Ratings based on 770 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Maya Palace

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Cons: The only down side to this resort was the beds. They were hard and very uncomfortable. They definitely need to invest in higher quality matresses.
This was my second time to visit Barcelo Maya Palace, and we will definitely make it an annual vacation! The food is excellent, the pools are exceptional, and the beach is not crowded and very enjoyable. The service was flawless! Everyone is so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Garcia

Best hotel experience ever!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We had only viewed pictures of the hotel, and we taught it looked nice. However, nice does not make justice to this hotel. The place is awesome, breathtaking and extremely well kept.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Met all expectations

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The room's beds were comfortable. I have read plenty of reviews that knock the beds as being hard and uncomfortable. I like a stiff bed.
Cons: Some staff seem preoccupied or a tad annoyed that they had to grill a hamburger or get you a drink. This was not the majority, but you noticed.
Location: We took an excursion where they picked you up at the resort. So, I couldn't really rate the location. It is 1 hour + from the airport.
Where do I begin!? Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe was a wonderful place to stay. From what I understand, this resort in particular is the highest on the tier level at the Barcelo Maya property in Puerto Aventuras. Our wristband allowed us to eat and drink for free anywhere - on all 3 properties. I understood that the other 2 properties - Tropical and Colonial could not access our property, which was the Palace. We did go to one of the other properties one night because we wanted to eat the Hibachi, which was not offered on our grounds. We had access to all of their restaurants, but they had NO access to our place at all. In contrast, I found the Palace to have a higher notch clientele and it was less crowded and less kids. The Barcelo Maya Palace Deluxe offered a 24 hour bar which also offered snacks much of that 24 hours. Expect heavy snacks and sandwiches to be offered buffet style (albeit small) beginning at midnight until 5 am. We had an excursion we were leaving for one morning and I stopped in the 24 hour bar and ordered a shot of vodka to get the "fun going" and sure enough - they delivered! When in the world would you ever do that again in your life? Couldn't pass it up. As for the dining.... I find it so interesting (and curious) that NO ONE tips! I had money that I set aside for tips at this place, but either the staff was uninterested in accepting or they simply had NO change - anywhere! No one gets tips! It's like a twilight zone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Nice hotel, close to the beach.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Beautiful Resort! A la cart restaurants were amazing. Beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta GA

Fabulous resort - snorkeling right off the beach

Posted Sep 14, 2014
OMG one of the best resorts I have stayed at - it is worth the extra $$$ for the premium deluxe package - everything is included and they let you know you are a welcomed guess - the caribe restaurant could be in any big city - I will be back - met wonderful people and had the BEST time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Beautiful Place!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Big Rooms, Lots of Pools, great beach and very clean.
Cons: Better Mattress! it was HARD AS A ROCK very Uncomfortable
Location: You can go on excursions and explore, but in my opinion not worth it get a massages instead!
The Resort was absolutely wonderful! it's beautiful and the staff is so attentive and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Had a BLAST!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff, service and the resort.
Cons: Security, security and security!!!!
Location: Not too far from the Xplor which was fun. Dolphins were close too! So far from the airport!!!!!
I stayed in Barcelos Palace Deluxe so I was able to access all the other resorts and I would highly recommend it. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The only thing I did not really like is that you cant lock the washroom doors and no fan inside the washroom. I usually over pack when I go on vacation and having all the extra room really helped me lay all my clothes out. I had over 10 people in my room at one point eating and chatting and it did not feel crammed or anything. The service was great! The staff were friendly, quick, efficient, approachable and always tried their very best to help us. The only thing is the security of the resort. My friends had an incident where locals were at the resort chatting them up and trying to get their room number and information. After that incident my friends avoided the locals and tried to go back to their room. They walked around the resort as they felt they were being following before heading back to the room. The locals did follow them discreetly and tried to get into their room later on in the day. My friends ended up paying the security to stand around their room area. Our friends even asked the bartender if it was normal to have locals and they told them not to talk to the locals. If they staff is advising them not to talk to the locals, shouldn't they be taking action immediately???? They witness the locals talking to my friends and didn't call security?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Favorite Resort in Riviera Maya

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Beautiful facility, Large Beautiful Pool, Hard working Staff, Great Beach, Good nighttime shows, Indoor air conditioned theater, periodic live band
Cons: Bring back hard ice cream to the buffets, have real soft ice cream. Meat quality consistency. Better singers and more live band shows
Location: Everyone should know about the great cenotes that are within walking distance across the street.
Let me start by saying that I am a Riviera Maya junkie. This was our 15th trip. We have stayed at the Palladium, Bahia, Paridisus, Valentin, Princess, Iberostar and Barcelo. The Barcelo Palace is our favorite resort and we will return. The resort is so wonderful that the first time visitor would be hard pressed to find any area for improvement. As this is our fifth time at the resort we do have some suggestions and hope that management will read this. ICE CREAM: I was disappointed that the hard ice cream has been deleted from the buffets. the artificial soft ice cream leaves a lot to be desired. The Iberostar has an "Ice cream bar" available all day with multiple flavors that is a real hit. Barcelo should bring back the hard ice cream and have the soft ice cream be like Dairy Queen. That should be a perk of staying at the Palace RESTAURANTS: The main dishes seem to have slightly improved over the past few years. We noticed that when we ate early that the meat was very good. When we ate later the meat was dryer and tougher. It seemed as if the steaks were prepared early and sat in a warming oven until one was ordered. DESERTS: The deserts are too bland. Asians and Europeans may prefer bland deserts, but at least half of the deserts should be sweetened for American tastes. BICYCLES: Should be available at no charge for touring the resort. INTERNET: should be included for Palace guests We love the Barceló and hope this review helps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Holiday of Relaxation

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The resort was spectacular, the food was good and the variety was good. The oceans were so pleasant to swim in and the marine life a dream. I would advise that you wear water shoes to protect your feet. I only wish that when they stocked the mini fridges, if you did not drink alcohol, you could get more juices or such instead. The staff were all wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Texas

Big, get lost in vacation!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Relaxing at the pools and beach. Hopping to the other 4 areas.
Cons: The mattresses were extremely hard.
Location: SCUBA too expensive for those trying to discover diving. Tulum was interesting..take snacks and drinks if you leave the resort or you will PAY!
Great food, great fun. Loved snorkeling. Kids loved the dolphins and pools.