Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Excellent, again

Posted Nov 7, 2011
Simple and true Mexican hotel. No high rise or super contemporary resort. Just an amazing and authentic getaway. Entirely beachfront with the best staff imaginable. A stretch of Maroma beach beyond compare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Miami

Amazing vacation spot

Posted Nov 7, 2011
We just got back from 4 days at maroma. Highly recommend it. Rooms were beautiful and romantic. Beach was spotless. Loved the day beds on the beach. Food was delicious. Staff was so friendly. Definitely can't wait to go back! Romantic getaway with authentic mexican flair.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bellevue, WA

Fantastic hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2011
Honeymooners, make sure you ask for a honeymooners room (not close to others rooms so you can have privacy).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeffery from Atlanta

Relaxing paradise!

Posted Jun 21, 2011
If you want an action packed vacation this is NOT the place for you! Maroma is an oasis for relaxation, a hidden treasure, a very special place! On arrival don't be surprised by the long gravel drive through the jungle! In fact I do not recommend the expedia recommended transportatiion, they could nit even find the resort - it is nit on the radar of the thousands of tourists being bused into the huge all inclusive resorts! Pay a few extra dollars and arrange for the hotel to pick you up. On arrival you feel like you are arriving at a private Mexican home and you are greeted by welcoming staff and given a drink and a tour of the hotel, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are attentive, breakfast is a delicious meal of freshly baked pastries, fresh fruits and juices and several egg choices. The food is amazing, great cocktails at Freddy's bar and a big wine list, although it is not cheap! The beach is 20 steps from the room and has huge double comfortable sun beds! Clear blue waters and soft white sand! A well equipped gym, 3 pools that were empty! A beautiful spa - try the Tamazcal on the beach - a wonderful Mayan cleansing ritual! We had a relaxing and rejuvenating stay in this beautiful, peaceful resort, we will definitely recommend it and we will return, an absolutely amazing vacation experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!

Posted Dec 17, 2010
OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY! HAS TO BE ONE OF THE MOST ROMANTIC PLACES ON EARTH...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cypress, TX

First Class!

Posted Oct 8, 2010
This was our first trip to the Riviera Maya. Maroma was truly amazing!! My husband and I spent one week and have never felt so welcomed and pampered. The service and attention to details were outstanding! Although we were there during the off season (September) and only El Restaurante was open, we did not tire of the menu. You could request anything and the chef would accommodate. Breakfast was outstanding! Loved the Chaya juice and the dragonfruit!! I experienced the Kinaan Ritual at the Spa and it was truly blissful!! Husband went scuba diving for the first time and loved it so much, he had to go again! Our room was wonderful with a fantastic view (Oceanview). Hospitality arranged a taxi for a day and we went to the ruins of Coba, visited 2 Cenotes and Playa Del Carmen. You really could do as little or as much as you wanted. We would highly recommend Maroma Resort & Spa! Great place to reconnect, relax and enjoy God's beauty! The only part we didn't like was leaving!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Loved it!!!

Posted Mar 19, 2010
To keep it brief, we absolutely loved our stay at Maroma! It was everything we expected and then some. The grounds/beach were stunning. The rooms are very nice, although ours was a bit on the small side, we didn't mind that a lot. The room was nicely decorated, and was kept extremely clean. But the most amazing aspect of the resort is the service. Simply unbelievable, and the best service we've experienced at any resort we've ever stayed. We stayed a week, but after a couple days people were already calling me by my first name, and everyone there is so friendly. The food is excellent, although by the end of the week we were wishing for a little more variety since we didn't want to travel off resort too much. But that is really the only complaint. We'll be back for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chester, NJ

Close but no Cigar

Posted Mar 10, 2010
Overall we liked the hotel, however we do have a few caveats. The beach is absolutely world class, one of the best. The room we were booked into was Ocean front, but it was no bigger than a shoebox. We had to upgrade to a larger room. Service on the beach is first rate - Segio is the best. Breakfast is free but the menu never varies and gets old after 3 days. Lunch is their best meal. Dinner menus were limited and the food was very average. Dinner costs were crazy. $85. for lobster! We went off property for most dinners and paid almost 1/3 of that for lobster. Service in the restaurants was very poor. Very nice and friendly but poorly trained and disorganized. Overall, a beautiful hotel that could be really great with some training, a better chef and some attention to detail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Randy from Wisconsin

Best Resort in Mayan Riviera

Posted Mar 10, 2010
Maroma is a special place that is asthetically beauitful, with delicious food and a staff that is undoubtably second to none. Maroma is one of our favorite places in the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Can't wait to go back

Posted Dec 10, 2009
My wife and I celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary at Maroma Resort and it was wonderful. Everyone at the resort from the waiters to housekeeping greeted us and were extremely hospitable which added to the tranquil and beautiful setting at Maroma. It is truly a wonderful place to "get away" and a true paradise. We can't wait to go back.