Ratings based on 938 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Nice hotel and staff, close to beach. Nice pools

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Proximity to beach. Use of the 5 hotels on property. Enjoyed all of the pools.
Cons: Time spent at the Registration desk, better internet, beds are a little on the 'hard side'.
Location: Ruins are accessible...a little long to get to some...but nice transportation is available. Lots of activities nearby.
We really enjoyed our stay. The only complaint we had were the amount of time we always had to stand in line to check in, make dinner reservations, check out, etc. Staff was courteous and friendly. Would be nice to have the internet included in room fees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Νice hotel close to the beach. Excellent facility.

Posted May 24, 2015
Many options to dine . Big complex. Kids friendly. Great food options . Staff very friendly and helpful. Only issue was the mugginess of the room. The smell was overwhelming at times.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
It was out second time staying at the Palace and everything was great. We'll definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OKC, OK

Beautiful beach front resort

Posted May 21, 2015
Very large resort with abundance of marine life, to include on site dolphin show. The resort has wonderful food, speacialty restaurants, bowling ally and shopping mall and shops. You can spend the entire vacation on the resort and never run out of things to do. Numerous activities for children and adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle

Nice hotel, cleam, kids friendly. Will come back.

Posted May 16, 2015
Loved to stay there. Beach was ok, pools are great, so were the rooms and other ammenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Great resort

Posted May 12, 2015
Beautiful beach , gorgeous grounds awesome rooms . Some of the staff a little less than friendly . Plenty to do or not to do . Music by main pool a little irritating . Thank god for the adult pool . It was very nice . A la carte food was very good. Buffet not so good . Felt like the same food over and over again . Loved the ftench restaurant and the new Japanese .brazillian could have been better ,food there was pretty good . Service was lousy , all in all I would still go back . Way more good than bad .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Something for everyone

Posted May 11, 2015
We stayed this past week and while I'd read all of the positive and negative comments and those in-between, I was hopeful. Our check in wasn't horrible, but our room wasn't ready, so they changed it several times. We ended up waiting 45 minutes, but it gave us time to make dinner reservations and book wi-fi at $35 for 5 nights. The wi-fi is for the room, lobby and theaters only…it did work in some of the buffet restaurants as well, but the signal was weak. The rooms were nice and worked well for our family with two young children. However, the beds were unreal!! This may be our biggest complaint and what would keep us from going back. After the first night, my husband and I both said that they were tolerable and we'd be okay, but by night 3 we had significant back pain. By nights 4 and 5, we were ready to go home. We did a couples massage on the beach-probably one of the best I've had (may've been because of the beds). The ocean was extremely rough with lots of seaweed. Many repeat visitors said it's never been that bad, but the staff did an amazing job keeping the chairs clean and walking the pools/beach. The food was okay…both my husband and I got sick on day 3 and still haven't recovered. We had to laugh when we saw all the gift shops were out of Immodium. We went to a few shows and swam with the dolphins, both good experiences. When 600+ corporate visitors showed up mid-week though, it changed our thoughts on making this a repeat location due to the noise and parties.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really beautiful hotel and beach

Posted May 9, 2015
Waiting to check in was the only downfall, it took forever, they were very slow!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2015
Great experience. Vacation with extended family to celebrate 70th Birthday. The staff was superb and the resort spotless.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Barcelo Maya Palace, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. I want to first thank you for the time you took to write all your good experience you had during your visit, it is a pleasure to know that your holiday with us was amazing. Once again, thank you for your review and I hope you give us an opportunity of serving you again in the future. Yours sincerely Armando Becerra M. General Manager Barceló Maya Palace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

The best all inclusive holiday

Posted May 3, 2015
Facilities are immaculate and to a very high standard! The food and alcohol was wonderful and the variety was very impressive! The resort is massive with loads to do. The reception and guest services were quite slow but the rest makes up for it. I can highly recommend this resort to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2015 by Barcelo Maya Palace, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Mon . Thank you for your visit and for your positive review. We are happy to know that you had a great holiday. we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and you live this beautiful Paradise. Best regards. Armando Becerra M. General Manager Barceló Maya Palace