Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Since it is right in front of Av. das Americas, traffic noise can be particularly loud during the day and eventually by night. Location is OK to get to Barra sites but driving towards Copacabana and Downtown can take about 1.5 hours.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Toronto

decent price, no amenities nearby

Posted Mar 15, 2014
good hotel nice price. gym Is decent. Not really close to anything though walking distance. forced to eat at the hotel or travel by car elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by David from Frederick, MD

Not nearly as nice as the pictures suggest

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: General maintenance of the building and rooms.
Both the Expedia website and the Promenade website present the picture of a high end, first class hotel. Unfortunately, the Promenade Barra First was a bit of a disappointment. Primarily, the building and the rooms just haven't been maintained all that well. It's fine as generic business hotels go - definitely not a "dive" by any means. You just need to go in with the right expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Will from Sao Paulo

Great but overpriced

Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good hotel. On the specific date I was there, only one elevator was working which made waiting times long. Great location, room was great!!! Great gym!!! However, since it is in Rio, it was way overpriced like everything else in this violent city.
2 out of 5
by ambrose from London

comfortable hotel if you are there for shopping

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: I will say the hotel was fair priced for such good facility like the lazy river pool. The breakfast and cleanliness were of high standard.
Cons: desk staff helpfulness was often inaccurate, but the whole shopping centre is being built so it is very chaotic and quite hard going at times.
Location: high-end shopping and expensive restaurants
comfy hotel clean good air-con nice wood features, not fussy clean some English TV stations, very good breakfast, super fruit selection, needed more meat and cheese and boiled eggs, but otherwise good where the staff were more friendly and helpful in general. the lazy river pool is a plus, especially for kids and a big gym. minuses, miles from anywhere, complicated to get to by bus long journey into town on any day. The hotel is on a very busy noisy road you have to be tough resisting noise here! After 3 days I learnt my way and found paradise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel location ideal for us.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Cons: Front desk prsonnel
Reception personnel were very unsocial and never had a smile, for my whole stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by amado from wesron,florida

Convention stay

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: Buffet
Cons: Too far from restaurants
Location: Not much unless for the convention center Rio Centro
The hotel was very nice. Good breakfast buffet. Great fruit assortment. Cereals , breads nd bake goods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zafer

Nice hotel in a nice area.

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Suitable and handy for all needs.
Cons: No suggestion really. All was ok!
Location: There is a nearly opened fancy mall within walking distance.
Pleased with my short stay that served my needs and expectations.