Ratings based on 1,134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel but does not look like the pictures

Posted Sep 28, 2014
While Blue Bay was decent, plan to walk quite a bit to get to where u want to be! The food is good, beach is nice but water is not the blue you may expect! Plan to get your our drinks on the beach and the pool! Pool big but needs to be repaired!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Had a great time!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The staff. The outside bar. The pool chairs
Cons: Food could be a little better. The bathrooms need an upgrade. Music!!!
Location: Stayed on the resort which was just fine. Beautiful area
The hotel was nice. Average room, comfortable bed. Food was ok, not high end, but no complaints other than the seafood restaurant which was terrible. Staff was fantastic. Loved the beach side swing bar, but wish they had music out there. As with any vacation it's what you make of it. Had a lot of fun!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Property, Bad Service, Terrible food

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Its Mexico!
Cons: Service & Food
Location: Playa del Carmen's beautiful city center
On the scale of 1(worst)..10(best): General Atmosphere.....6 Pool...............................6 Entertainment...............4 - Cheesy Room............................7 Service..........................4 Beach...........................4 Food.............................3
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DB NY

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Great hotel , it would have been perfect ....... But please DO something about the ANTS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from denver colorado

Last minute trip for great value

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Building 5 with ocean view was worth the money.
Great clean pool, beach was clean but lots of sea weed. Our 2 year old loved the shallower arreas. Perfect temperature too! Staff was super nice and friendly. Everyone loved kids and gave them extra attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice resort clean and comfortable

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The pools were great Staff friendly Close to playa del Carmen Good a la carte restaurant
Cons: Would be nice if there was late night snack options There is no place to sit and have a quiet drink in the evening
Location: About 15 mins from Playa del Carmen About 40 mins from airport
Nice resort staff were nice and friendly. Pool is great, no problem getting lounge chairs.However only had one bartender at the pool bar so the lineup tended to get quite long in the afternoon. Food was just ok at the buffet. Made reservations at the Mexican and seafood a la carte and food was delicious at both of these. Hotel offers a shuttle into Playa del Carmen for 50 pesos per person. The stores on the resort were outrageous expensive to the tune of 35-40 Canadian dollars for a bottle of sunscreen and 6 Canadian dollars for a chocolate bar so best to bring any essentials with you or buy at Walmart in Playa. The beach is not great but has lounge chairs and sandy sections but if you're looking for bright blue waters and endless shoreline this may not be for you. All in all for the price we were satisfied.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, Wa

Nice hotel but lock up Everything!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
On our second night stay after receiving the WiFi password one of the workers came into our room and stole both of our cell phones. The security told us that we should have locked our belongings in our safe (Otherwise it's fair game). ..continues
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Cons: Food
Hotel staff was very friendly. I was disappointed with the food - it was not bad, but also nothing exciting. The area of the pool was huge and the staff was always preparing some fun activities to entertain the guests. We traveled with our 2 year old daughter...they have a kids club with very attentive, nice staff, but the space was not so good. Overall, it was a good experience, but this was our first trip to cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice and very cleann

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Nice place, food was good, and staff was very accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new York

the staff was very friendly and helpful...

Posted Aug 19, 2014
great location, staff provide excellent service, activities planned throughout the day.. overall had an amazing time will definitely be back to Bluebay!!!!