Ratings based on 979 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Beautiful resort

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Resort was beautiful and offered great amenities to make for a great trip. Great beach, snorkeling, and food. Staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing property, something wonderful for everyone

Posted Jul 30, 2015
My husband and I took our children ages 3 and 5 to this property for the first time and had an amazing experience! We upgraded to the club premium and it was totally worth it! You receive private services in an air conditioned lounge where you check in and check out, make reservations, have a private bar/snacks and computer access. With this upgrade you avoid the long lines at the front desk, you get special discounts and you have access to all five properties. At the barcelo we bowled, played putt putt, went to the pirate island water park, swam with dolphins, went kayaking in the ocean, painted pottery, got our pictures takin with parrots and we even hired a private photographer who did a family photo shoot for us on the beach! It was awesome! The best part however was the kids pool. The barcelo maya palace deluxe has the best kids pool and my kids had a blast! We plan to return to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Place

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Had a great time here. Would go back anytime. A wonderful place where the staff does anything they can to please you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to vacation.

Posted Jul 26, 2015
This is our 3rd time at the Barcelo Palace. We quite enjoy our stay here and that is why we come back. The rooms are clean. The beds are hard but nothing that a call to the housekeeping for a mattress topper doesn't fix. Air conditioning was working well this time. Last year it wasn't but again, we made a call to maintenance and it was fixed in no time at all. This resort is huge and well maintained. While people will complain about the long walk to the pool/beach, my family and I see it as an opportunity to burn off all those extra calories consumed at the wonderful buffets. The food is nothing short of amazing. Variety for the seafood lover, meat eater, vegetarian and of course the sweet tooth. The staff were always ready to please with a smile on their face. The only problem that could have been an issue for anyone's stay, in my opinion, is the amount of seaweed on the beach. We talked with other repeat visitors in the resort and the manager, and we all agreed that the seaweed hasn't ever been this bad. Now with that being said, the smell wasn't pleasant but the workers were out there working extra hard to clear it. This is not only a problem for the Barcelo, but all the hotels along the Mayan as well as in Cancun. Our weather is changing and with that, storm patterns play havoc with the sea and unfortunately the seaweed issue is something the government is going to have to deal with in a long term plan of action otherwise tourism will be affected abroad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to stay

Posted Jul 20, 2015
This is a very family friendly hotel. Like evryone says, the beds are hard, but it is not terrible. Food was good, Drinks are plentiful. Very easy to get around. Rooms were very cool, we had the ocean view room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL, USA

3 bad issues, 1 horrible. I do not recommend.

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: The facilities, the beach, and food are really good. It is unfortunate that they had the events and the security issues.
Cons: The entertainment. Besides the cancellations due to corporate events, we felt that they can do way more to keep the guests entertained (beach party).
Location: We went to Chichen Itza, a cenote, and Coco Bongo. All worth it.
Issues to consider (We were a family of 4): - My teenager kids (13 and 15) went to the teenager club ('Uno') and somebody tried to steal my son's watch inside the club. It was a terrible and frightening experience for my son. Hotel has security at the entrance of the place but not inside (they said that they had cameras but obviously that is not enough to avoid these type of situations). This alone is enough reason for me to not recommend this place ever. Thank God my kids were able to leave the place unharmed. - This place has multiple private events that can be very disruptive for the guests: Over the 8 days we stayed, at least 6 days they had weddings or other corporate events where they had to put tables in front of the guests that were enjoying the swimming pool. I had personnel setting up tables ONE foot away from my foot when I was laying by the swimming pool. They do not ask you to move but they make you feel so uncomfortable that you eventually leave the place. In one ocassion the setup started at 2pm, taking most of your PM relax time away. Other private events required the daily shows to be cancelled or moved to smaller locations. Too many disruptions, they do not seem to care for the guests on this regard and you fill that the priority is the private events. - We had a leak in our bathroom. It was resolved within a couple of hours once we reported it but it was problematic and impacted our plans as we could not used the bathroom fully in the AM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great hotel for families with kids. We had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally Kids friendly hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Service
Cons: Better activities at the kids club.
Location: We didn't went out of the hotel.
We had great vacations, excellence service, nice and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Huge hotel with plenty to do for the whole family

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: The grounds are impeccable, good variety of restaurants, more than enough to do, great for a family with kids of various ages.
Cons: Check-in didn't go well, restaurants are always booked, staff not very friendly.
Location: We swam with dolphins, kayaked, went to the mall twice, snorkeled, swam with fish at the pier, played volleyball. So much to do at this resort!
We stayed in the Michoacan building toward the front, near lobby and entrance to beach. Check in didn't go well. We had requested adjoining rooms for our family of five a month in advance and called every week to make sure the request was in the system. The day before, they told us we would have them. When we checked in, they gave us different rooms. Also, we weren't given much information during the check in process about any of the restaurants. We weren't given our resort coupons either. Found guest services staff to be pretty unfriendly but concierge in our building was great. You must, must, must book your restaurants in advance. The indoor buffets are decent, do not go to the buffet at the snack bar/grill. The seafood restaurant was excellent, as was the French. Brazilian was just ok. Wait staff varied greatly each experience, some were excellent (Jesus at Caribe seafood restaurant). Some were downright inattentive, especially at the buffets. Pros: the grounds are beautiful, there is SO much to do, good variety of places to eat, the pools are huge and it never feels crowded anywhere, although the resort was full when we were there. The food at the sit down restaurants was great. Cons: It's a walk to get to everything, the staff could be a bit friendlier (we often stay at Secrets Maroma Beach and they go above and beyond), it's hard to get into restaurants be sure to book as many nights in advance as you can, the beach is a bit rocky, lots of seaweed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret the bad image you have taken during your last visit to the Hotel. It is very important to us to follow our procedures in order to avoid any complaint. We will review your comments with the staff involved on the satisfaction of our guests. Feedback from our guests help us to improve our services day by day. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Honeymoon bliss...

Posted Jul 1, 2015
My husband and I enjoyed our stay! Everyone was friendly, the food was pretty good, the beach was beautiful, and the pillows were very comfy on our room (the bed was pretty firm). We would go back for sure. We just would go a little earlier in the year than June and wouldn't go snorkeling. It drained us for the last 24 hours of our trip. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2015 by The Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, The staff will be very happy to know that we succeeded on your expectations and it will be our pleasure to host you again. Thank you again and see you soon.