Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyed my stay

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Enjoyed the decor, staff, rooftop pool/bar, hot tub in room. Bed was super comfy. Great location. Sushi restaurant was great - took advantage of the happy hour sushi. Could use more rolls that don't include cream cheese tho. Internet signal was a little weak. Shower super roomy. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Still a good option in Playa del Carmen

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Style
Cons: Consistency with breakfast & waiting staff
Location: Great location off 5th Avenue, close to beach, 10minutes to Cannibal Royal for great lunch. Beware currency bureaus almost tricked out of £30.
Nice hotel showing signs of wear & tear. It's good value for money. Stayed 2 nights, breakfast was disappointing on 1st day as if it had been hanging around for a while but second day better. Waitress was also disappointing, had to be asked for everything, showed no interest at all. This is the 3rd visit over past 4 years or so. The front of house staff are always very helpful & always try to give late check out where possible. Great location.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rehoboth Beach, DE

Never got there and hotel never refunded our money

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service, refund policy
We booked our trip to Mexico and at the last minute we discovered that one of our travel visas was not valid. Despite our efforts to make trips to adjoining states to update passport we could not get an appointment. The hotel refuses to refund our money even though the room we booked was never used and most likely rented to another guest. If we ever get the chance to go to Mexico, you can be sure we won't consider this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Good hotel walking distance to beach.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We stayed at be hotel for 5 nights. The location is great; walking distance to the beach, restaurants and bars. The hotel staff was really helpful and available. They lend their bikes which I thought was great. Also, they give you complimentary water and beach towels. The only thing they could propose a more variable free breakfast. I had free american breakfast which included the same rhing for the 6 days: fruit, OJ, and eggs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fazfrom OSlo

4 Day Getaway

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is 5 min walk from the 5th Ave where the action is ;) Close to the beach. Sushi restaurant has got great good and cocktails ;) Breakfast is average. Room: Master Suite was large with Jacuzzi, very comfortable bed and has a South American central city feel rather than the big chain hotels. Which adds to the charm of the cool hotel and the comforts offered. Service was great and will definitely stay here again. Overall a 8/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The staff was great: always very nice and smiley. The room was great. Breakfast was very good. I really loved my stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Quaint, little hotel in Playa Del Carmen

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Cons: Wi-fi speeds
Location: The hotel was located in Playa Del Carmen, which is central to other places we wanted to visit; Tulum, Cancun, Cozumel, Isla Mujares
Be Playa is a little, quaint hotel in the heart of PDC, that has a nicer vibe than most large hotel chains. The staff are friendly and considerate, always willing to help. We had a car overnight, and were able to leave the keys with front desk and they parked it / moved it if we needed it. The room was nice and clean. A couple of minor hiccups with the room, but nothing that couldn't be overlooked or quickly rectified by the staff. The wi-fi was rather slow though. Quick in the lobby/sushi restaurant but our room on the 3rd floor was almost unusable in some parts.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lake geneva wi

Nice stay

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Clean and nice space.
Cons: Tub and sink could drain faster....kinda gross...
Location: Stayed in playa for a trip to tulum. Was a nice place to stay for a few days, especially with the rooftop bar!
Nice and quiet but close to the beach...Great staff. Did everything possible to help with whatever we needed. The tub was nice to come back to after a long day. Located in a nicer part of town on 10th, not in the more dingy part. Would definitely go back!