Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Everything was very clean and neat, almost nothing out of place.
Cons: The food at the buffet was good, but needs more variety.
It seems everything at the Maya Beach was rebuilt. The pool, walkways, rooms, etc seemed new. They are rebuilding the hotel next door, the Caribe, but the construction noise and dust were kept to a minimum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Paradise!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Everything went well. Exellent service, beautiful beach.love it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, BC

Nice older all inclusive hotel on a lovely beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was amazing and the beach was awesome!
Cons: Put real frozen fruit in the cocktails. Cool down the pool during really hot times of the year. Make the gym more appealing by having proper a/c.
Location: Swimming with Whale Sharks was great! Rio Secreto was pretty cool. Xel-ha was okay but the water was too murky so hard to see the fish.
The staff was excellent and worked very hard every day. The resort is fairly large but we never had a problem finding a place to sit on the beach or by the pool. The rooms are older and could use some updating especially in the bathroom. One negative comment would be that I was very disappointed with the cocktails (pina coladas, dirty monkeys, daiquiris etc). They were so sweet and obviously not made with real fruit but with a liquid syrup/liquor of some kind. Also, we visited in July which is a very hot time of the year, and the pool was way too warm...it didn't cool you off at all...so not refreshing in any way but not sure how that can be changed. Also the gym was too far away in the other resort and not properly air conditioned so never used it as we planned to. Lastly, we really missed there being no vendors on the beach as we love to converse and buy from them. Overall though, we had a loverly vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fenton, Mi

Paradise!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
This resort was amazing !! The food was great at the a la cart restaurants, the buffet was good for a buffet, could have had better quality but overall was good. The premium club package was WELL worth the extra $$.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Food at the buffet could be better, friendlier bartenders at the pool.
Beautiful hotel by the beach, grounds are very clean and well kept, the beach by itself is well worth the stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto,CAN

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 9, 2014
The hotel was beautiful. It was located right on the beach and the views are breathtaking. The only two negatives was the buffet-style food which served the same food everyday, and the moisture musty state of the rooms. Overall my stay there was wonderful and I would gladly stay at the same resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu, California

Beautiful beach setting

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Our suite was beautiful and comfortable. We had a view of the pool area and the beach. We watched the World Cup in the bar.
Location: We went to Rio Secreto---amazing experience in the caves! Very close to hotel. We also went to Xel-Ha, where we had a great time snorkeling.
We upgraded our room to a corner suite---was amazing! Pool area was fantastic with a swim-up bar. Food was very good, especially the pasta dishes. Beach was clean and water was crystal clear!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place and great service

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Wiil return to this resort again, very impressed with the service, overall we had a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Don't worry about 70 or 80 percent chance of storms. We were there for 8 days nothing but sun except for a 2 minute down pour on one day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by westman from suburban Chicago

Beautiful resort, gorgeous beach !

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The layout, the tropical feel, the beach, the pool areas, the landscape, overall beauty and great staff.
Cons: Are you kidding? Maybe ask those people from the negative reviews. But they are probably busy now whining about something.That's just what they do.
Location: Can't tell about things to do nearby simply because we had plenty to do within the resort.
We have been to the Rivera Maya 5 times within the past 10 years and this was our first resort we visited twice. The beach, the pool areas, the gardens, are just picture perfect and the reasons we returned to this place and brought some more friends. The staff are the most friendly people you can meet on any vacation, from the reception desk, the waiters and waitresses in the restaurants, the entertainment team, to the maids cleaning your rooms, and everybody in between. Add the fantastic weather (16-23 May) and you have a recipe for a great vacation you've been waiting for. And please !!!!!!! do not, and I repeat, do not !!! listen to any negative reviews you may read anywhere about this resort. They are written by people who are just born to complain about anything they can think of, I mean anything in their everyday life. Stay away from them! The chances are you live in some smaller or bigger North American city, town or village. The weather is so so, your everyday life is so so, but you worked hard and finally you go for your vacation you've been waiting for, you are in Mexican Rivera Maya! Enjoy! Be happy! Be positive! Be thankful! You are lucky you could afford it because maybe your neighbor or friend couldn't ! And one more thing, when you submit a review of a resort, please do not write about your problems at the airport, missed flight etc., honestly I don't care about it, and you are on the wrong website. The resort has nothing to do with it. Stick to the subject.