Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Excellent location with many amenities to enjoy

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: It's a mini paradise with luscious gardens. Loved the palm trees along the beach that provide a nice shade and the activities around the swimming pool
Cons: I wish the hotel had a 24 hour sport bar like the one in Punta Cana to get coffee/pastry befoer an early tour. A heated Jacuzzi would be wonderful.
Location: It's located about 1 hour from Cancun. I like it because it's surrounded by jungle instead of a city, but close to all kinds of tour sites/activities
The service is outstanding. However, we had requested a double-bed room and got a king size-bed with a sofa for our daughter. They offered to switch us the next morning but we were too tired to change rooms. Got as many towels as we needed and they provided big dispensers with shampoo, conditioner, and body wash that were really handy. The variety of food in the buffets were incredible, very fresh, and well prepared.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, enjoyed the beach.

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: The shower, the beach and Angie.
Cons: A golf course or reasonable transportation to one.
We picked the rainy season, but it was still very lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Awesome experienced !!!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: People and food
Cons: Their mattress can be a little rough
Location: Xplor was an amazing place to go
It exceeded all my expectentions, people were really and pleasant. Food and bar were delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

One of the best Resorts we have been to!

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Softer Beds
Location: Resort has plenty to do.
This was our third time in Cancun. We have two children 1 & 5, they had a blast on the beach and the water parks for the resort. The staff made the expierience great by always smiling and being helpful. The food was excellent and drink were amazing. I have been to El Dorado Royal, The Hard Rock in Cancun and this resort is easily up there with the two, if not better. I would highly reccomend this resort. TIP- although it is an All Inclusive resort, I highly recommend tipping, you will receive the red carpet treatment. Take an extra $50 in ones and tip. $1 goes a long way in pesos and the staff are very grateful for the tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sauk Rapids, MN

Great place to relax and vacation with family

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Gardens, pools, beach, snorkeling and family oriented resort.
Cons: The shows only.
Location: Location is great away from Cancun and Playa del Carmen. There is no need to leave the facility, unless you want to go visit Mayan ruins.
This is the 4th time my family and I have visited Barceló Maya Palace and as always great service, foods, gardens, excellent rooms. The shows need to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Can't imagine a place more perfect!

Posted Oct 22, 2014
We stayed at the Barcelo Palace for the second time over thanksgiving, the first being our honeymoon 5 years ago. It again exceeded our expectations! Perfection best describes it although the kids park was closed which was inconvenient having our kids along.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

WOW !!!!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Amazing proper all inclusive hotel, excellent friendly staff who can't do enough for you, restaurants were so good with great menus, my personal favourite was the French. The buffet was very good as well with live cooking, highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Maya Palace

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: The only down side to this resort was the beds. They were hard and very uncomfortable. They definitely need to invest in higher quality matresses.
This was my second time to visit Barcelo Maya Palace, and we will definitely make it an annual vacation! The food is excellent, the pools are exceptional, and the beach is not crowded and very enjoyable. The service was flawless! Everyone is so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garcia

Best hotel experience ever!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We had only viewed pictures of the hotel, and we taught it looked nice. However, nice does not make justice to this hotel. The place is awesome, breathtaking and extremely well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Met all expectations

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The room's beds were comfortable. I have read plenty of reviews that knock the beds as being hard and uncomfortable. I like a stiff bed.
Cons: Some staff seem preoccupied or a tad annoyed that they had to grill a hamburger or get you a drink. This was not the majority, but you noticed.
Location: We took an excursion where they picked you up at the resort. So, I couldn't really rate the location. It is 1 hour + from the airport.
Where do I begin!? Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe was a wonderful place to stay. From what I understand, this resort in particular is the highest on the tier level at the Barcelo Maya property in Puerto Aventuras. Our wristband allowed us to eat and drink for free anywhere - on all 3 properties. I understood that the other 2 properties - Tropical and Colonial could not access our property, which was the Palace. We did go to one of the other properties one night because we wanted to eat the Hibachi, which was not offered on our grounds. We had access to all of their restaurants, but they had NO access to our place at all. In contrast, I found the Palace to have a higher notch clientele and it was less crowded and less kids. The Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe offered a 24 hour bar which also offered snacks much of that 24 hours. Expect heavy snacks and sandwiches to be offered buffet style (albeit small) beginning at midnight until 5 am. We had an excursion we were leaving for one morning and I stopped in the 24 hour bar and ordered a shot of vodka to get the "fun going" and sure enough - they delivered! When in the world would you ever do that again in your life? Couldn't pass it up. As for the dining.... I find it so interesting (and curious) that NO ONE tips! I had money that I set aside for tips at this place, but either the staff was uninterested in accepting or they simply had NO change - anywhere! No one gets tips! It's like a twilight zone.