the touristy areas of Copacabana and Ipanema.