Ratings based on 877 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom coleman alberta

beach is right there. service was great

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: service, friendly,
Cons: I would like to have warm butter with my seafood
Location: Great location and lots to do
Had a bad meal at seafood restaraunt . My lobster was half raw ane the other half I couldn't cut it with aknife it was over cooked and tough. Room was musty and things were damp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel with less than beautiful staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: comfortable rooms, beautiful beach, multiple options for entertainment on the property
Cons: the service shad options at the beach
Location: the property is a 75 minute drive from cancun airport and there are multiple things to do nearby including tours of Tulum and Xel-ha snorkeling park
the hotel is beautiful with lots to offer. the service across the board was disappointing. from the front desk staff to the bartenders and wait staff. the staff generally seemed unhappy. the bartenders were the worst.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel with fantastic beach!

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Food variety, beach, swimming pools, selection of restaurants, staff friendliness
Cons: 1) Poor design room AC fan control 2) Audio in the entertainment hall ear piercing, 3) Bed not comfortable
Location: Snorkeling in front of the hotel. Actually one can just stand in the waist high water and watch the colorful fish. My wife swam with turtles too.
My wife and I spent 8 days at this hotel and enjoyed our vacation there so much! We will definitely go back! We had stayed in the nearby Playa del Carmen a few times before but we preferred this Barcelo hotel. There are a lot that we liked about this hotel including snorkeling right in front of the hotel. We got a one hour free training on riding a catamaran and then spent half an hour sailing for free. This was our first time and enjoyed it a lot. There were a few things that can be improved: 1) Bed became comfortable only after we complained the second day and a mattress pad was added. 2) Room AC unit fan runs all the time even on auto and that makes the room air too humid. This seems like a design flaw. 3) We could not sit in the entertainment hall more than a few minutes each night as the audio was hurting our ears. We actually like loud music but there was something about the the audio system there. What a shame! The hall is so large with nice programs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom W

Great property! Beautiful beach!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
The only thing I would complain about is that there is no keeping the guests from the other properties from ours. We paid extra to stay at this hotel with the understanding that we can go to the other 4 resorts but they are not supposed to come to ours. The Palace is supposed to be a deluxe resort but why would I pay the higher price when I could book the cheaper properties and still enjoy the deluxe option. Other than that loved the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, Alberta

Excellent Family Resort...

Posted Feb 17, 2015
After a lot of research and investigation we booked this resort as our first attempt to return to an all-inclusive vacation as a family. We have 2 kids; 8 and 2, and it was an unquestionable success due largely to the selection of the Barcelo Maya Palace Delux. As one of 6 resorts on site it offered us the most comfort and flexibility for our family. Our room (Junior Suite Delux with King) was perfect for us with the King and two sofas/day beds. The day beds were large enough for an adult to be comfortable on (I'm 6'6" and had no problem getting comfortable). The wet bathrooms were practical, spacious, and well laid out. Lots of storage in the closets (2 banks), vanity, and benches. No bad views from the rooms as the buildings are so well spaced that you cannot see them through the jungle. The grounds are immaculate and clean. Fountains and paths are everywhere. During our stay we saw agouti, coati, and of course iguanas all around our building. The food was great and the service was sincere and plentiful. The pools and beach were also spacious and well laid out. Plenty of loungers and space. So many things were included that I came home with half of the pesos I brought. At the end of the day we experienced maybe 1/4 of what was available at our part of the resort and the kids were never bored. We will be returning at our earliest convenience as we felt that this resort would still suit our needs as the kids got older.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with great service.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
This was my first time at this resort. It was fantastic. It had great service, and wonderful location. I'm already making plans to come back next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Greenwich, CT

Fun and relaxing

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The rooms were nicely appointed. The food was good. Stick with the Mexican and don't expect fine dining.
Cons: The sailing and snorkeling should be part of the package deal. The wifi should be included.
Location: We didn't leave the property. It was huge and great to explore.
2 parents and 2 kids, 8 and 5, stayed for a week. We had none of the check in issues others have mentioned. Had a great time. The room was nice, the food was good, and there was lots to do. Not a lot of party-hardy types, which was nice. Lots of families. Nice mix of people from Mexico, USA, Canada, and s sprinkling of Russians.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cedar Rapids, IA

Beautiful larger resort

Posted Feb 15, 2015
This is a beautiful place and is very well-maintained. It is located on a wonderful beach. The resort is only eight years old. Between the five resorts in the complex, activities are limitless. Found the food above average. The restaurants we dined at, which required reservations, were all very good. They all had decent kids menus too. The mall and waterpark that are connected to the resort complex are brand-new and amazing. The standard rooms are ways back from the hotspots so we upgraded to premium and got a better room location and wonderful service. Be sure to bring your walking shoes as the 5 resort complex is very large. The staff was very accommodating. We all enjoyed it very much. Our only complaint is that they had no reasonably priced rooms that had a separate area for the kids to sleep. We pushed the two couches together and made one giant super-bed for our two boys. To get a separate bedroom and living area we would have had to book the family suite. The price for the family suite is somewhat obnoxious and the availability of it is kind of low. Plus those rooms are in the back of the resort which make for at least a 12 minute walk to the pool and dining area. The resort is about an hour drive from the airport. Overall, great vacation!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended!!

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Second time at the palace. Don't listen to any negative reviews, if you find something wrong you need to have your head examined. Don't need to go on and on about everything, just book a trip there and you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver BC

Great Hotel.

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The nightly entertainment didn't appeal to us. We also wish that there was a staggered time for entertainment between venues.
Location: Perfect location with lots of excursions available,
Beach was wonderful with lots of chairs available. Snorkeling was great. The whole resort is immaculate and the staff very friendly. There is a new shopping area with a new sports section. Mini golf and surfing also available.