Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jason from melbourne

Great Hotel near beach

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Location Location Location, great spot only 100 meters from beach. Staff friendly, breakfast nice also. Have no problems returning to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Matthew from São Paulo, Brasil.

Windsor Martinique, Rio.

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The convenience to Copacabana and surrounding eateries.
Cons: The beds were very uncomfortable and the overall feeling of the room was that it needed a "lift".
Location: Location as mentioned earlier was brilliant and there was a supermarket across the road too. Next door was also a money exchange facility.
I had been looking for a nice, yet affordable hotel in Rio as everything seemed to be on the expensive side. This hotel is conveniently located to Copacabana beach, I mean literally a five minute walk across the road. The facilities were a little old and the rooms, whilst clean, were very bland. There was a buffet breakfast included which was wonderful and the staff were fluent in English and other languages, which made conversing that little bit easier and was greatly appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Per from Cardiff UK

Great staff and fab location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Staff and breakfast buffet
Cons: For a 3 star, not much unless they go for a complete upgrade and re grading.
Location: Literally on the beach. Walking distance to near by Ipanema Beach as well. Great supermarket around the corner and lot's of taxis who will do tours.
We were recommended the Windsor chain of hotels and picked this one for it's location in Copacabana. We found the hotel nice with excellent staff. Staff on Reception spoke great English and nothing was too much. Staff in the cosy restaurant were very friendly and happy to help. Breakfast buffet was great with lot's of choice to suit most diets. Rooms are basic but clean, comfy beds. Rooms have shower or bath/shower and are clean with nice towels. Not many amenities but a hair dryer exist. In room safe, no iron in room and not sure if they have one since I didn't need to use one. Rooms can be noisy, if the room next door has TV on loudly. Felt walls were a bit on the thin side. Roof top pool is tiny! But a nice addition to the beach to come back to and cool off. Small bar upstairs that serves food and drinks. Great location in Copacabana just opposite post number 5, safe to walk everywhere, great supermarket around the corner and lot's of banks should you need more money. Complimentary wifi was ok, albeit on two of our days it was down but when it was working it was quick and reliable. All in all a great stay and I would return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabriel from boston, ma

So so

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Location is great, staff speak English and hotel is fairly clean but still needs upgrades. Best part was the buffet style breakfast. The most dispointing part was the pool on the roof and luck of view. Also I'd like to say that beach and weather was great, totally love Rio landscapes and strongly recommend taking the one day tour, it is worth it all the money. However, watch out , waiter tend to charge you more just because you don't speak Portuguese :) also parts of Rio can be dangerous. We only use cabs ... So a unique place, beautiful but people are not all very nice = a mixed bag
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PL from Canada

Location

Posted Jan 19, 2014
good location - close to restaurants and beach. Excellent breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

best hotel staff ive ever seen

Posted Jan 13, 2014
hotel is tiny! from elevators, to rooms, to pool, to dining area. Theres no wifi except in the lobby so the lobby is practically filled with guests all staring down at their cell phones, but ive never seen such a professional group of staff memebers ever! everyone spoke english and waited on everyone hand and food. i will stay there again for sure!!!!
3 out of 5
by Doug from Ontario

An OK hotel that is near to the beach.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
It is rated as a three and half star hotel, but based on north American standards I would only give it 2 1/2 stars. Room was clean, and the air conditioning worked. Bathroom was very small and the towels are rather old and thin. Wi fi only available in the lobby, which can be busy at times and there are only 4 seats. You can sometimes get a connection on the roof.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rk from toronto

Exceeded expectations

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Reserved hotel from Expedia. Hotel staff were very nice, most spoke English. Very close to the beach. Just a little more than across the street. The room was clean. There were no surprises when the payment was due. I would stay there again if returning to rio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sergio from New York, USA

great reception desk staff!

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with excellent location! Neighborhood seemed safe to walk around during the night and day. The beach is about 30 seconds away, grocery stores, banks, restaurants, bars are all within 1-2 minute walk. The reception desk staff was awesome, including Claudio, and they are very helpful with tours, directions reservations, etc (except for the reception guy who works the night shift - he wasn't too friendly if you come in late). The breakfast is decent, with several fruit and breakfast-type items. Rooms are comfortable and you can't hear any street noise, allowing you to have a full nights sleep. Wi-fi only available in the lobby or pool area. In all, great hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PG&BG from G

Decent hotel next to the beach.

Posted Dec 29, 2013
This was a good hotel slightly on the expensive side for the facilities it was providing. Internet in the room but not wi-fi. Use a laptop to set up a hotspot wifi instead. The last two nights of our stay there was a water stoppage for maintenance, or at least that's what was claimed by the front desk. Not the most astute staff, but that is everywhere in Rio. They are friendly and that is also prevalent everywhere in Rio. Tipping helps with that as well. Overall a good experience since the hotel ahould not be the focus of your stay in Rio. Considering how expensive hotels are in Ipanema, Windsor Martinique was a decent choice for Copacabana. Beach is always better and cleaner in Ipanema.