Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Beautiful Resort. Staff in are so nice and friendly . great food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Very nice hotel, family friendly. Needs some work on the buffets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, Washington

Hotel facilities are nice but room is old

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The hotel has big pools, nice beach. The staff in the buffet and grill & bar restaurants are very friendly, good service and hardworking.
Cons: They need to improve the service at the check in desk specially the lady supervisor (on the day I check in 4/12/15) was very rude and unwillingness.
Location: 30 minutes from Tulum and Playa del Carmen. 1 hours from Cancun Airport
We were enjoy the beach and the weather. The hotel has shopping mall, nice buffet and Grill & Bar restaurants. We book for 6 nights at this hotel. We can access to 4 buffet restaurants and some of the grill & bar near the beach but we were only able reserve for 2 dinners at the A La Cart Restaurant. We were disappointed with the service at check in desk. They need to improve in the area. When we check in, our room was not available until around 4:30 pm, the shower head in our room was broken. They sent someone to take a look, but he was unable to fix it. He told us to ask the check in desk for a different room. We came back to the check in desk and asked for a different room but the check in desk supervisor was very rude and unwilling to switch us to another room. She needs to improve her customer service skill. Other service staff at the restaurants are very nice, friendly and hardworking. We like the hotel facilities but not so much about the room (the room is more like 3 stars hotel).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
We had a gr eat trip. Very spacious resort, always free chairs and clean beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Amazing Resort

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The beach was beautiful.
Cons: Staff at the front desk could be more friendly and helpful.
We had a great time at barcelo. The resort is huge, plenty of activities and things to do. Bars in the caribe side was very nice and the buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala city, Guatemala

Large hotel in front of beach, great pools

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: In front to the beach, great pools, lots of activities (non-beach) like bowling (great alley!!) and a sports bar, stores, mini-golf and evening shows.
Cons: There is a section in the rooms that is not facing the sun. These rooms are very humid and need A LOT more ventilation. Pillows need to be changed!
Location: Tulum, Xcaret and many other tours are offered. But staying at the hotel is pleasing as well, lots to do, nice shows, great for young children.
We travelled with a 6 and a 4 yr old. The hotel is a complex of about 5 hotels in 1, we were told by Expedia that our hotel was Barcelo Colonial and then were moved to Barcelo Tropical. They mainly are the same. Some of the complex has been renovated, Tropical and Colonial haven't. Our hotel had some section of the rooms never facing the sun, which meant they were very humid. We asked to move to a 2nd floor room and it did improve a bit. Pillows in the rooms were stinky, humid. We got 3 passes for family dinners at specialty restaurants, which was a great treat. We loved the Japanese and Steakhouse, the Seafood one could improve. They have a recently built "Maya mall" with nice cool shops, and a great bowling alley. All inclusive food (buffet) and drinks were above average quality and never too crowded facilities. The evening shows were OK, some could be more family-oriented (Circus was great). There is a Dolphinarium in one of the hotels with a free 20-min show, that was cool. Water sports variety at the beach could improve (only had kayaks, windsurf, volleyball, soccer and snorkeling try-out at the pools). It would be great to have children activities at the pool. At the Tropical they have a great pool area for small kids up to 12 with water sleds and lots of fun. Overall, the extra facilities were great and fun, there's quite a variety of things to do other than beach and pool, food and drink were good, and the rooms can improve (humidity issue).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Family vacation spot.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: clean, nice people and has everything you want at the one location.
Cons: Mattress for the beds
Location: Cenotes are nice.
The best kept grounds and facility in all Mexico vacations I have taken.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great infrastructure, not that great service

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Infrastructure
Cons: Service, room humidity, food variety, restaurant reservation system, charges to different activities (it is not an All Inclusive, you pay many things)
Location: Good location, the problem is the beach (water) is not the best. Close to Tulum and Playa del Carmen (30 min drive)
The hotel is great in terms of its infrastructure... Great pool, children areas, paddle, surfing wave, paddle, dolphins, bowling, etc. However, personnel is not very focused on solving customers issues, they just stick to "I'm sorry, please talk to..." or "This in not something I can do for you" Rooms are fine but very humid and the beach is not as transparent as its shown in the pictures (It has lots of sea plants and stuff like that) Food is good, not the best I've tried. It could have more Caribbean variety such as more shrimps, mango, etc. The restaurant system is not very efficient
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The resort was wonderful, however, when we tried to check in they told us that all the rooms were full in the section we paid for and tried to put us in a building the farthest away. I think they either overbooked the rooms or resold them before we got there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midwest USA

Beautiful weather but Disappointing.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: The beach was nice and there were plenty of chairs available. The food at the specialty restaurants was good. The lobby and overall decor was nice.
Cons: Evening entertainment, buffet food bland and cold, bars kept running out of supplies and were understaffed.
Location: The resort is 90 minutes south of the Cancun airport. It is located on a nice beach with zip lining & shopping at Playa Del Carmen within 30 minutes.
This is a large resort that caters to families and young adults. You need to be prepared to do a lot of walking. Other than the buffets, all the other restaurants require reservations well in advance. These restaurants have limited seating so it is hard to get into them unless you book days in advance. The rooms are pretty standard. Our air didn't work even after repeated requests to get it fixed. The door lock broke our first night and we had three irons that didn't work either. The tv channels are mostly all in Spanish and no US sports.