Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Perfect.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Perfect staff very very good manner.
Cons: If my trip can be longer lol
Location: There's a very nice beach near by and good boat tour.
It will give you a wow feeling. Super nice staff, everything is nice. You can pick any thing on the menu and it will taste great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Piece of HEAVEN!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The service! Every time we requested something they were there in a blink of an eye.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The location is perfect! You don't even need to leave the resort!
This place is a little piece of heaven! My boyfriend and I went for my birthday and they made it not only the best birthday but the best vacation ever! The place itself is in impeccable condition, neat and well maintained. From the moment we stepped foot on the resort the staff made us feel like royalty! The staff is very attentive and are always one step of you! They are also very respectful and always address you by last name. Our room was so modern and chic, not to mention our private pool and bathtub! I could go on and on about this hotel but it is something you have to experience for yourself! Everyone has to go at least once in their life to this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

The Banyan experience lives on in Mexico

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The staff, nature and general tranquility
Cons: Dining options
Location: Playa del Carmen for more dining options
Our first visit to Mexico and we thought we would try a trusted hotel chain. We were not disappointed. For those wanting great weather, pampering, a dose of nature and a good beach, the Banyan tree is the answer. The walk to the beach from the main hotel could be a little daunting for some, but we did it a coupe of times a day and really enjoyed the wonderful wildlife in the lagoons. Staff were brilliant if a little over attentive sometime due to low occupancy. Downsides - beach had a little seaweed which staff dealt with daily - because of low season, hotel had a conference full of guys which made the peace of an excellent Banyan breakfast a little like a staff canteen - The dinner choices are a little limited but of very high quality but a taxi ride away is excellent Playa del Carmen Upsides - the staff, the villa tranquillity, nature, food and of course the spa And if this was a low wet season, we hardly saw a cloud and no rain the whole week. Overall - excellent
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from L

So wanted to love it!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
On arriving - AC not working in room so floor is wet. Outside lights by private pool and roof deck not working. Jets in private hot tub not working. Ladies slippers by bed when I'm a guy. No dinner reservation till after 9pm. Spa closed early so couldn't use. Public areas not maintained well - floorboards up and peeling railings everywhere. Trash left in trees and public walkways . Tiles missing in hot tub. Wood not maintained on bungalows by lagoon so looks scruffy. Staff and food excellent, obviously owners not investing in the Banyan Tree to keep it maintained as you would expect from expensive luxury resort. They need to learn from Aman resort!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Absolutely loved staying there. Great Hotel, Great Staff, Exceptional views of the ocean. Clean beaches... Loved the golf course. Great Spa service. Good food and a variety of cuisines! LOVED every minute of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Quiet getaway

Posted Jul 27, 2014
This a a great hotel if you are trying to actually have real rest and relaxation. Not an all inclusive mega resort. Private pool with the villa was a great way to spend alone time with the spouse. Great food and great service. I like this hotel better than the rosewood mayakoba.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A honeymoon getaway in Paradise!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
From the moment you step out of your transport, you are treated like there is no other guest there but you. Tranquility is their business and they do it VERY well. Look for our host Vicenté, he was wonderful! Visited June 29th to July 4th 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Awesome as always! Third visit and always same experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by avivero

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juan from Washington dc

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Excellent and beautiful hotel, great staff and the rooms are great. Recommended to go as a couple with no kids. The food was great.