Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Paradise in Mexico

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The Barcelo is about half way between Tulum, which is a must see, and Playa Del Carmen.
This is our 2nd stay at the Barcelo Riviera Maya. We absolutely love this place! The staff is friendly & helpful, the grounds are gorgeous, the food is plentiful & amazing, pools are ginormous, and you are just steps from the beach. This property is made up of 5 hotels, 2 of which are under renovation, and from what I saw are going to be wonderful. These were the lower priced hotels. We stayed at the mid priced Tropical. Neat, clean, but I have a feeling this hotel & it's sister are next on the renovation list. We will be returning for our 3rd stay in 2 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olathe, KS

Posted Oct 6, 2014
My wife and I went here on our delayed honeymoon. He had the best time of our lives! We both didnt want to leave and can not wait to go back. Even with a full hotel, you would never know it, everything is so spread out and there is plenty of room. Loved the wait staff at each place to eat. Again, loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aloha, Oregon

Excellent vacation

Posted Oct 3, 2014
We stayed 9 nights and were upgraded to one of the two buildings in the Pa lace. It was grand, swimming with the turtles right out front was special. The food was good but became repetitive after a few days. They need to increase the variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel great bars and real close to the beach

Posted Sep 28, 2014
It was great except for the rain beautiful property great food could use more daytime activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Nice Family Vacation Spot

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: food, entertainment, nightly dining
Cons: nothing
Location: Great location about 45 minutes south of Cancun. Everything at the hotel is conveniently located.
Overall our stay was enjoyable. The staff was very attentive in all facets from check-in to check-out. We'd recommend Barcelo Colonial/Tropical to any family wanting fun in the sun and on the beach. All inclusive is the only way to go. The food was great so be prepared to add a few pounds. Most enjoyable was the special restaurants that were also included for a first class eating experience at dinner. We would have rated the entire experience Excellent, but we did experience problems with the air-conditioner in our room; however, the staff did resolve the issue in a timely manner. Again, a great family vacation spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beautiful beach, hotel service mediocre at best.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
15th trip to Cancun, 8th trip to this hotel. Beach is beautiful! Service has declined so much, it's sad. Used to be my favorite. Good luck getting coffee or water. Maid did an excellent job. Ocean view room was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barceló Tropical- Riviera Maya

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Staff and variety of food and restaurants and room cleanliness.
Cons: The pool needs better maintenance.
Hotel is well kept up and staff is friendly and accommodating,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great place for families

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Celebrated my husbands 40th with our family. We were a total of 11 people and I feel that we were given the best service by all staff members. From decorating our room the day of his bday to making reservations for private dinners and spa packages,,,truly exceptional service. Yanere was my point person and she was absolutely EXCELLENT
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

My whole family had a blast !!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Food, room , beach
Cons: front desk a slow at check inn and some agents a little rude
Location: A lot of options to do and to visit , Chichenitza , tulum , etc
It was great vacation and good time , the hotel has a lot of things to do , is clean . I was at the Barcelo Palace an it is amazing !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Moved to the Beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
We were upgraded to a Jr Suite at the Barcelo Maya Beach. It was wonderful. Only issue was the hair dryer didn't work. They sent someone to look at but never fixed or replaced it. Moisture and musty smell in rooms was bearable and not too bad for being in a tropical location. We were greated with smiles everywhere and saw some of the hardest working staff there. Facility maintenance was priority. Food, Beach etcetera were excellent. Already planning our next trip.