Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tonymardeni

GREAT HOTEL AT COPACABANA

Posted Apr 24, 2014
VERY GOOD UBICATION, CLOSE TO EVERYTHING, NICE ROOM WHIT A LOT OF SPACE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris G.

Superb Service!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Was a bit nervous given some of the previous reviews, but I have to say the Sofitel was exceptional. The staff is very attentive and hotel grounds are beautiful. Rooms are comfortable - aesthetic is not going to blow you away but they are well appointed and clean. Will definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dave from Houston

Great Hotel on Copacabana

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Location: Right on beach, two pools, good for couples or business
Nothing negative to say, which is difficult. Stayed here 5 times now, and staff is very professional and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by traveller from aus

fantastic serrvice

Posted Jan 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great staff always thhere to serve you, help you, friendly! Loved the shower in the room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Boston Jon

Great access to Copacabana and Ipanema

Posted Jan 13, 2014
The hotel staff was very professional. The views were top notch and the location grants easy access to both Copacabana and Ipanema. I would stay here anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ellekay03 from Las Vegas NV USA

A really great experience!

Posted Jan 3, 2014
From the moment we arrived until the second we left it was an incredible experience. Every one of the hotel staff was so nice and attentive without being overbearing or stuffy. My best friend and I were traveling to Brazil for the first time and had no idea what to expect but what we got was the perfect location (situated right at the crossroads of Copacabana and Impanema Beaches) .. a beautifully furnished and up kept room .. a sweet, courteous and professional staff .. and a hotel that I would definitely stay at next time I visit Rio. We stayed on the Executive Floor which was completely worth the slightly higher room rate, being that the Club which comes with those rooms serves an amazing complimentary breakfast buffet, and has other snacks throughout the day, also has a bar with complementary cocktails and a 24hr concierge. I applaud this hotel and it's standards. A totally satisfied and impressed customer!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicole from Chicago

Great location, nice hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, we had a great stay - Nice rooms, comfy beds, right on the beach, beach service, great breakfast buffet (extra cost). However, for a 4 star hotel I was suprised that the condition of the hotel was definitely a bit older which showed a bit inside but a lot from the exterior. We had a extreme water leak problem in our room at 3 am which was not ideal, but you would hope it was a freak accident. Also a couple of minor things in the room didn't work. However after the incident, we were given an upgrade to a suite for the rest of our stay which was in better condition. Ultimately, I'd go back and/or recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patricia from Toronto Canada

Great Copacabana location

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was very pleased with my stay. We were on the concierge or executive floor and it includes breakfast, snacks and drinks including wine and alcohol - free of charge. The food was very good and the staff were fabulous. They could not find me a room with a bathtub, however, my friends were upgraded to a suit. I would definitely stay at Sofitel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by NealB from Bay Area, CA

Felt Like Royalty

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 3 nights on a longer trip to Rio. It was a great stay. We felt really pampered, as the staff attended to our every need. The location is great - right on the border of Ipanema and Copacabana. We had a lot of fun at the Horse's Neck bar, where Rosiano and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome, told stories, and made us great drinks! We had the buffet breakfast one morning and it was very good, but on the pricey side - about $32US. In the evening, we ate at one of the two independent sidewalk restaurants just out the front door and 100 feet to the left. The food was excellent and reasonable. The inside of the hotel (including our room) was impeccable, while the outside was a bit tired-looking (as others have said). Gladly, the exterior refurbishment is now underway. The only suggestion for the room would be to have some floor mats, as the floor tends to get sandy after being at the beach. A foot-wash in front of the hotel would be nice as well. We didn't stay on the Executive Floor, but went up to take a look at the lounge up there. If you can swing it, it's definitely worthwhile. The hotel was very well managed, and the manager, M. Frederic, seems to take a keen interest in his guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to Ipanema and Leblon.

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was beautiful and conveniently located. Staff at restaurant and handling your baggage was superb. A lot to be desire from of the lady that registered us after a very early flight and early arrival. Also the staff at the concierge desk lack a lot of tact and willingness to assist guests - specially for a hotel of this ranking!. We felt the staff was more concerned with European guest than Americans or any other nationality. This is a shame because everybody else was very nice and hotel is very comfortable. Maybe next time we will try the Fasano on Ipanema and check the quality of their customer service.