Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great breakfast, clean comfortable rooms, easy access to beach, close proximity to most restaurants. Very respectful and friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Modern hotel on the main beach area

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: It was a very new and modern hotel. The breakfast was great and the WIFI service was fast.
Location: Close to the beach with shopping and good restaurants as well as fast food. Main attractions a short taxi ride away. Shuttle to Christ the Redeemer.
I stayed here during the final weekend of the FIFA world cup. It was right on the beach with a lot of action in the area. It was really close to many restaurants and good shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Safe, Friendly and Helpful

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the beach + beach service
Cons: Better food - ie: gluten free in restaurants
Location: Great location! Very close to Cristo tours and perfect location for the beach.
The hotel was in a great location, close to tour departures, subway and of course Copacabana. The hotel staff were very helpful and always willing to accommodate. With many food allergies I had to bring food with me, which they were willing to take from my room and heat up for me and return it to the room, it was great service!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sao from Australia

Great location but getting a little tired.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Terrific location and great views from the front. The room was a little tired but you are really paying for the beach front location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mv from colorado usa

Great location and luxury in Rio

Posted May 29, 2014
We wanted a safe and comfortable place to stay in Rio and were not disappointed with the Porto Bay. The room was great, we were right across the road from the beach and near many restaurants. The staff was helpful and we enjoyed the rooftop restaurant. Just expect that any extras , such as breakfast or a car to go to the sights will be convenient but overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from New York, NY

Great hotel directly on the Copacabana Beach

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Overall friendliness, but breakfast is great! Make sure you eat on-site at least once. Brazilian fruit is the best.
Cons: Both the sink and the shower area drained extremely slowly. Having no idea how modern the plumbing is, I cannot say if it was draining optimally.
Location: Sugar Loaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer, walks along the beach... all wonderful.
We arrived a few hours before check-in. After being told that our room wasn't ready yet, they safely held our bags for us as we explored the area. Coming back about 30 mins before official check-in time, the room was still not ready so we waited in the wonderful lobby, reading books with suggestions of things to do in Rio. Right at 2pm (check-in time), the concierge came over to us with our keys explaining that he upgraded us to a nicer room because we were waiting so long. Amazing! The room itself was very comfortable. No complaints. Throughout our stay, the various concierges were extremely helpful by calling tour companies for us in order to book events, as we do not speak Spanish or Portuguese (everyone in the hotel speaks English well). When we were leaving to go anywhere without a hotel pickup, they were always quick to run to the street to hail a passing cab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Fantastic stay ! Great room, facilities and views. Loved the roof top pool and bar - stunning views :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by j.p. from winnipeg, canada

exceeded expectations

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Location: Try some beach soccer with the locals. Walk the strip. Rent some bycicles. Have fun. Be safe. Meet and greet people wherever you go. =)
Great value for your dollar!!!! Staff were amazingly helpful (Recommending safe tours, setting up taxi service, providing beach towels for the times we went off of resort beach location, holding our luggage safely before afternoon flight departure (after checkout)!!!! Breakfast was delicious!!! Tonnes of healthy fruit and pastry available. Definitely a place to get a good start to your day (proteins, carbs, fats). The fitness centre was closed for construction, we went for jogs down safe copacabana street and rented bycycles for exercise anyways. Poolside patio on 20th floor was a nice uncrowded place to go to at the end of the day!!! Definitly worth your money! Wifi worked great. Elevators a tad small. But not at all a big deal. Definitly click to Book it now!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great beachfront location. Staff helpful.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: market the restaurant- free glass of wine, discount etc.
Location: beach, sugar loaf tour, Condado mountain tour
wonderful time. Great weather. nice beach facility. good meals- restaurant underused for dinner. ? why very goiod breakfast included. rooftop snallow pool. Would definately return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff from Oakland

Our Stay in Rio

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: The reception staff was the best I have ever seen!!!! All of them were very helpful, kind, knowledgeable, and a pleasure to speak with.
Cons: Bathrooms need updating, and bar and restaurant staff at the pool ONLY is a little slow.
The Porto Bay Rio served our purposes well. Located just a block form "The Palace", we enjoyed the local restaurants and ambience.