Ratings based on 975 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015
This is a very family friendly hotel. Like evryone says, the beds are hard, but it is not terrible. Food was good, Drinks are plentiful. Very easy to get around. Rooms were very cool, we had the ocean view room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL, USA

3 bad issues, 1 horrible. I do not recommend.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The facilities, the beach, and food are really good. It is unfortunate that they had the events and the security issues.
Cons: The entertainment. Besides the cancellations due to corporate events, we felt that they can do way more to keep the guests entertained (beach party).
Location: We went to Chichen Itza, a cenote, and Coco Bongo. All worth it.
Issues to consider (We were a family of 4): - My teenager kids (13 and 15) went to the teenager club ('Uno') and somebody tried to steal my son's watch inside the club. It was a terrible and frightening experience for my son. Hotel has security at the entrance of the place but not inside (they said that they had cameras but obviously that is not enough to avoid these type of situations). This alone is enough reason for me to not recommend this place ever. Thank God my kids were able to leave the place unharmed. - This place has multiple private events that can be very disruptive for the guests: Over the 8 days we stayed, at least 6 days they had weddings or other corporate events where they had to put tables in front of the guests that were enjoying the swimming pool. I had personnel setting up tables ONE foot away from my foot when I was laying by the swimming pool. They do not ask you to move but they make you feel so uncomfortable that you eventually leave the place. In one ocassion the setup started at 2pm, taking most of your PM relax time away. Other private events required the daily shows to be cancelled or moved to smaller locations. Too many disruptions, they do not seem to care for the guests on this regard and you fill that the priority is the private events. - We had a leak in our bathroom. It was resolved within a couple of hours once we reported it but it was problematic and impacted our plans as we could not used the bathroom fully in the AM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great hotel for families with kids. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally Kids friendly hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Service
Cons: Better activities at the kids club.
Location: We didn't went out of the hotel.
We had great vacations, excellence service, nice and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Huge hotel with plenty to do for the whole family

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The grounds are impeccable, good variety of restaurants, more than enough to do, great for a family with kids of various ages.
Cons: Check-in didn't go well, restaurants are always booked, staff not very friendly.
Location: We swam with dolphins, kayaked, went to the mall twice, snorkeled, swam with fish at the pier, played volleyball. So much to do at this resort!
We stayed in the Michoacan building toward the front, near lobby and entrance to beach. Check in didn't go well. We had requested adjoining rooms for our family of five a month in advance and called every week to make sure the request was in the system. The day before, they told us we would have them. When we checked in, they gave us different rooms. Also, we weren't given much information during the check in process about any of the restaurants. We weren't given our resort coupons either. Found guest services staff to be pretty unfriendly but concierge in our building was great. You must, must, must book your restaurants in advance. The indoor buffets are decent, do not go to the buffet at the snack bar/grill. The seafood restaurant was excellent, as was the French. Brazilian was just ok. Wait staff varied greatly each experience, some were excellent (Jesus at Caribe seafood restaurant). Some were downright inattentive, especially at the buffets. Pros: the grounds are beautiful, there is SO much to do, good variety of places to eat, the pools are huge and it never feels crowded anywhere, although the resort was full when we were there. The food at the sit down restaurants was great. Cons: It's a walk to get to everything, the staff could be a bit friendlier (we often stay at Secrets Maroma Beach and they go above and beyond), it's hard to get into restaurants be sure to book as many nights in advance as you can, the beach is a bit rocky, lots of seaweed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret the bad image you have taken during your last visit to the Hotel. It is very important to us to follow our procedures in order to avoid any complaint. We will review your comments with the staff involved on the satisfaction of our guests. Feedback from our guests help us to improve our services day by day. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Honeymoon bliss...

Posted Jul 1, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed our stay! Everyone was friendly, the food was pretty good, the beach was beautiful, and the pillows were very comfy on our room (the bed was pretty firm). We would go back for sure. We just would go a little earlier in the year than June and wouldn't go snorkeling. It drained us for the last 24 hours of our trip. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, The staff will be very happy to know that we succeeded on your expectations and it will be our pleasure to host you again. Thank you again and see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

2nd trip here.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Stayed here 3 years ago. Still lived up to our expectations again. Beach is wonderful, pools are great. Very large resort. Staff was very helpful and always nice. Would go again. Takes about hour to get from Cancun Airport to this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your kindly comments. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your vacations. We hope you had the opportunity to enjoy the new services of the complex. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Bed Nightmare

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Food was great, and beautiful
Cons: Beds and customer service.....If you see a couch cushion on the bed thats a clue that something is wrong.
Location: Lots to do
We were referred by many friends to stay at Barcelo for our honeymoon. We decided on the Palace Deluxe and thought that we would be getting the best of everything. The first night I realized the beds were hard and appeared to be broken on one side. They put a topper on it and said it was fine. I slept on it on night #2 and couldnt sleep, I put the couch cushion on it for the night. Complained the next day, they said they would again send housekeeping up to look. When I got up there they had made the bed with the couch cushion still on it. The switched us rooms, same problem and still made bed over couch cushion. Finally I had enough and raised enough stink to get upgraded to a "Premium" suite. Same room with a pool view. This bed was great....But it took 4 days into our 6 day vacation before I got to really enjoy it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments and let us know the situation you had during your stay. We regret the bad image you have taken during your last visit to the Hotel. It is very important to us to follow our procedures in order to avoid any complaint. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

gorgeous ladies definitely will go back againthis

Posted Jun 26, 2015
This was our third stay in this hotel we will definitely go back in the near future, only thing that I would like to recommend have a better mattress in the bads. traveling from New Jersey
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Feedback from our guests help us to improve our services day by day. We appreciate you took a time to let us know your comments. Best regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

expected better service

Posted Jun 26, 2015
For the price you pay you expect to have good quality food and a nice beach. Wasn't impressed. The beds were too hard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Barcelo Maya Palace Hotel works for the total satisfaction of our customers and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay. We regret you have had problems during your stay. Your comments will help us to continue working on our commitment to continuous improvement and quality standards. Best regards,