Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sarah from australia

Absolutely amazing! Could not recommend more!

Posted Dec 24, 2013
This hotel is just amazing! Very cool design, staff are incredible, location is perfect, spotless rooms, sushi bar has excellent food, just amazing! Would like to move in forever!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jessica from london

a pleasant surprise

Posted Dec 9, 2013
we chose this hotel as seemed the best choice for our budget and i would definitely go again. great rooftop bar, excellent sushi and hector on reception was a great help when booking trips etc room was spacious and clean. great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ldavis from Los Angeles

Great location close to the main street

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
A hipster hotel with a large comfy bed and interesting decor. My travel companion left her jacket and we were able to retrieve it the next day with no problem. Trustworthy and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony from Mississauga, Ontario

Be Playa,

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Location was very nice-- quiet-- 2 full blocks from the nightclubs on 1st, and a block from the noise of 5th avenue. Hosts were awesome.
Cons: Plumbing.. but not a big deal.
Location: So close to 5th Avenue.. but far from the noise. Coco Bongo was a short walk. Beach was 3 blocks away. Very convenient.
Hector and Oscar were great at introducing us to the hotel. The rooftop was super relaxing and quiet, considering the location! Great wifi and rooms were large and comfortable. Breakfast was ok. Service at breakfast was very good. Hector was super organized, getting us a personal taxi-- 'the chief'. The sushi bar was a very nice dinner, happy hour margueritas were awesome. This hotel was excellant value, in my opinion. The hotel is very new, only 2.5 yrs old. That being said, the moisture is taking a toll on the structure, kept very clean, never any smell of mold believe it or not-- very cool layout.. some of the fixtures were built a little too much for looks, and the actual functionality was not too good, like the sink. It looks great, but did not really drain too well. Overall, the place was a nice nugget of a find in a busy village!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from Perth

The on,y place to stay in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Staff are very helpful, rooms are big and beds are amazingly comfortable.
Cons: The card system on the doors, they were having issues with them.
Location: Perfectly located 2 streets from beach and 1 away from 5th Ave where all the restaurants are located.
This is the 2nd time I have stayed at Be Playa. The room, staff and the facilities make it a standout amongst all the massive all inclusive available in the area. The restaurant attached the hotel is also divine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by noctem

The reasons why it won't be #1

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Ask for suite 305, maybe the best room despite AC issues.
Be Playa would have everything to be #1 in Playa Del Carmen: one of the best hotel design with amazing architecture, in room back lighted jacuzzi opening to the sunset, fabulous 2-persons showers, 2 floor-to-ceiling glass walls, gorgeous and always completely empty pool and lounge areas, perfectly located half a block away from the famous 5th avenue... So what's going on? 1) Noise. Yes, Playa is a lively town. But the full-glass walls offer little to no isolation from the street moise and amplify some bass vibrations, like trucks motors or music tempo... Overall it's the most noisy room I've ever had. 2) Horrible breakfast experience. If they offer to include it in your rate, just don't. You will be served the same half-toast and wanna-be croissant every day, and you will be force-charged a 30% tip, "not included, sir". Forget breakfast on excursion days as it opens only at 8am, and be prepared to be charged New York prices for an extra toast, an egg or an espresso. 3) Average Service. This one surprised me. I was expecting boutique hotel service at the level of their design. But really, no. They work with only one excursion tour so can't really offer options that would fit your plans. You have to beg for everything: beach towels, event programs. The AC breakers would break every few hours. They make you feel as welcome as a Vegas bouncer you wouldn't have tipped enough... So if you don't mind noise and service, try it for a night: really, the hotel's beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Shiela from San Diego

Great price in a great location

Posted Nov 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The cleanliness got a four because the pool was a murky but otherwise we were quite satisfied with this hotel. Do not make your decision based on free breakfast because it will leave you quite unsatisfied. The location and staff was excellent and beds were quite comfy
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cdphotog from London

Could have been so much better

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The air conditioning didn't work, we reported it but still didn't come on until an hour before we checked out. The shower partly flooding the room and we had to use most of our towels to mop it up and to stop us slipping over. This was the last night of our holiday before heading home and was a bit of a splurge but sadly didn't live up to expectation. Very much felt that as we were there for one night it was not important to them, service just was pretty disappointing.