Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, NH USA

Just far enough off of 5th avenue

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: I have read the am food recommendations and I agree. The quality of the coffee & pastries offered should be improved.
Location: Hated 5th ave. Did not care for the beach in Playa; beaches elsewhere are very easily accessible. LOTS of local restaurants West of 5th.
Cute, comfortable hotel. Staff friendly and helpful - making suggestions of things you can do that are not your typical tour. We used the hotel as a home base and went in both directions, north toward Cancun and south toward Tulum for visits of our own. The hotel is so close to the collectivos that any travel is easy. The hotel itself was nice and quiet but you should be aware that their neighbor is a restaurant that plays music, but not obnoxious music and not incredibly loud, but ear plugs can help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gabbi from New York, NY

Pretty and convenient boutique hotel.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities, and staff.
Cons: When showering a lot of water spilled over the bathroom, perhaps providing shower curtains might help.
Location: The location is excellent. Barrio Latino is on Calle 4, in front of a great Italian restaurant, a German bar, and an Italian bakery.
My husband and I chose Barrio Latino based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews. We wanted a comfortable room in a boutique hotel with parking space and knowledgeable staff, we got much more that. Each room has their own hammock and small outdoor space where to hang wet towels and swimsuits. Inside, you will find a ceiling fan and an airconditioning unit to cool off, as well a refrigerator, a desk, and a chair. The closet space is open and hangers are provided. There is no TV, but who needs it when you are spending the whole day at the beach or in a cenote. The Wifi worked consistently. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom is of medium size, with a ceiling fan to help get rid of the humidity after taking a shower, and a hair drier. They provide complimentary shampoo, shower gel and hand soap. The overall hotel decor is quite nice. It has a patio in the center and a palapa where breakfast is offered every morning. This one includes tea, coffee, pastries, yogurt, juice and cereal, just enough to get the day started. Hotel staff is really, really kind from our housekeeper, Miguelina (who made all sorts of figures with the towels) to the frontdesk personnel. Manuel, the night-time receptionist was incredibly nice; Marco knows all the good, cheap places around the area, ask him what you want to eat and he will send you to a great place; and last but not least, Steffano knows EVERYTHING about Playa and the excellent places to visit, especially where the locals go.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen from Quebec

Close to centro, clean and quiet

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Little balcony, clean, little breakfast, quiet, close to bus station.
We like this place, the room is a little bit small but we appreciate the balcony with the garden.
2 out of 5
by c from ut

Appealing at first sight

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: It had a nice courtyard and the rooms were nice.
Cons: The dogs, the noise from the surrounding bars, and the fact that they don't allow children. This needs to be stated clearly so people realize it.
Location: Close to the shopping and the beach
We arrived at the hotel we had reserved for 6 adults. We had 2 babies with us and found out babies were not allowed. We read on our papers that "anyone under 15 could not check in." We hadn't realized that this meant : NO CHILDREN. Needless to say, my husband and I stayed because we had already paid for it. My sons, their wives and babies had to go elsewhere to stay for the two nights we were to be in Playa del Carmen. The rooms were appealing, clean and simple. There was a small continental breakfast. What we didn't know was there were two dogs roaming the courtyard. One was older, slow and quiet. The other was a small, young, noisy dog. He came yapping at me two different times and scared me. He also barked and woke us from our afternoon nap. They did keep him quiet during the night, but there was noise that came from the bars that surround the small hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014
I am happy you took few minutes to write a review, it could help other travelers. It was a pity that a family group had to split : however, we could not accept more tan 2 guests per room, despite the age. When you entered, you were eight for an accepted booking of six, and the Hotel had no other room to offer : but because of our published policies, I want the following guests to understand that rooms are for guests of 15 yrs or more. About Bruno, a young dog we rescued from the street in town in late September, he is a calmer dog now : and Mafalda. our 14 yr old spaniel cocker, stays at home. Bruno is not often at the Hotel but he visits and most of clients enjoy him. When your housband told me that "he would have shot him with his gun if he was around" I took him home. Bruno is never at the Hotel when clients come to relax. I think there's nothing to add.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, price & staff, but some noise.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Location, hammocks, price, staff.
Location: ADO bus stop. Collectivo stops. 5th Ave. Restaurants
The location is perfect - steps from 5th, the beach, the ADO, the collectivo bus and restaurants. Personal hammocks were great. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. As with probably any little hotel in the area, there was a bit of noise late at night. The couple of rooms at the front of the hotel get a lot of street noise and noise from the restaurant across the street. You probably need to arrive early to avoid these rooms. In the back rooms, you still hear parties going on late at night, but that can usually be drowned out by the air conditioner. Continental breakfast is coffee and a croissant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location near town and beaches.

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Arrived late during heavy rain storm which created initial problems with the room. The night manager did his best to address the issues and the next morning the day manager took care of all problems, including moving me to a new room. The property is clean and secure and very close to the main shopping/dining areas and beaches. Good value for the money. Very basic but very nicely done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2014
Thank you very much! Even if the rain was unusually strong, you have been very kind to understand and I am happy you finally could enjoy your stay. Have a great 2014!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pluses and Minuses

Posted Dec 19, 2013
This place has: Good rates, good location near 5th Ave. bus station, charm, security. This place doesn't have: ACs that work all the time, big rooms, chairs in rooms, TVs, phones in rooms, washcloths.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alberto from Minneapolis USA

Nice hotel centrally located very friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Friandly staff, clean, and nice basic look. Great location.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved a bit. Wifi could be improved a bit, but usually worked.
Location: Great Location very close to Quinta Avenida. Very close to the beach and great variety of quality restaurants. Everything walking distance.
Had a great experience at this hotel. Very basic, but great value, and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very basic, but helped get the day started. Excellent location, nice and quiet, and very clean. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alberto from Minneapolis USA

Nice hotel centrally located very friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: Friandly staff, clean, and nice basic look. Great location.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved a bit. Wifi could be improved a bit, but usually worked.
Location: Great Location very close to Quinta Avenida. Very close to the beach and great variety of quality restaurants. Everything walking distance.
Had a great experience at this hotel. Very basic, but great value, and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very basic, but helped get the day started. Excellent location, nice and quiet, and very clean. Would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Katrina from Ontario

cute and quaint

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great little hotel with fantastic service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
THANK YOU! YOUR WORDS WERE LIKE A SMILE TO US.