Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.3 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A shadow of its former self...

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Most everything else. The breakfast "room" much more resembles a breakfast closet.
Thirty years ago the Welcome Inn was the premier lodging in Ripon (probably the only one). Twenty years ago it still was the best of 2 or 3. Today, it has nothing going for it whatsoever except location. It's the only lodging within walking distance of the college, so for reunions, parents weekends, homecoming, etc., there is no other on-foot option. What to do? Use the car and one of the other motels on the western outskirts of town. The Welcome Inn is run-down, tired, and a shadow of what it once was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Room good. Toilet wouldn't stop running Breakfast very generic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, Comfortable, Friendly

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: perfect, we were at the Honor Flight Bike Rally
The bed was super comfortable. Very caring staff. The breakfast was a typical type of breakfast. Well lit. Would stay again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't book a room here.

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: I only stayed one night
Cons: Everything from upgrading to a front desk clerk who appreciates the business she receives.
The front desk clerk never stood up when we were checking in. As I was on my way to my room, she called me back so I could switch rooms with someone who needed 2 beds,(I only needed one). She never checked the room to see if it was clean, used, or anything. When I went into my room, it stunk like dirty feet. It was old and very smelly. The linens and carpet looked like it was never cleaned. The front desk clerk was never at her desk, you had to call her to find her. My room key stopped working. I was never told about where the vending machines, ice or anything else was located. I was offered free breakfast, but after the way the room was I was not going to take the chance of eating any food that was offered. I never even went in the breakfast room. i was in a pinch, was up there for my daughter's college graduation. So happy it was for one night and next time I'll sleep in the car.
1 out of 5
by Kelly from Sacramento, CA

Hotel close to downtown

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Its located within walking distance to restaurants.
Cons: Pretty much everything. It is a very old Hotel that needs renovating.
Horrible! The rooms smell like smoke, the bar was closed for business, there was no gym (there were two treadmills pushed back into a corner) and breakfast was only opened on the weekend which consisted of cereal in plastic bins and store bought pastries. If you wanted ice you could go to the a make shift freezer which had frozen water in zip lock bags. The vending machines were empty, thank goodness for the Am/Pm next door for water, snacks etc. No coffee or tea offered in the rooms and the microwave in our room did not work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent stay.

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Better beds and upgraded bathrooms.
The staff was decent...... The bed was really hard. The breakfast had donuts, english muffins, cereal, bananas and cookies.
2 out of 5
by Marlene from Marshfield, wi

Too much money for a less than adequate room.

Posted Aug 4, 2013
Pros: Easy to find
Cons: Maintenance, cleaning, scrubbing, etc.
Location: Rip on, WI
The double beds were very small, low, and uncomfortable. The room had holes in the wall and ceiling and noticeably not well maintained. The room and hallway were dirty, carpet stains, and it smelled like smoke. Disgusting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Susan from Texas

Very close to downtown historic district of Ripon.

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location! Easy to get to, plenty of parking, friendly staff.
Cons: Continental breakfast.
Location: Central located near cafes, shopping, the college, theater, farmer's market. Home of the Republican party museum, historic churches and homes.
We've stayed at the Welcome Inn several times before, so there were no surprises. Owner is very accommodating. Linens were clean, bathrooms are old styled, but clean. TV service was cable with about 50 available channels. Small refrigerator, microwave and Wi-Fi were provided. Kid friendly environment, computer available in front lobby, beer celler/bar in the basement. If you're on a budget, this is a definite contender for your money! If there was a short coming, it would be the continental breakfast. There were the standard fares, cereal, oatmeal, donuts/sweet rolls, bagels or English muffins, bananas, yogurt and toast. More fruit, sliced cheeses, ham or bacon would've been a welcome addition. There are really good eateries about a block away. We were within walking distance of several nice outlet stores, cafes and other great places to spend time. Enjoyed our experiences.
3 out of 5
by pirdy from wisconsin

Interesting.

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Close to Ripon campus.
Cons: Better lighting.
Location: Campus visit
I would stand by the 1.8 rating it currently holds. Sheets and towels were clean and shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. Room was very smoky even though it was marked non-smoking. I have allergies so that was a little un-pleasant. Can't say as I would stay there again but we survived it. Bed and pillows were comfortable too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great place

Posted Sep 16, 2012
Pros: The rooms size was good.
Cons: The sheets and blankets cleanliness.
Location: Location was close to Ripon college.
The staff was not very helpful and they didn't even know what was on their website. When I asked about pets being allowed like it said on the website, the man who checked us in said "if the internet says its allowed I guess it is." The side door near our room that went to the parking lot was always open unless I pulled it closed when I came in. The room had stained sheets and old comforters with spots on it. No other blankets. The pillow cases had stains on them too. The toilet didn't seem to be attached to the floor and moved when we sat on it. Granted, it is an older hotel and needed some updating. I will not be using this hotel again especially for the price I paid!