Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Great location friendly staff

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Great staff, best location.... Travelled during carnival so for a basic room it was $395 aud.... great views from our balcony, pool and breakfast area. After seeing what our friends got for $300 Aud up the road it's the old saying you get what you pay for... Don't expect massive rooms unless you pay for a suite but the location was mint
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brasilia

Maravilhoso.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
De frente pra praia, vista lindissima! Sugestao : corrimao na escada entre a piscina e a academia por segurança. Tudo maravilhoso!!!! Quarto com varandas, arejados, acomodaçoes novas, tudo de bom!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Excellent choice, overlooking Copacabana beach

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Lovely Hotel right on the Copacabana beach, with friendly staff with very good level of English (apart from the guy who was in charge of the beds on the beach who was nothing then unpleasant and rude!) The room was lovely and clean with the privet balcony overlooking Copacabana beach, we had troubles with the card key which had to be reset on several occasions and the battery on the lock charged (pain in the backside but cult not destroy our lovely expiriance) oh and the breakfast was excellent!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much better than a "five star" Sheraton!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Friendly staff, very nice room, excellent choice. Copacabana just across the street. Great pool and gym with a see view. Many shops and restaurants around. Great breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, TX

Great spot on the beach with great views.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: The staff was great, we had a baby with us, so we interacted with the house keepers a lot. Five stars for the house keeping team.
Cons: Elevators were not always level with the floors leading to stubbed toes, some super small details not attended to in the room.
Location: It's on Copacabana beach, so you have the beach and nearby spots. There is a Metro/Subway stop about three blocks away making wider transport easier.
We stayed for 10 nights in January 2015. The staff was helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Front desk speaks Portuguese and English. The hotel is relatively narrow, so there are only about 8 rooms per floor, and not all floors have rooms. The room we had was very long, with a nice little balcony with a table and two chairs with an ocean view, and it worked very well for us. We used the refrigerator in the room for when we'd buy things at local shops like fruit, juices, and water. If you go to the beach, they have a guy with chairs, towels, and umbrellas that are free of charge. You just go up to him, give you room number, and he gets everything setup for you. The wireless Internet service allows up to three devices to be connected at a time (per room obviously). Speeds are limited to 1Mbps down, we were getting about 5Mbps up. We had a very late flight out of Rio (11:10 PM), and hotel allowed us to leave our bags with them while we spent the day around town. We were allowed to use the facilities as well, so at the end of the day we hung around the pool, grabbed dinner, took a shower in the fitness center, and they got us setup with a cab. The food from room service was decent. The hotel breakfast buffet is pretty good. We ate out for most lunches and dinners. We didn't do any of the tours through the hotel since we already had plans. Hotel is three blocks from the subway, which makes for easy movement around the city.The subway is cheap and safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ビーチ目の前

Posted Jan 12, 2015
道路を渡れば、ビーチ。 ビーチにはホテル専用の貸しタオルやパラソル一式を準備してあります。 部屋から水着のままでオッケー。 ただコパカバーナの海は波が大き過ぎて子供は入れませでした。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vallensbaek

Nice hotel with great location

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Location: Lots of things to see and do in Rio de Janeiro
We had a really nice stay at Rio Porto Bay Hotel in December 2014. Staff was nice and helpful. We had a few "errors" with the cleaning, where one day they forgot to clean and the following we had to call the reception and ask for cleaning. The cleaners came straight away and made the room. Breakfast is wonderful - great variety - lots of choices. The pool is very small and there is not many sunbeds so we chose to stay at the beach. The hotel is almost on Copacabana Beach, hotel service at the beach OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Motel Room with Hotel-like Amenties

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly and attempted to help out (though the staff I dealt with in other Ipanema Hotels were much better)
Cons: Renovate the entire hotel not just the main lobby / rooftop pool. A full update of corridors, elevators, rooms, wash-rooms, furniture is required.
Location: Located in Copacabana, which is the tourist hub for Rio (not the greatest place to stay when compared to the up-scale look and feel of Ipanema).
This hotel is nothing like it's pictures and I'm not sure why anyone gave this such high ratings. The good parts of this hotel are the Main Lobby and the Roof-top pool which would make you think it's a modern up to date hotel. The room we got was horrific and extremely dated. The bathroom was extremely uncomfortable and dated. The big plus factor for this hotel is that the rooms come with little balconies. The beds are relatively comfortable and clean. There are two elevators for this hotel that can hold up to 3 or 4 people. Many tourists stay at this hotel. It has very easy access to the beach. I requested a late checkout and they were not able to accommodate it, however they did hold my luggage and allowed me to use the hotel pool / wash-room. Which was nice of them! Overall, a very disappointing experience. This is a good hotel for young adults, or those who don't care about the condition of their hotel rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Excellent hotel with outstanding views

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The views from our room and the service were the highlights of our stay. Everyone was attentive and helpful.
Cons: I noticed the bar by the reception is empty all the time - maybe they could rethink the happy hour there or repurpose the are given the rooftop bar?
Location: Location is great, beachfront and near the metro station. Be mindful of a couple of shady nightclubs nearby and focus on the great barzinhos neaby!
We booked a Deluxe Ocean View room and we were thrilled to find out that the view was better than the brochure picture. The room was spacious, the bathroom a little tiny, but functional with a nice marble tub (we had a minor problem with the toilet, but it was immediately solved). We booked the room through Expedia and had an issue with the breakfast not being included even if our reservation clearly stated so (we are still working this out with Expedia) - the breakfast itself is a little pricy so make sure to get it included in the package - but the food was delicious with freshly squeezed juices, all kinds of breads and all the tropical fruit you can think, all paired with an ocean view from the restaurant on the 5th floor. The waiters were so kind to let us stay a little after 10am because we were always running late :) it's hard to get hurried if you wake up to Copacabana beach in the morning! Late check out was not an option and although they did not offer a courtesy room for us to change after our day at the beach (they were so kind to let us use the beach service after we had checked out) they made the shower in the spa area available with towels for us to use before heading out. Mark, the guy that manages the beach service is beyond nice, he even recommended us the beach vendors that he knew had the most fresh shrimp to sell! I hope I get a chance to stay here again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top Location direkt am Strand der Copacabana

Posted Dec 15, 2014
+ Swimmingpool (klein) auf dem Dach mit super Blick! tolles Frühstücksbuffet sehr hilfsbereite Mitarbeiter Safe im Zimmer Beachservice (Handtücher, Liegen kostenlos) - Teile des Hotels (Fahrstühle) etwas abgewohnt