Ratings based on 681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Michigan

Beautiful hotel with sub-par front desk staff

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Beautiful resort. Worth the price. Breathtaking views, top notch food. Grounds were very clean all the time. Good bar service. Only negatives were front desk staff. Some were not very friendly. They also did not enforce all hotel rules to all guests. Some would be scolded for putting their feet up on lobby couches while others took naps during the day on the couches without being told a word.
2 out of 5
by joe from minneapolis

Great property, terrible service

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Hotel and property were beautiful, however the service was terrible. Lines to anything....to get internet, to speak with concierge, to speak with any at front desk, to get room service, to get a drink at bar and to get information about excursions. Wasted valuable vacation time because a short staff and bad service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joeyi0607 from los angeles

Excellent Service!!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Beautiful and professional location and service. Will definately return..
Beautiful and professional location and service. Will definately return..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel,location, some improvements needed

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The location, pools, beach, grounds were beautiful. Rooms were very spacious, excursions were easy to book.
Cons: The beds are very firm, the sheets and pillows need to be upgraded. The buffet could vary their selection of food. Dinner reservations are difficult
Our experience at the Barcelo Mayan Palace is just what we expected. We went for a family spring break trip with many other families. We read all the reviews before we left and found that were for the most part accurate. The total vacation experience was fabulous because we traveled with family and friends and we kept our expectations to a minimum, so we felt that everything positive was an extra. All the reviews we read said the beds were hard, they were! The sheets and pillows are very basic, one can sleep in it but, it could be upgraded. The buffet had many selections but they would be there every day and the grill line was always long. Dinner reservations were difficult to make and get. Long wait to make reservations in guest services, they needed more people working. We made reservations on the first day we arrived and they were somewhat limited. We eventually got into the restaurants we wanted but, it just was time consuming. The irritating thing was that when you did get in the reservation their was usually open tables that weren't filled. So it is difficult to understand why it was so hard to get the reservation in the first place. Now with that said, we did show up early to our reservation one night and they got us in. We showed up one night with extra people and they did accomodate us, so I felt like they tried to please us. Also, the property is HUGH! An unbelievable amount of walking, and we are walkers so be ready to walk!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Edmonton, Canada

Magnificently designed resort on snorkeling cove

Posted Apr 5, 2014
The resort layout is expansive and the design of each facet is uniquely coordinated for a stunning visual experience of the highest caliber. The restaurant buffets catered to every type of culinary need, with many staff to assist and replenish the dishes as soon as needed. Views of the ocean and beach were spectacular. Activities for everyone, clean premises kept in tiptop condition. We had an absolutely wonderful experience, the only downside was that we didn't plan to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Spring break

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Cons: Adult nightly entertainment.
Great. Staff was excellent -rooms were beautiful and resort had many pools and outside activities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Location: We enjoyed the location and had no issues!
We had a wonderful time! We loved everything about the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MaggieTR from Sunnyvale

Excellent family vacation.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The location, the beach, the buildings, the large pools, the service, and the food.
Cons: This hotel NEEDS to change the mattresses!!!! For that nice hotel to have such bad and hard mattresses... it's a pity.
Location: I recommend the Tulum Jungle Maya Tour from Alltournative. You will visit Tulum, and visit the jungle. Zip-line, rappeling and swim in a cenote.
Very nice resort. Beautiful buildings and grounds. Large clean pools, but good luck finding a chair with shade by the pool. By 7am all chairs by the pool are taken. The beach is spectacular with plenty of sun and shade from the palm trees. You won't have a problem finding chairs. They have a lot! We just came back from spring break and never had a problem finding a good spot by the beach. The service is EXCELLENT! The staff is helpful and very friendly. Also, very responsible. We saw how a 18 years old teenage girl got an alcoholic drink with the intention to pass it to a minor friend and one of the staff from the bar followed her all the way to the beach and took the drinks from them. The food is very good. To our own surprise, the buffets were our favorites! We usually don't go to buffet restaurants. They have great variety of food. Super clean. In an air conditioned area. We were a group of 7 and nobody got sick from the food or drinks. The rooms are spacious with a large bathroom. There is large private balcony/patio in each room with a small patio table and two chairs. The two things I liked the least were the beds (very hard) and the noise level because the walkway down the center of he building creates an echo chamber. You will hear every person walking and talking outside. However, I would highly recommend this hotel. We have a wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Pools, activities, food was great, staff was great, rooms were nice and clean.
Cons: Wine and hard beds, reservations at a la carte restaurants always had to be late
Resort is beautiful. Staff were awesome and helpful. Pools were very nice. The house wine is terrible. The beds were hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful resort

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: How large it was, the beach is awesome and there are tons of pools you can use. Each resort within this resort are very nice.
Cons: Beds are terribly uncomfortable and really tiny pillows. Rooms smell pretty bad from moisture and humidity...they need a vent in bathroom.
Location: Tons so do on the resort and lots to go to outside resort.
If you're looking for a upscale resort with a beautiful beach, pools and lots to do this is the place! This time we stayed at the Palace so we got to use all 5 resorts. This resort is huge! Very clean and kept up and the employees are very hard workers.