Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

MIS o Rio

Posted Sep 12, 2011 on Hotels.com
Walked in, took one look at the high windlowless walls, the 1970's furniture, no air con and general lack of soul/character and thought this was not the place holidays are made of. My boyfriend commented it might be acceptable if he was on day release from prison. Told the mono-sylabbic lady on reception we were leaving and her reply "but you've already paid" - says it all really. The town felt very tired and lifeless, had no compulsion to stay so drove to near the port and left Elba for the solace of the mainland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very convenient

Posted Sep 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff, convenient location (less than 5 min walk from ferry, beach & food), clean room, decent breakfast. Rio Marina is pretty small and quiet. Good for a nice relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

The perfect hotel for Rome

Posted Jun 17, 2010
We chose this hotel based on its cheap price and great reviews, and it definitely fit our expections and then some... We were shocked that a hotel only 10-15 dollars more than the cheapest in the location could get us such a nice room. The bathroom had a jacuzzi, we had a balcony, and a sitting room with an exercise bike, and this was at the cheapest rate offered. Furthermore, the service was very friendly and helpful. They give you a map with all the must-see locations in Rome, and the metro was a 5-minute walk away. A very decent buffett breakfast is also offered on the covered roof of the hotel. Highly reccommended!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from boston, lincs

"Love to go back"

Posted Sep 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
Fantastic place, very clean, very friendly staff, lovely views over the bay, would reccommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Paris

we loved it

Posted Sep 19, 2009 on Hotels.com
only few words: supposed to stay 1 night only and ended up spening 3 nights there
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Fantastic place to stay Great Hotel!

Posted Sep 17, 2009 on Hotels.com
My wife and i stayed two nights at the Hotel Rio in early September. The staff was more than helpfull with any question or request we had and very friendly. the Breakfast was nice and worth money. i have recommended this hotel to friends and will continue to do so. By far a highlight of our trip to Italy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Allison from atlanta, georgia

loved the location

Posted Jul 2, 2009
hotel rio sul mare was easy to locate and right near the ferry. my son and i enjoyed having the children's playground right across the street. also, numerous places to eat that were reasonably priced and tasty. the staff were helpful and responsive to questions and concerns that i had.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Reasonably priced hotel

Posted Jun 22, 2009
I stayed in this hotel with a freind for 4 nights for beach holiday. Room was clean and well maintained. We had a few problems with the shower but once reception was informed they fixed this up by the next day as promised. Breakfast was good although coffee & other food ran out and wasn't replaced very quickly. For a cheap hotel I would reccommend staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Swansea

Friendly staff but not enough

Posted Sep 18, 2008
I have mixed feelings about the hotel, on the one hand the staff were very friendly and very helpful. But on the other i just did not think that the hotel was worth the money. For a start the air conditioning, which i knew would be an optional extra, was very expensive. The Beach which is 500 meteres away, is not really anywhere you would want to go, it is more like a collection of rocks and the sea. The towels provided by the hotel were very strange and not very comfortable. Yet Elba is nice, there are beaches towards Cavo which are lovely, Rio Marina has a number of good resturants, however if you don't speak italian you could have some difficulties with the menu's as there is no english in Rio Marina. I just felt a little let down, and despite the very friendly staff i would not return
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monte-Carlo, Monaco

Hotel Rio Sul Mare -Rio Marina - Elba

Posted Aug 22, 2008
The hotel was quaint and the common areas cute and clean but our room was small, had no view, no a/c and the bathroom had an improvised shower (drain was a mere whole in the floor that caused flooding of the entire floor when used). On the whole the hotel rating was realistically closer to a 2-star than to its official 3-star rating despite the price paid (I have stayed at much nicer and cheaper three-star hotels in Italy in the past which proves the unreliability of the hotel star-system in this coutry...) I have stayed in in Italy but it was the only one we could get in Elba at this busy time of the year so no real complaints...