Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good for a night or two

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Cons: Friendlier staff!
Location: Close to everything in town.
Hotel is a few blocks from beach and action of 5th Ave., fairly quiet area. Facility is well kept and clean. Rooms are small and basic but have little porches with a hammock but are not private. Big guy at front desk is fairly unpleasant and not too helpful. Only real negative about the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The receptionist was very nice, very helpful, positive. The refrigerator in my room a definite luxury in the hot weather. The neighborhood was wonderful; the hotel is centrally located. The only minor set back was the loud music from a nearby bar through some late evenings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Barrio Latino is a good hotel in relation to the price you pay. The staff is friendly and their complementary coffee and bread in the morning is nice. It is a 5 min walk to the beach and the 5th av where all the shops and restaurants are located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Garden

Posted Dec 22, 2014
very quiet and peaceful garden area in back with covered lounges
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Would definitely return

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Excellent staff, good location, rooms are clean and comfortable. Great value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom winnipeg

Perfect

Posted Nov 8, 2014
We decided to stay in playa del Carmen last minute. First time in Mexico for my friend and I . I searched by customer rating and price as we ttavel on low budget . This place is amazing !! It's not a five star but you get your money's worth and then some !!! It's cost effective and close to everything ! The owners are so friendly ! They gave us all kinds of help to get around what to see etc. If you stay In playa take the collectivo to akumal and tulum for the beaches !!! The collectivo is dirt cheap! We had such a great vacation thanks to the owners of this hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Milenafrom Brasil

ótimo custo benefício.

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Para o que se propõe o hotel é perfeito, simples e confortável. Ideal para quem quer curtir o dia nos parques como xplor, xcaret, xel ha ou tulum e retornar apenas para descanso, pois é um hotel confortável para pousada sem oferecer nenhum atrativo a mais, alem da conformabilidade, ótima localização (1 quadra da 5 av.) e simpatia do funcionário Sergio. O café da manhã é sempre o mesmo, porém é satisfatório pelo preço cobrado, acho apenas que poderia começar as 7:00 e não as 8:00.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by booggyfrom annecy

You will never feel at home there!

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very typical style mexican hotel. Perfect location, very clean and in order (may be too much) but too many "don'ts". A full list is postrd in every room. Although the team is nice there is a heavy restrictions atmosphere that probably influences people's behaviour. Although the place could be one of the most busy hotel in the area the hotel does not use the advantages of having a nice patio where people can meet discuss have a drink and listen to local music (not the ever ending internet jazz radio station that makes you feel more in a spa or a museum). Everything is under CONTROL. The kind of "posh attitude" does not really match with the hotel style which gives a very bad impression. The complimentary breakfast is "not included in the fare" but generously offered,in case you would consider complain about the incipide coofee, ant the pineapple juice. With some more "easy going" atmosphere this hotel would definitely have what it takes to brrak occupancy records.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Andrea, Hotel Management
" Hello Mr. Boggey, thank you for your interesting review. Allow me to explain you why we have a sign with rules in every room of the Hotel, at the desk, and it is also printed in the register you sign at the check in. It is a Mexican Law obbligation to have filtered rules and show them in every room ( if you traveled before, you must have found them in most of the Hotels abroad, also). We couldn't print this rules without the control of Profeco ( the Mexican office protecting every buyer's right), and we shouldn't avoid to have them in the rooms. If you visited any other accommodation and you didn't find it, it doesn't mean it is our decision to put them or not, I apologise for that but we can't follow your advice and remove them. About the music, which according to our mood and clients' suggestions varies from local Mexican to Jazz to Chill Out to Italian - you name it, we surf the options and put it, and the area where you can listen to it, I think you are very critic, because it is really an open space where all clients can meet and also meet whith their friends from outside during the day. We don't want to add dj sets live music and something like that to our offer because we are known as a relaxing spot in a great location (think about the hammock outside your room, other clients reading or using their devices to stay in touch with friends) About the coffee break, if you didn't like it is a pity : menu is including also yoghurt, cereals, sweet bread, chocolate. All together, a 10 to 15% value of your room rate, think about it. Sometimes a tiny number of clients have felt rules like a problem, but please consider most of repeating customers love the mood of the Hotel : it is not a hostel, it is not an all inclusive, it is a pure hotel accommodation offer. I think you gave us very interesting suggestions and we will put them to the management attention. Our occupancy rate is above any similar Hotel in the area, we are proud of it and we will keep doing our best effort to satisfy every customer's needs. Have a great year! ‎"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Italy

Very near the Cancun Airport. Vicino all'aeroporto

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Very well organize to reply at email and arrage transports
Cons: Food at the restaurant is OK. Could be better.
Location: Near the airport
Very efficient: Quick reply to email questions. They arrange free pick up at the airport. Perfetto come punto di appoggio per l'aeroporto. Efficienti nel rispondere alle email: ci sono anche venuti a prendere all'aeroporto gratuitamente.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thorleiffrom Norway

Nice,central,clean - sentralt,rent,anbefales

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
A nice hotel close to beach, ATM, bus station, ferry and 5th street with shops, restaurants, supermarked, dive shops etc. Not much noise from bars even if the hotel is very central. Free breakfast was ok. Free wifi was great, but signals on second floor was a little unstable inside our room. Clean rooms with good air-con and ceiling fan. Some small ants on room in 1.floor. Each room has a hammock, cool. The staff is very nice and the hotel has a great atmosphere that sets it apart from more standard type of hotels. Recommend it a lot, and would probably stay here again.