Ratings based on 968 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Honeymoon bliss...

Posted Jul 1, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed our stay! Everyone was friendly, the food was pretty good, the beach was beautiful, and the pillows were very comfy on our room (the bed was pretty firm). We would go back for sure. We just would go a little earlier in the year than June and wouldn't go snorkeling. It drained us for the last 24 hours of our trip. Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

2nd trip here.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Stayed here 3 years ago. Still lived up to our expectations again. Beach is wonderful, pools are great. Very large resort. Staff was very helpful and always nice. Would go again. Takes about hour to get from Cancun Airport to this resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Bed Nightmare

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Food was great, and beautiful
Cons: Beds and customer service.....If you see a couch cushion on the bed thats a clue that something is wrong.
Location: Lots to do
We were referred by many friends to stay at Barcelo for our honeymoon. We decided on the Palace Deluxe and thought that we would be getting the best of everything. The first night I realized the beds were hard and appeared to be broken on one side. They put a topper on it and said it was fine. I slept on it on night #2 and couldnt sleep, I put the couch cushion on it for the night. Complained the next day, they said they would again send housekeeping up to look. When I got up there they had made the bed with the couch cushion still on it. The switched us rooms, same problem and still made bed over couch cushion. Finally I had enough and raised enough stink to get upgraded to a "Premium" suite. Same room with a pool view. This bed was great....But it took 4 days into our 6 day vacation before I got to really enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

gorgeous ladies definitely will go back againthis

Posted Jun 26, 2015
This was our third stay in this hotel we will definitely go back in the near future, only thing that I would like to recommend have a better mattress in the bads. traveling from New Jersey
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

expected better service

Posted Jun 26, 2015
For the price you pay you expect to have good quality food and a nice beach. Wasn't impressed. The beds were too hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the first day

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: I like everything
Cons: the food and service in spanish restaurant, la trattoria restaurant and brasilian restaurant
the first day they gave me room with 2 beds, the next day they change room with King bed,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Overall, a decent all-inclusive.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
As with any continued buffet, all the food starts to taste the same and the freshness just isn't there. Didn't like how it's all buffet's (breakfast/lunch) til a reservation required dinners. Hibachi Tokyo restaurant was by far the best. Spanish restaurant was average (appetizers were not good) but steak and lamb entrees weren't bad. Brazilian restaurant is not a continue-bringing-the-meat type place, so be forewarned. Although, my ribeye was very tasty. Beach is sea-weedy and is rocky in some places so be careful. Staff were friendly ad polite. Left the safe open on accident when we left the room one time and nothing was taken. Bed was no joke, hard as a rock, but heard a rumor they're replacing them in late July 2015. Overall, Barcelo Palace is what you'd expect for an all-inclusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice getaway for an all inclusive place.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly service, palm trees and plenty of chairs on the beach, and the quality of the food.
Cons: Storage space for clothes, climate control cooler, and softer mattress.
Very big resort. Plenty of beach chairs by ocean under palm trees. Beach had a lot of seaweed from recent storm. Could use more chairs by pool. Did not like the idea of children being able to sit at the pool bar, my opinion that seating should be adults only. Used top shelf liquor on all drinks if requested. Very friendly staff across the whole resort and extremely hard workers. There seemed like hundreds and hundreds of employees and again they all worked so hard and were very friendly. Had some meals buffet style and some sit down. The buffets are amazing. The amount of food and choices is beyond what I would have thought and the amazing thing is the quality was excellent. That was the hardest thing to believe because I have been to a number of resorts and places back home and the food quality here was at least a 9. The room could have used more drawers or storage place for clothes and the AC could have worked a little cooler. Bed mattress was very firm but I'm kind of use to that with my bed at home. Overall I great place to go for the money and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Great hotel, great staff, amazing location

Posted Jun 20, 2015
The whole experience was great, location, staff, ammedenties. Would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

I Would Recommend to a friend.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Food/Drink, Pools, Space Available
Cons: The mattresses.
My wife and 4 friends stayed at the Barceló Maya Palace in mid-April 2014. We have stayed at other hotels in Cancun and the surrounding area, and found the Maya Palace property to be within the top 20% of the properties we have stayed at. In order of importance for our party: food/drink, pool, space, and comfort. Food/Drink - The food at the property was very good. While not on par with 3 Star Michelin restaurants (who are you kidding?), the combination of the breadth and depth of the selections for lunch and dinner were great. I recommend trying a little bit of everything. Pool - The pools and surrounding area are huge. We never had trouble getting lounge chairs for our party, but recommend putting towels out prior to 12:00. The practice is 'technically' prohibited, but other travelers respected our "reservation." Space - The property is enormous. While you are captive as a guest, and are not going to venture off of the property, there is sufficient space to 'stretch your legs.' Comfort - The rooms were great, especially the well-appointed bathrooms. The beds suck. I have stayed in only 2 hotels in all of Mexico where I would recommend the beds. Do not misunderstand, it is not as though you won't sleep or the beds are unclean, they are simply as hard as a board. My wife, who has a particular proclivity for soft mattresses agreed that while the bed suck, they were manageable. All in all, I would recommend to a friend. Enjoy!