Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Not worth value

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Close to beach, but everything at beach a rip off. Wait for chair and umbrella super long and after you pay they only let you stay a short time.
Cons: Railing in penthouse is falling apart. Must be hard to sue in Mex because they are in no hurry to prevent law suits!! Dangerous hotel.
Location: Beach - super crowded rip off. 5th Street commerce - total tourist trap. paid $150 for terrible dinner at the Fishery of course recommend by hotel
It is a nice hotel but in a totally run down area. The surrounding space is dirty and squalor. You can get a room at the marriott for half the price but 10 times nicer. The Aldea has seen better days. it seems like it was built awhile ago and the upkeep is minimal. The penthouse advertised a view - yeah a view of the construction site next door that blocked the ocean view. it seems a bigger, badder, better hotel is going up and they lost their advantage. Although there is a penthouse pool all the debris from the construction site blows into the pool so its filthy and you wake with the noise of a hundred hammers pounding at 7:00 a.m. non stop all day. Drilling, whizzing, pounding - relentless. then when it does stop you get constructions guys about 10 feet from your window looking in while they eat their lunch at the construction site. The wooden railing around the penthouse is flimsy and parts broken off. The edge is only 3 fee tall so if you trip or have a child up there - you will die. NO U.S. BUILDING CODES OR STANDARDS. There are so many thing wrong with this place I do not have time. All I can say is DON'T DO IT. THE PICTURES ARE NICE, BUT DON'T DO IT. Not worth more than $200 a night for the penthouse.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brett from Easton, MA

Aldea thai

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This condo/hotel has a perfect location! You are close to the best beach and beach club, Mamitas, in Playa del Carmen! It is also close to all of the best restaurants on 5th Avenue. And, it is a short walk to Mega, a large Mexican supermarket where you can stock your condo with necessities for the week. The hotel is beautiful with a swim up bar and absolutely gorgeous common areas. I would not stay anywhere else in the downtown area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by condster from socal

this place is fantastic!

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We got a 2 bedroon suite...1900 sq feet of amazing! The room was gorgeous. ..the view in the living room was right over the ocean...watching the sun rise up over the water was mesmerizing. The pool area is great...the atmosphere of the hotel was fun and inviting. ..the location is perfect...I would 100% come back and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Newnick from Port Neches, Tx.

Great location

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: The place was just great, it served all our needs and then some.
Cons: Internet service was not very good nor was the cable, but this was a vacation.
Location: The location is excellent, two beach clubs a short walk away. A couple restarants, a couple of convenience stores and a bar are downstairs.
We really enjoyed staying at Aldea Thai Condo. It is a great location close to the beach and 5th. Ave. The room was very nice and large with a nice kitchen, good air conditioning, big patio and our room was about 20ft. from the pool. The staff was great, the room was cleaned everyday, the valet parking was a nice touch. All in all I'd stay again without any doubt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pam from Birmingham, AL

Aldea Thai - Playa del Carmen

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: pretty much everything.......beautiful condo, grounds and people. thank you Aldea Thai and management.
Cons: wi-fi. Could only get it in public areas and sometimes outside on the balconies.
Location: The Beer Box has the best bloody mary I've ever had in my life. made with vodka or beer. Plenty of restaurants. The beach is right there. Kool Bch
We had an excellent stay at Aldea Thai and are hoping to return next year. Housekeeping was amazing! Lovely place that is very convenient to the beach (steps), 5th Avenue (two blocks), etc. Nice people,nice condo.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Good location close to the beach. Nice, comfortable rooms. beautiful design.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel !!

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: Everthing
We went there for out honeymoon...great location, very beautiful pool and rooms
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Noisy - Don't go here to sleep

Posted Aug 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location, however, it is VERY loud, noise from inside the hotel from other guests, and staff, and from the air conditioner turning off and on all night long. NOT the place to stay if you want any sleep at all. The location was great, near the beach, near 5th, etc. The staff was not pleasant or helpful. Of our 3 night stay we only spent 2 nights, left for one night to get some sleep and relaxation at The Taj - much better there!!! Night and day difference between that staff and the level of service there! Will definitely stay at the Taj next time- great beach and can sleep
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruno from Mexico City

Beautiful units on the best beach in Playa!

Posted Jul 17, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location. Beautiful pools and views of the Caribbean. Quiet & restful but close to the action and steps away from the beach clubs
Location: Mamitas and Kool Beach Clubs, lots of bars and shopping. Probably the best stretch of beach in Playa del Carmen!
Our Experience in Aldea Thai was super. Both service and amenities of the facility were impeccable and personally I believe we got a lot of value. Alex and Kelly always helped us during our stay and gave us grate tips to make our visit to the Riviera Maya very complete. Aldea Thai is located in the best possible area. Far enough to assure you a good night's sleep but close enough to the newest and coolest area of Playa del Carmen where you can find, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. The units have stunning views of the Caribbean and is located between the two of the most famous beach clubs in Mexico, Mamitas and Kool Beach. We were all fascinated!