Ratings based on 882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great resort even on our 3rd visit

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: nice beach and pools. tons of activities for the kids and the whole family.
Cons: the dinner reservation system is broken. this is by far the biggest turn off this resort has. need to make it better.
2 adults and 2 kids during president week. had a great time. food is good. beach is nice and clean and staff is polite. it's our 3rd visit and we'll definitely come back for more. They need to improve the hotel dinner reservation system and not have you wait hours for a single guest services rep only to find out all of the restaurants are sold out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Amazing resort

Posted Mar 2, 2015
This is a superb establishment. Very clean, excellent staff, and more activities and real estate than we knew what to do with. Food and drink was top notch as well. Stayed at the Palace, and our room was amazing. Top shelf liquor and 3 exclusive restaurants also came automatic with a Palace stay. The only negative is the house wine was sup par, especially the white. However, they sell nice wines by the bottle if you want something better. Overall an unbelievable experience. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom from boston

Awesome vacation experience

Posted Mar 1, 2015
My wife and I stayed at the barcelo maya palace from 2/21 thru 2/28. We had a spectacular time we have stayed at a lot of properties in Mexico and the Caribbean including Turks and Caicos, cancun numerous times playa del Carmen, cabo, St. Lucia, Antigua and many times in jamacia. We always stay at all inclusive resorts we've stayed at Riu's Sandals and iberoatars. The reason we picked the Barcelo is because I read a lot of reviews and found not many bad ones and it was a last minute trip so my other choices were booked. I am so glad because this place was awesome the food was probably some of the best I've ever had at any resort. the staff was exceptional the grounds were always immaculate and this place is huge the room was absolutely beautiful the only problem I did have was the bed I just couldn't get comfortable but it was a small issue and I can't wait to go back again
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston,mass

Hotel lacks good maintenance.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Food was good,house wine all inclusive was terrible and then they tried to sell you their wine which was expensive.Water park wave runner extra cost.
Cons: They need better preventive maintenance and trained techs who speak English,press one for English.
Location: not much to see.
First room AC not working properly,it took four complaints for the Hotel to move unto anothe room.New room hair dryer short circuit shut off all lights in room.took five calls to get it fixed,then AC leaked thru ceiling onto floor,I slipped on floor,more maintenance men who speak no English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Wonderful all-inclusive!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Amenities, activities, cleanliness, staff.
Cons: Staff in the Club Premium lounge were unfriendly/unhelpful. Unfortunate for the highest level of stay, really. Main lobby staff were much better.
Location: Tulum Ruins, Cenotes
We had a great week at the Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe. Resort, pools and beach all fantastic! Lots to do for all ages. Food was equal too and/or better than other all-inclusive resorts we have been too. Buffets were average to good and specialty restaurants were very good to excellent. No complaints at all of food. You never go hungry. Plenty of pool-side activities to keep you engaged - only if you want to be. Pools are very large and there are plenty, never felt crowded. Guest rooms were spacious, well kept and very clean. Property as a whole was very well maintained. We would return without hesitation and I will certainly recommend to friends and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom coleman alberta

beach is right there. service was great

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: service, friendly,
Cons: I would like to have warm butter with my seafood
Location: Great location and lots to do
Had a bad meal at seafood restaraunt . My lobster was half raw ane the other half I couldn't cut it with aknife it was over cooked and tough. Room was musty and things were damp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel with less than beautiful staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: comfortable rooms, beautiful beach, multiple options for entertainment on the property
Cons: the service shad options at the beach
Location: the property is a 75 minute drive from cancun airport and there are multiple things to do nearby including tours of Tulum and Xel-ha snorkeling park
the hotel is beautiful with lots to offer. the service across the board was disappointing. from the front desk staff to the bartenders and wait staff. the staff generally seemed unhappy. the bartenders were the worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel with fantastic beach!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Food variety, beach, swimming pools, selection of restaurants, staff friendliness
Cons: 1) Poor design room AC fan control 2) Audio in the entertainment hall ear piercing, 3) Bed not comfortable
Location: Snorkeling in front of the hotel. Actually one can just stand in the waist high water and watch the colorful fish. My wife swam with turtles too.
My wife and I spent 8 days at this hotel and enjoyed our vacation there so much! We will definitely go back! We had stayed in the nearby Playa del Carmen a few times before but we preferred this Barcelo hotel. There are a lot that we liked about this hotel including snorkeling right in front of the hotel. We got a one hour free training on riding a catamaran and then spent half an hour sailing for free. This was our first time and enjoyed it a lot. There were a few things that can be improved: 1) Bed became comfortable only after we complained the second day and a mattress pad was added. 2) Room AC unit fan runs all the time even on auto and that makes the room air too humid. This seems like a design flaw. 3) We could not sit in the entertainment hall more than a few minutes each night as the audio was hurting our ears. We actually like loud music but there was something about the the audio system there. What a shame! The hall is so large with nice programs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Great property! Beautiful beach!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
The only thing I would complain about is that there is no keeping the guests from the other properties from ours. We paid extra to stay at this hotel with the understanding that we can go to the other 4 resorts but they are not supposed to come to ours. The Palace is supposed to be a deluxe resort but why would I pay the higher price when I could book the cheaper properties and still enjoy the deluxe option. Other than that loved the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Excellent Family Resort...

Posted Feb 17, 2015
After a lot of research and investigation we booked this resort as our first attempt to return to an all-inclusive vacation as a family. We have 2 kids; 8 and 2, and it was an unquestionable success due largely to the selection of the Barcelo Maya Palace Delux. As one of 6 resorts on site it offered us the most comfort and flexibility for our family. Our room (Junior Suite Delux with King) was perfect for us with the King and two sofas/day beds. The day beds were large enough for an adult to be comfortable on (I'm 6'6" and had no problem getting comfortable). The wet bathrooms were practical, spacious, and well laid out. Lots of storage in the closets (2 banks), vanity, and benches. No bad views from the rooms as the buildings are so well spaced that you cannot see them through the jungle. The grounds are immaculate and clean. Fountains and paths are everywhere. During our stay we saw agouti, coati, and of course iguanas all around our building. The food was great and the service was sincere and plentiful. The pools and beach were also spacious and well laid out. Plenty of loungers and space. So many things were included that I came home with half of the pesos I brought. At the end of the day we experienced maybe 1/4 of what was available at our part of the resort and the kids were never bored. We will be returning at our earliest convenience as we felt that this resort would still suit our needs as the kids got older.