Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henia from Florida

One of the best!

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Really, everything. Although the attentiveness and kindness of the wait staff is the best!
Cons: The beds. It's kind of funny but the beds throughout the Caribbean and Mexico are bad. I don't know if they need to be purchased more often or what.
Location: It's pretty remote which we like. Tours are available to all the historic sites and adventurous places. We've done all that so just enjoy the resort
Everything was beautiful and great! The beach is lovely. Pools are large and clean. The waiters and assistant waiters were so polite and very attentive. Food is excellent with plenty of choices. Specialty restaurants also very good and fun to go to. Very clean rooms and beautifully manicured grounds. Shows are pretty good; we've been to places where they are awful. Some of the shows were quite professional. They work hard. I'm a former dancer so I know. Plenty to do if you like lots of activity. Otherwise relaxing is great. Drinks and liquor very good too. Beach bars are busy so drinks are better in the complex bars. Shuttle transportation is very good. We've been places where it is pitiful. I like riding the shuttle to sight see the complex. You can get on and off to explore. Watching the dolphins was great, really makes you smile. Overall, a wonderful place for a fantastic get-away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, Mo

great family friendly resort

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: pretty much just about everything.
Cons: beds could have been just a little softer ,we had a king size bed and it had long cylinder like pillows that werent very comfortable, thats about it.
Location: only about an hour from airport not to bad , and lots of excursions available , tulum jungle maya is excursion we did, all day adventure but very fun
very enjoyable stay at a very nice resort, property was very well kept overall, pool was very nice never too crowded , beach area was very clean plenty of lounge chairs could always find a lounger, good food plenty of variety, all in all a great choice and would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Longview, WA

Overall An Exceptional Resort

Posted Jun 12, 2014
This was our fourth visit to the Barceló Maya Beach Resort complex and we were happy to see that this is still one of the best resorts on the Riviera Maya. They just finished a beautiful remodel of the Maya Beach section and are in the middle of redoing the Caribe section at this moment. The plan is to then redo the Colonial, then the Tropical, and finally the Mayan Palace section. It's good to see them investing in their facilities because the location is just awesome with 1.5 miles of beach with plenty of palm trees for shade and lots of chase lounges for everyone. They also have 5 pools that also have plenty of shade and chase lounges available. From past experience it seems that most other resorts down here (and we've tried several), have too many hotel rooms compared to the facilities they have to support them. I've seen people come to blows over space at the pool and shade/lounges on the beach. This never happens at Barceló even when they are full. They also have live stage shows in three large theatres almost every night. The staff is awesome and very helpful. My only complaint is the Gym facilities. The weight area is great but most of the treadmills, bikes, ellipticals, and stairstep machines are either worn out or broken and need to be replaced. Overall this is an exceptional resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Awesome experience and great hotel..just didnt have too many activities to do inside of the hotel..also there was pretty much nothing going on at night time to entertain the guests ...other than that it was an awesome vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No complaints!

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Pros: Beach, Food, employees
Cons: would be nice if the hotel would make it easier to know when are where all the activities are
Tropical Depression during stay, didn't allow a little rain to ruin the trip. This was my first trip to Mexico, I will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Excellent! This was a very nice resort with Great Beaches, Pool areas and Staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by moya from newfoundland

Beautiful hotel amazing grounds

Posted May 31, 2014
When arriving at maya tropical we were upgraded to the maya palace for free. The room was huge! Still blown away by the beautiful beaches, pools, restaurants and rooms at the baracelo maya! We will be returning next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lois

really liked the pools

Posted May 23, 2014
We booked for the Barcelo Tropical but when we checked in they had down graded us to the Colonial. First time when my hotel room is no longer available that I have been downgraded instead of upgraded. Whenever I rent a car or a room you are always upgraded if what you have booked is not available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great facilities, food and staff

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: lovely beach and facilities. Great food.
Cons: First room we were assigned was a mess-- many things (such as the sink and safe) were broken, and there was construction right outside. Needs fixing!
10 days in paradise! Except for being assigned the room from Hell for the first couple of days. (They did move us when we complained)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Swim with turtles and stingrays right out front

Posted May 20, 2014
Fourth year there, keep going back, what more can we say?! We love buffet breakfast at Beach resort as we love our server Ivan. He's been there for years! Beach is on inlet/lagoon so no wave breaks needed, turtles and stingrays right there!