Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful resort and fantastic beach!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
This was our first all inclusive experience and it sure won't be the last! We were looking for a place to just relax on the beach or take a dip in the pool and we found it. The Catalonia Playa Maroma is right on Maroma beach which has perfect turquoise waters and nice white soft sand. There was a little bit of sea weed, but nothing that would make you second guess swimming or snorkeling. The pool is great with shallow parts that are great for kids and it gets as deep as 12ft I think. Pool is quite close to beach as well. Make sure to put out your towels early If you want a place in the shade! That part was a little annoying because people will leave their towels on chairs for hours unattended. Drinks and food were great! We had the privileged package and it was well worth it- room was closer to pool/beach, breakfast at the terrace every morning, dinners at the nicer restaurants opposed to the buffet. Only annoying thing about the restaurants was the wait if you got there between 730-930pm. The hosts are very oblivious and it takes a long time to even get your name on the list sometimes- something we soon learned to take as is and be patient. Bartenders and the servers were wonderful!!! If you are looking to go on some adventures- they offer discovery scuba diving right at the hotel. This was my first time scuba diving and the reef right off of Maroma beach is beautiful! We even saw a giant sea turtle!! Overall, great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukie, OR

Nice hotel on a beautiful beach

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Hotel is very nice and clean. Beach is outstanding. It was really windy while we were there so unable to use any of the watersports equipment. Staff was really friendly. Good stuff--great beach, food, staff. Not so good--air conditioning in our room never got cold despite maintenance up there 4 times(I imagine we could have moved if we got snippy), bar service at pool hit and miss, and towel game at beach and pool. For me, the towel game is a deal breaker. I do not want to have to wake up before the sunrises to get a chair in the shade. People told us that they had come down at 3am to reserve their palapa. I am up and out by 7:30a and there were never any chairs in the shade at the beach. I kid you not, it wasn't until late morning that people would show up to claim their "reserved" spots. In my opinion, the hotel needs to address this. We were one group in a very small number of Americans at this resort. It didn't bother us at all but something people should know. Mostly French with a few Italians. I liked the diversity. Overall, a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom P B

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
The staff was really good, very polite. The hotel was clean and in a nice area. The food was just okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Erie

Had an excellent chose of room.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Love the staff, very little problems getting anything we wanted.
Cons: reservation for meals.
Location: A short distance from Playa del Carmen and Cancun, so plenty to do, even at the resort.
Arrived at 11:00 am., the staff gave the three of us our all-inclusive wrist bands, stored our bags and told us to come back around 3:00 pm. for our room. At about 2:00 pm. the staff let us know our room was ready and that the porter was taking our bags there now. Great way to start a vacation. had a great eight days, no rain, great food and lots of fun and sun. Would go back in a heart-beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edgar

Beautiful Memories

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel, the service was excellent and the beach, pool and overall installations were exceptional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Enjoyed our stay. Carlos in spa was excellente. Food was good especially Tapas restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Great hotel and excellent food for an all inclusive. A little quiet at night but the hotel is only a 20 min can ride to Playa if you want to get out. One thing we noticed was the rooms are not damp n humid like many other hotels we have stayed at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milano

Ottimo Resort

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: clima rilassato, ordine e pulizia, bella struttura ben nascosta nel verde,
Siamo stati ospiti dal 14 al 21 marzo con i nostri due bimbi di 3 e 5 anni: la struttura è molto bella, ben tenuta, molto pulita e il personale è molto gentile. Il cibo era buono, si poteva usufruire sia del self service che di ristoranti à la carte (ottimo il tio Pepe e la Terrazza) sempre se in formula privilege. Il mare era l'unica nota un po' dolente, c'era vento e quindi era mosso e c'erano parecchie alghe che si depositavano sul bagnasciuga che però veniva pulito tutte le mattine. Bella piscina sia per i bimbi che per nuotare o fare attività in acqua. Animazione presente ma discreta, ragazzi sempre sorridenti e gentili.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bien sin ser nada extraordinario

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Lo bueno: Hotel familiar. Me gustó el camino entre el lobby y las habitaciones con arboles,animales y musica. El hotel esta muy limpio y recien pintado,tanto el desayuno buffet como la creperia estan muy buenos, el hotel tiene un ambiente divertido en la alberca con musica y juegos, la alberca tiene buena temperatura. Lo malo: La playa del hotel me decepcionó ya que habia demasiadas algas tiradas y el mar estaba muy picado, en ese caso esta mejor la playa de los hoteles de la zona Playacar. En el bar del hotel las marcas de alcohol son muy malas. En la alberca existen pocos camastros para la cantidad de huespedes,nunca hay camastros disponibles y la gente ni si quiera esta sentada en ellos si no que deja sus toallas todo el dia en los camastros "por si los llegan a necesitar".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Only one Complaint

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Just returned. We enjoyed most everything. Everyone super friendly and helpful. Only thing poor was food. You're not going to starve but there is a lot of room for improvement !