Ratings based on 1,140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Average stay

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Everything was just okay. Nothing blew me away. Average at best but good for the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ramsey, Minnesota

Blue Bay Awesome!!

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!!! :)
Cons: There are some updating to do on the hotel but I'd say it looks great overall
Location: We went to Xel-Ha and it was an Amazing experience would recommend it for anyone. We also went swimming with the Dolphins there and it was worth it!
We stayed at the Blue Blay Grand Esmeralda for about 1 week and it was definitely a great experience. I have previously stayed at 2 other inclusives in Punta Cana and El Salvador and this one was just as great. Of course when you go to an all inclusive its not going to be all catered to you so I think thats why people are so critical with their comments. Its an overall great place for everyone (Families, couples, honeymooners, etc.) If you are one of those really critical people, then this probably wont be for you because the food is more mediocre but since Im not picky and I will mostly anything its great. Their nice restaurants however are really good for the most part. Only 2 complaints I had about the hotel was that 1) They ended up giving us a room with 2 twin beds instead of the king size that we requested and overall it was fine we made it work, and then ended up coming to our room to push the beds together but it was fine for the most part. 2) The beach as most reviews say was not all that nice and that part was true but I didnt mind it I stayed by the pool mostly anyways and went to the beaches in Xel-Ha
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad but wouldn't go back

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Beach was a swamp, sucked. Drinks were good. Food was okay. Room was disappointing. A lot of Mosquitos.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Love it i will tell my friends about it.i will travel the next if the price is within my budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh nc

Nice resort, friendly staff

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Arrived at the resort and was greeted by very friendly staff. The staff at this resport made our stay even more enjoyable. If there was anything they could assist to help they did. Whether it was clean towels, a bottle of water, coming back to a later time to clean the room, to taking pictues of us. They were knowledable of places and things to do and the best for your money. The staff made us laugh so many times , from teaching us spanish, fixing us new drinks, to just spending hours at the sports bar just talking to the bartender. Friendly couldnt even begin to explain the staff there. The hotel was very nice amd clean and there was always someone cleaning at any given moment around the resort. The food was good. There was always something new to try. The enterainment was enjoyable. The only downfall about this resport is the beach wasnt that great. Not that its the resorts fault. But to make up for it the pool is plenty big enough. Overall I had a great and enjoyable time and would do it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but does not look like the pictures

Posted Sep 28, 2014
While Blue Bay was decent, plan to walk quite a bit to get to where u want to be! The food is good, beach is nice but water is not the blue you may expect! Plan to get your our drinks on the beach and the pool! Pool big but needs to be repaired!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Had a great time!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The staff. The outside bar. The pool chairs
Cons: Food could be a little better. The bathrooms need an upgrade. Music!!!
Location: Stayed on the resort which was just fine. Beautiful area
The hotel was nice. Average room, comfortable bed. Food was ok, not high end, but no complaints other than the seafood restaurant which was terrible. Staff was fantastic. Loved the beach side swing bar, but wish they had music out there. As with any vacation it's what you make of it. Had a lot of fun!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Property, Bad Service, Terrible food

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Its Mexico!
Cons: Service & Food
Location: Playa del Carmen's beautiful city center
On the scale of 1(worst)..10(best): General Atmosphere.....6 Pool...............................6 Entertainment...............4 - Cheesy Room............................7 Service..........................4 Beach...........................4 Food.............................3
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DB NY

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Great hotel , it would have been perfect ....... But please DO something about the ANTS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from denver colorado

Last minute trip for great value

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Building 5 with ocean view was worth the money.
Great clean pool, beach was clean but lots of sea weed. Our 2 year old loved the shallower arreas. Perfect temperature too! Staff was super nice and friendly. Everyone loved kids and gave them extra attention.