Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Quiet getaway

Posted Jul 27, 2014
This a a great hotel if you are trying to actually have real rest and relaxation. Not an all inclusive mega resort. Private pool with the villa was a great way to spend alone time with the spouse. Great food and great service. I like this hotel better than the rosewood mayakoba.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A honeymoon getaway in Paradise!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
From the moment you step out of your transport, you are treated like there is no other guest there but you. Tranquility is their business and they do it VERY well. Look for our host Vicenté, he was wonderful! Visited June 29th to July 4th 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Awesome as always! Third visit and always same experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juan from Washington dc

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Excellent and beautiful hotel, great staff and the rooms are great. Recommended to go as a couple with no kids. The food was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greg from Houston, TX

A quiet sactuary in the middle of the jungle.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The serene location and the overall layout. We are not those people who want to be in the crowd, this hotel's layout made all the difference.
Cons: Better service for issues out of our control.
Location: Everything was with a 10-15 minute drive; this included Xplor, Xcaret, Yucatan ATV Explorer (Highly Recommended)
I have traveled extensivley and i have to say this is a place that has met almost all of the expectations from the location, the design, the amenties, and the layout. There is a little to be left desired from a service perspective, we had puddled water in our villa upon arrival and each day it rained heavily more. I felt that this could have been handled differently by offering us other villa or regular checkins as promised each day it rained. But we managed to take care of it daily with some 30 odd towels. Besides that everything else was fine. They could use a few more golf carts for pick-ups, but they did have bikes for rent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mauricio Pinto

Luxury, indulgence and beachside.

Posted May 31, 2014
Overall the hotel was excellent. My only recommendation would be to have a more financially feasible restaurant available. The only way to dine in this hotel is to pay a hefty fee. The dining in the hotel was absolutely amazing, however for a long state the price of the stay overall can build up as you eat. The spa is fantastic. The beach is beautiful. If you want to pay a little more the rosewood mayacoba is a little bit better. This hotel was fantastic, will come back likely in the next year. I recommend looking with breakfast included. We took a bottle of wine and vodka and saved on alcohol in our room. Overall, you pay a big price tag for your stay but it is well worth it if you want total indulgence and luxury. Again, I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from New York City

The most relaxing place you can be

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Comfort of room, amazing architecture, spa.
Cons: Maybe integrating their beach with other resorts in Mayakoba.
Location: 5th Avenue is a 20minute cab away with many restaurants. The Spa is a MUST visit when at Mayakoba.
Banyan Tree Mayakoba has truly blown our expectations out of the water. The staff, along with the ridiculous sense of comfort that our Luxury Villa brought, truly made our experience great. This is my second trip to a Banyan Tree (first being the one in Bintan) and I can say that they did a very good job keeping the standard high. My only reservation heading back to New York after the trip was that the water by the beach was not as clear as I would have hoped. The resort itself, however, beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pengxi from NY

Best hotel ever.

Posted May 26, 2014
Fantastic resorts. Everything is excellent. Far more better than Fairmont Mayakoba.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from California LA

Excellent paradise experience

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: service and security and great location
Cons: Making a Casual lunch place were i can spend less than 100 dollars for lunch, Taking away the 16% included because I will tip an extra 20$ every time
the staff makes you feel like really welcome and the go over and beyond to meet your needs not to mention the resort is a paradise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't beat this place.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Every villa comes with a private pool, most of the rooms are not close to the beach but the resort provides multiple methods to transport yourself there free of charge. We preferred to take the boat ride through the mangrove every day, it was spectacular viewing the wildlife en route to the quiet beach area. The staff is incredibly responsive to everything you need. There is no reason to every want to leave the resort property. The only drawback would be the limited restaurant options and the high cost of the prepared food, but Banyan Tree will drive you to the other resorts on the property for dinner and drive you back home, complimentary! Get the breakfast buffet option, it's well worth it and available until at least noon, so you don't have to worry about sleeping in. Can't say enough about the experience, can't wait to go back.