Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great Experience!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2014
They were superb from check-in to chec-out! Booked for a street view room and got lucky to be upgraded for an ocean view for free. Room is very spacious and clean and if you stay in one of the top floors, you got a great view of the copacabana and leme beach. The hotel is also a block away from the famous Copacabana Palace. The breakfast buffet had extensive selection. Loved their detox juice and definitely pigged out on the frute de conde!!! All of the staff were very accomodating. I have to make special mention of Carlos (breakfast buffet), Luciano (bellboy) and Sacha (reception). They were above and beyond their customer service. They made our stay even more special!!! Obrigado!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, easy access to beach, close proximity to most restaurants. Very respectful and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Modern hotel on the main beach area

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: It was a very new and modern hotel. The breakfast was great and the WIFI service was fast.
Location: Close to the beach with shopping and good restaurants as well as fast food. Main attractions a short taxi ride away. Shuttle to Christ the Redeemer.
I stayed here during the final weekend of the FIFA world cup. It was right on the beach with a lot of action in the area. It was really close to many restaurants and good shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Safe, Friendly and Helpful

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the beach + beach service
Cons: Better food - ie: gluten free in restaurants
Location: Great location! Very close to Cristo tours and perfect location for the beach.
The hotel was in a great location, close to tour departures, subway and of course Copacabana. The hotel staff were very helpful and always willing to accommodate. With many food allergies I had to bring food with me, which they were willing to take from my room and heat up for me and return it to the room, it was great service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sao from Australia

Great location but getting a little tired.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Terrific location and great views from the front. The room was a little tired but you are really paying for the beach front location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Fernando from Houston

Great view of Copacabana

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The beach-view room overlook all of Copacabana. You could stay there all day. Excellent location. The bathrooms could use an upgrade and they are definitely small. The rooms and furniture are standard. You are paying for the view of the bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Patrice from Maine

Great views great convenience great service

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love porto bay. The renovated pool now offers a panorama of Rio. It is worth paying more for the upper and rooms with a balcony for full Ocean view but all rooms have partial view. Great service by bellmen and English-speaking front desk. Fabulous breakfast. Close to the metro and easy access to downtown by car. A great place to stay for work or play!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mv from colorado usa

Great location and luxury in Rio

Posted May 29, 2014
We wanted a safe and comfortable place to stay in Rio and were not disappointed with the Porto Bay. The room was great, we were right across the road from the beach and near many restaurants. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed the rooftop restaurant. Just expect that any extras , such as breakfast or a car to go to the sights will be convenient but overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from New York, NY

Great hotel directly on the Copacabana Beach

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Overall friendliness, but breakfast is great! Make sure you eat on-site at least once. Brazilian fruit is the best.
Cons: Both the sink and the shower area drained extremely slowly. Having no idea how modern the plumbing is, I cannot say if it was draining optimally.
Location: Sugar Loaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer, walks along the beach... all wonderful.
We arrived a few hours before check-in. After being told that our room wasn't ready yet, they safely held our bags for us as we explored the area. Coming back about 30 mins before official check-in time, the room was still not ready so we waited in the wonderful lobby, reading books with suggestions of things to do in Rio. Right at 2pm (check-in time), the concierge came over to us with our keys explaining that he upgraded us to a nicer room because we were waiting so long. Amazing! The room itself was very comfortable. No complaints. Throughout our stay, the various concierges were extremely helpful by calling tour companies for us in order to book events, as we do not speak Spanish or Portuguese (everyone in the hotel speaks English well). When we were leaving to go anywhere without a hotel pickup, they were always quick to run to the street to hail a passing cab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our 3 night stay was very pleasant. The staff was very friendly, accommodating, and spoke English quite well. The rooms were very comfortable (and I found surprising large after reading previous reviews) and included a balcony with a great view. The view was even more incredible at the roof-top bar and pool area. We will definitely consider this hotel on any return trips to Rio!