Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Beautiful but Pricey

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, very different experience from typical Cancun hotels. Rooms are very private and the pools are really big.
Cons: More dining options, the beach was ok but not as good as some other places we've stayed, all the extra fees and ridiculous prices could be improved.
There is no doubt that this is a beautiful hotel and the rooms are huge! I just hate how some hotels charge for every little thing and try to suck every last dime out of their guests, this is definitely one of those hotels! We have stayed at very nice, very expensive hotels in Mexico and elsewhere but even in comparison to those hotels the prices at the restaurants in the Banyan Tree are ridiculous. We spent easily $50 for 2 sandwiches and 2 non-alcoholic drinks at lunch and over $200 for dinner for the two of us (again without alcoholic drinks and no appetizer). There are not many dining options and taxis cost $50 round trip into town, so you basically are stuck paying whatever they decide to charge. A can of soda in the mini bar cost $6, mini bars are usually expensive but that is still really high! They also charge telephone calls even within the hotel complex, my husband was charged for calling the golf course! And they charge for the use of bikes to get around the hotel, they also charge an "optional" fee for their environmental program but beware that it appears automatically in your bill. The list of charges goes on and on. I just wish they would not make you feel like they are taking advantage of their guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxation and Tranquility

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The rooms and the integration with nature.
Cons: This is getting really picky but we could have used a little more lighting in the bathroom sink area and a few more towel hooks but that is about it.
Location: We rented a car a drove to the Coba ruins and then on the way back went to Akumal and swam with turtles which we'd highly recommend.
Great hotel with amazing service. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived. The staff takes in this hotel is immediately clear. We really appreciated being able to learn about and enjoy how the hotel has been carefully built in a manner as to preserve the natural ecosystem. Rooms were great with a spacious courtyard just like the pictures. We've never been to a hotel that was so quiet. Food was excellent with many choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Awesome rooms!

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Rooms and excellent hotel staff.
Cons: The only complaint I have is the mosquitos. They are very aggressive and I assume the eco-friendly mantra prevents use of pesticides.
Great lavish villas, all with pool and large outdoor space. The rooms are the star here and they more than make up for the fact that the beach is pretty far away from the vast majority of rooms. The buggys transport you to the beach and they are usually quite prompt once you call for one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Incredible villa! Very private, spacious and luxurious. This property is very special. The service is superb. My only criticism is that it would be nice to have an option for snacks and small meals on the property. The restaurants are fabulous, but I prefer to have a simpler breakfast & lunch and then a nice dinner out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Perfect.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Perfect staff very very good manner.
Cons: If my trip can be longer lol
Location: There's a very nice beach near by and good boat tour.
It will give you a wow feeling. Super nice staff, everything is nice. You can pick any thing on the menu and it will taste great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Piece of HEAVEN!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The service! Every time we requested something they were there in a blink of an eye.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The location is perfect! You don't even need to leave the resort!
This place is a little piece of heaven! My boyfriend and I went for my birthday and they made it not only the best birthday but the best vacation ever! The place itself is in impeccable condition, neat and well maintained. From the moment we stepped foot on the resort the staff made us feel like royalty! The staff is very attentive and are always one step of you! They are also very respectful and always address you by last name. Our room was so modern and chic, not to mention our private pool and bathtub! I could go on and on about this hotel but it is something you have to experience for yourself! Everyone has to go at least once in their life to this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

The Banyan experience lives on in Mexico

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The staff, nature and general tranquility
Cons: Dining options
Location: Playa del Carmen for more dining options
Our first visit to Mexico and we thought we would try a trusted hotel chain. We were not disappointed. For those wanting great weather, pampering, a dose of nature and a good beach, the Banyan tree is the answer. The walk to the beach from the main hotel could be a little daunting for some, but we did it a coupe of times a day and really enjoyed the wonderful wildlife in the lagoons. Staff were brilliant if a little over attentive sometime due to low occupancy. Downsides - beach had a little seaweed which staff dealt with daily - because of low season, hotel had a conference full of guys which made the peace of an excellent Banyan breakfast a little like a staff canteen - The dinner choices are a little limited but of very high quality but a taxi ride away is excellent Playa del Carmen Upsides - the staff, the villa tranquillity, nature, food and of course the spa And if this was a low wet season, we hardly saw a cloud and no rain the whole week. Overall - excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom L

So wanted to love it!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
On arriving - AC not working in room so floor is wet. Outside lights by private pool and roof deck not working. Jets in private hot tub not working. Ladies slippers by bed when I'm a guy. No dinner reservation till after 9pm. Spa closed early so couldn't use. Public areas not maintained well - floorboards up and peeling railings everywhere. Trash left in trees and public walkways . Tiles missing in hot tub. Wood not maintained on bungalows by lagoon so looks scruffy. Staff and food excellent, obviously owners not investing in the Banyan Tree to keep it maintained as you would expect from expensive luxury resort. They need to learn from Aman resort!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Absolutely loved staying there. Great Hotel, Great Staff, Exceptional views of the ocean. Clean beaches... Loved the golf course. Great Spa service. Good food and a variety of cuisines! LOVED every minute of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Quiet getaway

Posted Jul 27, 2014
This a a great hotel if you are trying to actually have real rest and relaxation. Not an all inclusive mega resort. Private pool with the villa was a great way to spend alone time with the spouse. Great food and great service. I like this hotel better than the rosewood mayakoba.