Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Sydney Australia

Nice simple hotel in the middle of everything.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Nice hotel which was a lovely change from hectic cancun. Playa del Carmen is very different and we enjoyed getting away from resorty cancun. The staff weren't very helpful when the internet in the room stopped working, but it was fixed again that night so no big deal. Good sized room and bathroom, huge balcony. Not greatest view of the beach but it was still nice and very close to hotel. You are right in the middle of the restaurant and shopping area, which means it's a little noisy at night but you are also close to the action. Clean room, lots of cable channels (in Spanish). Bed was a bit hard. Fridge and coffee maker in room. Nice pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, great location

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Wifi in all rooms
Good hotel for the price. Rooms were comfortable and clean; we had a rather big fridge as well as a coffee maker with a pack of coffee (we used it once and they did replace it). They also have "modern" plumbing which is not always a given. The hotel staff is courteous but not very chatty; they speak very limited English but that wasn't a problem. The only drawback is that the Internet wifi signal didn't make it to our room but it is strong in the lobby area. There is a pool but it is small and we never saw anyone in it. Please note that although some of the rooms have ocean view, the hotel isn't sitting on the beach as there is a piece of undeveloped property in front of it. It was however very conveniently located, steps away from the beach, the square, the ADO bus station and various restaurants. McDonald's is just around the corner which is nice given that the hotel doesn't offer breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice looking hotel in a great location but...

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: location - newer, modern feel.
Cons: staff could be friendlier and improve their English. And an advanced email with parking information would have been very helpful.
Be mindful that there is no parking at this hotel... we were not notified in advance which caused us some stress and inconvenience in finding overnight parking at $15 US/day. Staff do not speak English and are difficult to communicate with. There is no phone or wifi in the room (wifi is only in the lobby). The hotel overall was quite nice but lacked amenities that our other hotels had - and this hotel was more expensive. I guess the price you pay is for the location near the beach. We also had reserved a king sized bed - one of the deciding factors in choosing this hotel, with ocean view - however, we were given neither. There was no extra toilet paper in the room, making for an unpleasant experience...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Anchorage, AK

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: The only thing that I would say could use improvement is the noisy air conditioning unit in the rooms. Other than that, I loved it.
Location: The hotel is right in all the action in Playa, shopping, eating, entertainment.
The location of the hotel is absolutely wonderful. You are right near the ferry to Cozumel and near all the shops and restaurants on 5th Avenue. The Hotel staff is excellent and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Great Value Great Location!

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Clean, great locations, reasonably priced.
Cons: Leave an extra roll of toilet paper, always leave enough wash clothes for the guests, there was 2 in our room and often only 1 was left. add trash can
Location: Perfect location, down the street from ADO.
Just got back for 10 FANTASTIC days in Playa and Casa Melissa. Great hotel, very clean and always smelled fresh in our ocean view room #254. Yes the beds were hard, but doable. The room was spacious. Our refrigerator worked wonderfully, it has a little freezer compartment that held a 2 1/2 gal zip loc bag full of ice. There is a coffee maker in the room, note you will only get 1 packet of coffee, they will charge you .70 for any others upon request, no more are left. We are picky coffee drinkers anyway, so we had brought our own coffee with a french press, which worked perfect warming the water thru the mr. coffee. Our A/c worked so good the 1st night was like a meat locker. The reviews about the TP is true they leave no extra, so I would get additional rolls from the cart or desk. The pool while we were there did lose sun at around 3:15, so if you want more sun, just move to the beach. The beach bar just north call WahWah was great, had great music and a fabulous Pig roast on Sundays. The bar just north of WahWah was cheaper and you could still hear the band. Every one at the hotel was very friendly, Victor was the best!! This hotel is right across the street from the local park, where cultural events /shows were always happening. I highly recommend this hotel, for$$ it is well worth it. Nothing fancy, but new and clean, with a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Megan from Grand Forks, BC, Canada

Best Location, felt at home.

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Everything, cute and small but above all great location.
Cons: The Wi-fi only works in lobby, would have been nice to have some access in the rooms, but understand how hard that can be with all the cement walls.
Location: Again, great location, lots to do and close to everything.
My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Melissa for 7 nights in February. It was our first time to Playa del Carmen and Mexico. The location could not have been better, right by 5th ave, the beach, and the ferry pier. There is a cute church and a park right across the road. There are some performers that swing from a 70 foot or so pole by their feet while a guy on top plays a flute, they do this everyday but it is soothing and sounds nice, we could look out or balcony window and had the best view. All of the staff at the front desk spoke excellent English and were very friendly and helpful. The maids, didn't know much English but were very kind and easy to be around, cleaned the rooms very well. We had some friends come see our Hotel, they were staying in an Eco-friendly all-inclusive and they said, though they enjoyed their resort, they would much rather stay where we were. There is a small pool, we never ended up going in because the ocean is right there, but saw lots of people using it or just lounging in the shade reading books. If we go back to Playa we will definitely stay in this Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris&barb from whitecourt Alberta

Our stay was excellent.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Will definitely stay again without question. The only down side and this is not only at this establishment, but many throughout PDC, the desk staff were not very fluent in English considering the majority of the people staying their are not Spanish speaking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris&barb from whitecourt Alberta

Our stay was excellent.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Will definitely stay again without question. The only down side and this is not only at this establishment, but many throughout PDC, the desk staff were not very fluent in English considering the majority of the people staying their are not Spanish speaking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doreen from Vernon

Great location.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Location was perfect for us.
Cons: Staff could be friendlier & more helpful. Could be spruced up a bit & it would make all the difference.
Location: Ferry to Cozumel, beach, shopping, restaurants, entertainment.
This is a basic hotel but in a great location. We stayed one night on our way in and out of Cozumel. The beach is just half a block away & the ferry was about 2 blocks away. 5th Ave was half a block away as well. It was quite noisy through the night but was worth it for the convenience. Air conditioner worked well but was very loud. No internet access from room but available in lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anika from Minneapolis

CLEAN, CLOSE TO BEACH!

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Location, cost, amenities, CLEAN! Beach towels for rent, minifridge.
Cons: Only give you one towel per person in the room ( i like two ).
Location: The beach is 50 feet away!!! CANT beat that! Restaurants, shops, the whole Playa Experience!
This hotel is PERFECT for people who want to stay close to the beach (not even 50 feet) and not pay the all inclusive rates from a large hotel. No point in paying all inclusive if you want to spend days touring the areas (tours cost about 50 -150 dollars). The place is about 100 feet from ADO bus stop that brings you from the airport for 12$. The hotel is at the south end of the strip and as you walk north you find restaurants and ships along 5th Ave in all prices. (The north end is more "ritzy"). There is little to no noise from nearby bars and the AC and windows do a good job of keeping it to a min. Accepts AMEX has minifridge and you can get beachtowels for a refundable deposit. The pool is small but gets sun. No need for a bigger one.