Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in downtown

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Had to take a flight from SDU next day. Took me ten minutes to get there even in Rio's terrible traffic. I even had time to walk to the museum a great Library to have breakfast. It's really close to the subway. The terrace with pool has a great view to relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced as world cup was on

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: location to metro
Could hear lift going up and down all night,reception staff not friendly at all,Flavia needs to SMILE. One morning stale rolls staff would not get new ones,when paying £150 per night expected far better. room doors slam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

nice location, nice hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: i went in a busy season (soccer world cup) the staff sometimes got very stress
Location: much thing because you can take the metro and go to different tourist location with out paying for tourist package
close to all major tourist attraction you can take the metro that is near the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whittier, Ca

Nice hotel. Close to transportation and shops.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
It is walking distance to Metro station and shops. Staff is always there to help with anything that you need. Rooms and restrooms are updated. The pool and bar on rooftop have a great view of Rio.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MG from Illinois

Nice hotel downtown, near metro & airport

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to metro, city center (where shopping was affordable), and domestic airport.
Cons: Staff attitude could be greatly improved.
Location: Hotel is near airport, museums, and city center.
Arrived late in the evening and check in went fine. Hotel is in the center of Rio de Janeiro, about a 15-20 min drive from Copacabana Beach and Ipanema Beach. Right next to metro station which is an affordable way to get around the city. However, if one is planning to do some tours, most tour companies only pick up from hotels along Avenida Atlantica (in front of Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches). They will not pick up from the city center so one must travel early and coordinate for the tour pickup and drop off. I was very disappointed with the staff at the Windsor Asturias. First, when I tried to order room service, the room service key on the phone did not work. When I made the request in the lobby, the staff acted annoyed that I could not place the order over the phone. The next day, I asked the staff to get me a taxi to go to Copacabana Beach. They pushed me to hire the hotel car and the hotel car driver spent the whole drive trying to convince me to hire him for a 5-hour tour of Rio. The price he quoted was exorbitant and he would not stop making the offer even after repeated declines from me. When I checked out of the hotel, the staff did not help me with my bags and they did not help me flag a taxi from the front of the hotel. Overall, this hotel is comfortable (the furniture are quite dated but clean), a little bit out of the tourist-y way, views in the top floor were great, but staff attitude and willingness to help were disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sergio from Sao Paulo

My review

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: How I was treated.
Cons: The furniture in the lobby need to be changed, they are in bad shape.
Location: Everything I needed was close to the hotel.
Lived up to my expectations. I would recomend it to freinds and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by April

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lori from California

Nice location in downtown area.

Posted Dec 24, 2013
Pros: Excellent value for the money. Clean, convenient and centrally located hotel.
Cons: Lobby area is a bit small. Tour information was limited in the public area.
Staff were helpful with English translation needs and arranging a ground tour and airport transportation. Very good restaurant off the lobby area. Many of the guests at the restaurant appeared to be downtown office employees, which to me is a good sign of the quality of dishes served.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Showin from The Woodlands, TX

Nice hotel, Excellent location

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: Very clean and good breakfast
Cons: WIFI signal could be better
Location: Excellent location, walking distance to National Fine Art Museum, Theatre Municipal, Cathedral, and Rio Scenarium.