Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocky Hill Ct

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Food was greate, very nice hotel close to the pools and beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Barcelo Tropical Review

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Overall hotel is nice and grounds are very well kept. The food was average, restaurants are of course better food than the buffets but can be difficult to get reservations for. Make sure you do this as soon as you get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madera, CA

Rooms close to the beach, clean and easy to get to

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Amazed at the activities provided that were included in our fee
Cons: would like the chance to change reservations for dinner or reschedule if missed-themed buffets-burger/pizza/Mexican/seafood/deli
Location: Beach was isolated from outside, plenty of help to set up any excursion with transportation, etc.
Great relaxing vacation-beautiful weather, plenty to do. Left the resort on day to see Myan ruins and never left again, no need to. Used the Kayaks, sail boats, snorkels, swimming pool, beach, bar-went parasailing. Ate, drank and soaked up the sun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Be careful when you book

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Kids facilities
Cons: How to book a hotel on the property
Location: Central and lots to do on the site. The new mall and Pirate a Island (water slides) are great.
We booked a family va action for 9 - 3 rooms in the Tropical back in January. When we got to the hotel they had no rooms available at the Tropical and booked us into 2 different hotels on the property the Caribe and Colonial. No matter what we said about getting confirmation for the Tropical and paying more they would not budge. They told us that since we booked a standard room test they can put us anywhere. Only if you book an upgraded room will they put you in the preferred hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario Canada

First time in Mexico at Barcelo Tropical

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, rooms well kept, grounds are always clean. Food was excellent at the main buffet, second to none IMO.
Cons: FREE FREE internet, this is a must. Charging $12USD a day for one user for internet is insane. Shower plumbing needs updating.
Location: Definitely do Tulum ruins, Aktun Chen park, any of the Cenotes and shopping on Fifth street in Playa de Carmen.
Being a Jamaica veteran we decided to do a family trip to Mexico this year from all the good things we've heard about Mexico. We love to meet people and socialize, that's our family, being so use to that in Jamaica, we found it very different in our resort, mainly because it was such a huge complex with 4 resorts merged into one. I would say that if we are to do another tropical trip, it would be back to Jamaica. The people are very friendly but didn't really take the time to remember/know you at the resort again probably because it was such a large resort. Overall experience, Mexico is rich with culture and I believe that's what we enjoyed most, the excursions. Food was excellent but disappointed that Lobsters were no where to be found at our resort, they said it wasn't season but I'm pretty sure that's not true. I also do not like hotels that nickel and dime you for things like Internet access, if you wanted a coconut, you had to pay extra, which I thought was kind of sad because they were all over the resort and one morning the ground keepers were out trimming the coconut trees, they were cutting fresh coconuts off and them them fall and explode and throwing them away, one guy was awesome enough to offer some to us while we watched. It was a great experience, just little things like this that turned us off and we weren't use to it when we stayed in Jamaica.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No air conditions and terrible food/service

Posted Jul 8, 2015
We stayed at the Barcelo Tropical Maya and didn't have air conditioning for the last 24 hours of our trip. It was so hot that we couldn't sleep with any bedding. When I called that night about if they were fixing it they said they were trying. The next morning still no air conditioning when I talked to the guy at the front desk all he said was sorry. The food at the buffets had been sitting out all day. When we got to go to one of the nicer restaurants we got a reservation and when we showed up they said we had to wait another 45min. When we finally got to eat the service was terrible. She never gave me my drink and the dessert was supposed to be served hot and came out cold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Great resort... especially for those with kids 3-10 yo. Ocean was more "wavy" than anticipated, but was definitely manageable. Buffet food was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to the beach

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Hotel is great !staff was wonderful very nice !the food was good but always the same in the buffed. I had great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Family vacation

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Wonderful, wonderful hotel! The grounds and restaurants are great! The pools are huge and amazing. The only con is the beach is rocky, but the hotel more than makes up for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Beautiful Barcelo

Posted Jun 10, 2015
We stayed at this same resort 5 years ago and things were mostly the same. Rooms were large and clean. Air conditioning was controllable. Amenities were nice. The pool beach are definitely the highlights. Our only problem this trip were some of the staff. While the vast majority were polite and helpful, a surprisingly large number were coarse and indifferent. At the buffets we were sat and drink orders were taken, but that was it. Nobody checked on us and getting a high chair for our son took nearly 10-15 minutes each time. Bar staff at the beach were fast but showed minimal personality or interest in their guests. I hate to complain about working people, but that's what I am and with my hard earned dollar I would expect a little more from an all inclusive staff.