Ratings based on 743 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The wait staff was fantastic. The hotel itself was beautiful. Perfect for families and even couples.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the Experience

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful place with amazingly nice staff.
Cons: Room temp. on the upper floors can sometimes be a little warm and frig does not work well.
Location: Abundant excursions within 30 minutes drive.
We have stayed at this resort twice. One note; the higher you room, the higher the temperature. We noticed this on our first visit because we were with another couple. On our second trip we traveled with three other couples. Two couples had ground floor room, one had second floor and we had third floor. Both of the ground floor rooms had to actually turn of the air, the second floor room was very nice and the third floor room was comfortable but felt a little warm at time. The only other negative about the rooms is that the frig doesn't make anything actually cold. Obviously we love staying here. The rooms and grounds are absolutely beautiful. The staff are amazingly nice an always helpful. The beach is perfect with abundant wildlife. While snorkeling I saw sea turtles, three species of sting ray, and many fish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

HUGE resort but beautiful!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Beaches
Cons: The actual rooms were nice but the beds were like sleeping on a box spring. Even after partying all night, we had a hard time falling asleep.
Location: Never left the resort we loved the beach so much!
This place is MASSIVE! The beach and pools were amazing but be prepared to walk A LOT!!! We are slight travel snobs, so if you aren't picky, you will probably think this place is amazing. It was just too big for us and way too many people. The views and beaches were absolutely incredible thought and we spent all our time there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Beautiful beach front, secluded resort

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Loved this place, very family and couple oriented, set back in the jungle on huge beach front lots. Great shows and multiple resort access. Beautiful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Family/Friend/WeddingMoon Vacay

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Beach was amazing
Cons: Beach Bar, Add waiters/waitresses to beach area. Add more employees to serve all guests. Train all employees to be extra friendly.
Location: The location was perfect near all excursions. Resort was too huge with not enough waiters and waitresses to serve all guests.
Horrible Customer Service! Club Premium does not have enough staff to handle all guests checking in. Resort is extremely under staff! The staff members they do have are very short and rude, not friendly at all. You can easily tell they are not happy with there JOB! Body language and Facial expressions say it all.... They should be smiling and should be friendly and happy. Not Snobby and Bitter. I feel bad for them!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Hotel that you can snorkel at the beach

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Kids can spend a lot of time on the beach which has lots of fished. Carry snorkel gear so you can see coral, sea turtles and sting rays.
Cons: Entertainment has not changed since 2 years ago. Buffet less variety than before.
This is the second time I stay at this hotel. We like to go back this hotel because it has a lot of fishes and sea turtle right at the beach and it has good service. Many things still keep up the same such as sit-down restaurants like French,Caribbean Seafood and Brazilian steak house. Rooms are clean but one of my friend complained that her room had mold. It took a while they agreed to change her room which should not be a case. The garden is well-kept and the beach is clean except some seaweed scatter on sand. The bar at swimming pool is under staff; 2 guys at the bar cannot handle all the people around the pool. The quality of the drink at swimming pool is worse than the one in buffet restaurants. The best drink you can get is at the bars in the a la carte Restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
everything is excellent except air condition in all public places like restaurants, theater, VIP rooms. Internet cost extra $ and it has poor signal. Only one device can be connected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Vacation!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Location: As we stayed in this hotel, we can eat in any of the restaurants in the other 3 resorts (4th one is closed for renovation), but food are not the same.
Our group of 11 had a good time at this hotel. Few minor issues like temperature too cold or too hot, but the staff was willing to adjust it, our room is too far as one of my friend check-in late (7pm). The food and drink was great, but we had to buy good wine for dinner. We have had French restaurant for one night and canceled the other night as the food was overcooked (wait staff explained that it was because we ordered well done, but we did not buy into it). Buffet is good but the selection choices are almost the same every night with few changes). The Japanese food is just okay. Seafood is the best in our opinion. For the Expedia vacation package, we are a little disappointed that our seats were at the end of the airplane even though we had booked 9 months in advanced, and the flight schedule was kept changing from Air Canada (we lost a day because of early flight schedule) but the offered for club premium in return is great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On Canada

Family reunion at Barcelo Maya Palace

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Everything, we love the location swimming pool ,restaurant facing the ocean , hotel room spacious
Cons: Wish the staff can communicate or speak english more
Overall all the hotel/food/service was excellent . Our family reunion enjoyed this trip at Mayan Riviera esp the kids they had fun swimming at the pool and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2014
I had to call 4 times for them to fix the phone correctly. The buffet needs to add more main dishes for dinner. The restaurants need to improve the food quality. The French and the Japanese restaurant were a big disappointment.