Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Best bang for the buck

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed virtually everything at the hotel. The buffets were satisfactory, but nothing spectacular in my opinion.
Cons: Paying $20USD for a lost room key is unnecessary. Not sure why there is a charge for a lost room key.
Location: Recommend going to a cenote during your stay. There are a ton of them around the area and certainly worth going to.
Nice kept grounds! Beautiful beach! Great staff!! If you are looking for a middle of the road resort in Riviera Maya, your dollar will go far at the Barcelo Maya. Huge pool made a big difference for our large group. Pool bar was amazing and the bartenders had a lot of personality. Plenty to do on the resort if you are not the type to venture off of the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Houston TX USA

Great location

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The grounds and pools were amazing
Cons: Food quality and assortment
My family had a fabulous time and Barcelo was a great location. There are four resorts in one so there is a bunch of entertainment, pools, beaches, and bars. My kids really enjoyed themselves with and without us. My only dissapointment was the overall food quality. When we have gone to an all-inclusive before, either the buffets were amazing or the restaurants were. Here both were a 6 out of 10 at best. However there was a wide assortment of food and we enjoyed everything else a bunch. If you have a family, go and enjoy all the facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disapponted

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The buffet food was the only thing I would say was very good.
Cons: the activites during the day and at night. There is nothing for the kids to do at night.
Location: good location and plenty of excursions nearby
The resort looked dead. no live music only in the pool section and a small area near the check in. there were no wild animals around the resort like flamingos or coati, etc. the theatre was closed the whole week we were there. The food was really good in the buffet. we tried to get a catamaran and the they kept telling us there wasn't enough wind even though the wind surfers were out. when they finally said it was ok to get the catamaran out, they said out scheduled time had passed and we only had 10 minutes to bring it back. they were very rude about it even though we sat there in front of them for an hour waiting for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary,Canada

3 star

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Snorkelling was very good.
Cons: Friendliness and service.
Location: Location was ok 1 hour ride from cancun..
Sink was clogged in our room for a whole week.Told the front desk and it was never fixed.Water on the bathroom floor every day leaking from the wall.Most of all the staff were unfriendly and did not smile,especially the bartenders.Buffet was ok at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

First time visit.

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Easy to get around and great beach.
This was my first visit to this resort and to travel out of the USA. I had a very pleasant time and totally enjoyed the resort. The beach was absolutely gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Excellent. Will return again.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Excellent. Will return again. Staff was very helpful and very friendly as well. Food was impressive. Lots of activities: cannot get bored. The beach was spectacular like the pictures. The only con was that the shuttle from Cancun airport to Barcelo was very long and pricey. Every night had a different show. Visited the famous "Playa del Carmen" Amazing stores and restaurants. There is a Starbucks for anyone who wants a good coffee. It was our 20th wedding anniversary and the chef and staff from Capri (Italian restaurant at resort) brought us a cake and sang to us. Very beautiful experience. Our two daughters had a memorable vacation as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, great beach, great amenities.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
2nd time staying here. Our family had a fantastic vacation. Many things to do for all ages.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent!!

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Beautiful resort, great food, great staff, super clean. I highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

GREAT HOTEL - Nice people, good food

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: I had bad experience at Kyoto, Guest Services followed up after asked me what happened even manager just knew who I was my last dinner was attentive
Cons: There was a great lack of miscommunication and flow of customer data between services we had to explain ourselves for things we didn't use several
Location: Chitchen-Itza, Ik-Kil, Playa Del Carmen, Xcaret, Cozumel Watch out for company Lalos, Explora and Valentin, Salvatore, Lupita scammers
My bf and I arrived at Barcelo Maya Tropical and was moved to the Colonial location the hotel had several sister hotels nearby. Everyone was very welcoming, friendly and hard working. The buffet was available often, service was fast and quick and food selection, temperature was great. There was so much more in hotel to do but we could't do everything such as lobby bar, spa, tennis courts, diving class and kayaking which all required reservations. The hotel was very clean, restaurants were fantastic, ambiance and feel good, AC in rooms good, poor view all covered by trees Not good - Lack of communication and paper trail recording. Upon arrival we needed to make a call and asked 3 different people some said 15 pesos/min some said 50pesos/min it was not clear. I made call for 10mins cost 60USD!! - All gift shops required > pay cash front desk - When we were finalizing bills they said we had 2 Wifi user/pw and we paid upfront Day 2 for 4 days - thought that was really strange - Upon check-out luggage weight was broken - no one labeled it lost money bell boys new should have put up sign - At Kyoto, the Manager and Hostess asked my bf go change his shorts (understandable) but let us sit down only to come up and tell him he needed long sleeves very embarrassing and did so rudely. To be fair this was followed up by guest service, we got some rotten grapes, did not touch it they gave us strawberries and wine tried to fix by give us 3rd reservation (you only get 2)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bon Air, VA

Very nice hotel with something for everyone

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Well maintained facilities, excellent staff, variety of activities for all ages.
Cons: I would suggest converting the Tropical pool to adults only. There is a children's pool and Colonial pool with swim-up bar just across the walkway.
Location: Plenty of activities both on site and within 30 minutes drive. It is an hour from the airport.
This was our second visit to Barcelo Maya Tropical. We had 11 in our group on this trip with ages ranging from 18 - 56. There were many groups celebrating high school graduations and weddings which added to the lively nature of the resort. Accommodations were comfortable and clean and all rooms a short walk to the pools and beaches (unlike many of the massive resorts in the Riviera Maya). Staff is diligent in keeping the grounds and buildings in excellent condition. Pools were well maintained and the bartenders at the swim-up bars excellent. The beach is beautiful at this resort; a little rocky though so bring your water shoes. Food was very good whether at the poolside grill, the buffet, or the theme, reservation restaurants; Kyoto was our favorite. The entertainment staff at Barcelo Tropical are excellent. They keep the guests involved without being bothersome. The evening shows were pleasing but often the theater was just too hot for me (but it is June in Mexico). The younger members in our group thoroughly enjoyed Jaguar's for dancing every evening. The only disappointment was that some families with small children did not take advantage of the excellent children's pools; I guess those parents didn't want to be far from the bar. All in all it was an excellent resort and we would definitely return.