Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Newyorker from New York, NY

Overall I will give this resort 4 out of 5.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Everything else is nice.
Cons: Rooms require renovations.
Location: Shopping
We had a good time, no major complains. Resorts location is great too. About 1 hour form The Cancun airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pam & Chris from River Falls, WI

Great Place!

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Great beach, friendly staff, clean property.
Cons: Wish it had rooms with ocean views.
Location: One hour from airport, close to Playa. Would highly recommend booking airport transportation through Expedia using Best Day Travel!
This is our second trip to Barceló, last year we stayed at the Maya Caribe which was nice but this year we got upgraded to the Maya Beach which we liked much better, it was quitter and not so far to walk to our favorite spot on the beach and pool. We were surprised to see they added new buildings and also a "swim with the dolphins" pool...my teenage girls has a blast doing that! Overall, this place was very fun for our family of 5...lot's of things to do for everyone! The property is very well kept and the service was excellent, staff is very friendly, food was good and fresh. We took a one day trip (Mayan Adventure) - snorkeling, jumping/zip lining into fresh water lagoon and swimming in a cave which we booked through Best Day Travel service...highly recommend the trip...our guide Jessie was the greatest, made it really fun for everyone! We'll be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mex J & J from Minnesota

Barcelo 2014 stay... Awesome, except for S.B. kids

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Grounds, staff friendliness, layed back vibe.
Cons: The biggest change we've seen over the years is the number of spring breakers. They took over the pool @ the "Tropical" section. Very annoying!!!!!
Location: Cenotes to swim in across street, tours to Mayan ruins, zip lines, para sailing, snorkeling tours, 4 wheeling, trips to 5th ave in Playa del Carmen.
Stayed @ Barcelo Maya Caribe 3-26 to 4-9. 7th time to this property and when we mentioned this, we were upgraded to a Club Premium room, which are the rooms that face the carribean sea. Was another great trip! "Beach" section was remodeled since last year to include new lobby, lobby bar, pool area and dolphinarium added. "Caribe" section to be renovated this year and work has already begun in area just off the lobby between "Caribe" and "Colonial" sections. Hope they let the jungle areas between hotel buldings at the sections grow back in post renovations, as this provides privacy as well as nice views of greenery and wildlife. Everything was wonderful and staff were great and worked hard to make sure everyone had a good time and always said "hola" as you passed them going to and fro. The beaches, pools and grounds were kept well maintained. Lots of room to relax o the beach and never felt we were crowded. Only negative is the S.B. kids being allowed needs to be corrected immediately! They took over the top end "Tropical" section's pool and there were 200 to 250, (I counted) + climbing all over the bar area and packed near it. Got so out of hand that hotel security had to intervene and cut off wrist bands of rowdy S.B. kids several times, which cost $50.00 to replace. We ended up avoiding this pool, as we didn't want to deal with it. It's sad really because we love this resort and don't want the experience ruined and end up going somewhere else because of rowdy drunk kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Denver

Beautiful gardens and nice hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Beautiful beach and clean pools
Cons: More reservation dinner options for times that work for families
Location: Lots to do with Dolphins, snorkeling and scuba diving was great. The Cenote's were a must see.
We had a great family vacation. This hotel is very nice with lots to do and great for kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh Pa

Awesome !!!

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Beach and pools !!!
Cons: Offer free Wi Fi and more allow guest to choose any restaurant!!!! Keep food warmer !!!
Location: Great location 20 mins from Playa Del Carmen.
Beautiful resort complex !! Awesome beach and pools !!! The food at the resort was usually not hot enough but had quite a alot of choices to please everyone. The only complaint was that for 6 nights stay we only were allowed 2 non buffet reservations and that was for the Mexican and Spanish resturants.... we were not even offered the Steak..Seafood..or Italian.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Everything!Great,but you never have to leave,unless you go on tours,very save resort.
Beautiful,great food,wonderful pools(warm),plenty to do and drink! For families Caribe is the place to be,plenty for children of all ages there and at the sister resorts,that you can walk to or take the free shutle,plus the dolphins on the property. Food was excellent,buffets at all 4resorts, plus grills at the beach,you never go hungry. Your pics and descriptions are good,this resort is so much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by GS from Boston, MA

Perfect getaway for our family.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: attention to detail was wonderful.
Cons: letting the guests know what activities are available when you arrive, not having to figure it out as we went along
What a great experience. Barcelo Maya Beach was a wonderful surprise for all of us. It had a nice selection of activities for both the kids and adults and enough for us to do a lot or nothing at all. The facility was beautiful. It is very well maintained. The food was good and the selection was always plentiful. The staff at the resort were always helpful and accommodating. The beach and pools were beautiful. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Farmington Hills, MI

50th Anniversary

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stayed within the facilities and did not venture out.
We took our adult children and their spouses and just loved our experiences and will likely go back. The hotel was clean and our rooms were great. We suggest the Superior Premium. The restaurants were excellent and service was great. Even the buffets were excellent and we used them for breakfast and lunch. The grounds were kept immaculate as was the beach. We sailed Hobicats, kayaks and the tricycle water bikes. The all inclusive was really all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dk from Québec City

Clean, as always

Posted Dec 30, 2013
This is our third visit to this hotel, because it is clean, on the beach and has a wide range of things to do. The only negative is the distance from the airport.