Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice Hotel!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
My wife, 2 kids (4 months & 6 years old) and I stayed there for 5 days... We really spent a good time, the overall facilities are pretty nice, the beach is quite calm and beautiful.. The restaurants offers good food and the staff is very friendly... Definitively worth every penny..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indiana

small beautiful beach great staff

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: beach and staff resturantes were great
Cons: buffettmaybe a little bettter
Location: The beach is enough We already sent 10 people from our home town to Morma this year
We had a great time at Morma which was our fifth time . Beach was great food ws good maybe a little more selection at buffet Breakfest was good thanks to egg lady. lunch dinner could have used more possible better pasta bar. Staff was fantastic thanks to everyone especilly breakfest and lunch at tapas with Manual and Judith and crew. We will return soon hopefully
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Friendliest staff ever!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Super friendly staff! The beach was beautiful. It was cosmopolitan as most guests were from Europe. Great coffee and good quality alcohol.
Cons: The food was fresh and well presented but a little bland. I put salt on almost everything! The poolside music was monotonous in its beat.
Location: We were content to stay at the hotel and did not seek other attractions though we knew they were nearby.
We were welcomed by our porter, Javier, who was very friendly and offered us a tequila and a margarita as soon as we arrived. We had to wait rather a long time for our rooms to be ready, but we were upgraded to a honeymoon suite, so that more than compensated for the wait. Our concierge explained what additional benefits were available to us because I had booked us in to Catalonia Privileged Maroma. At the time of booking I had no idea what this meant and just thought it was the hotel's name! When we go again we will certainly go for "privileged" again because you get more perks, including additional restaurant choices, discounts on massages, and other benefits. Our room was not fancy, but it was very nice and quiet and perfectly clean. My only complaint would be that the shower did not drain properly. A minor problem. We were there over Christmas and the staff made every effort to make it festive. The buffet dinner on Christmas Eve was really splendid! We had cocktails and snacks in the foyer area and then a magnificent dinner to follow. Being there in winter, I was nervous that it would be chilly. It was really pleasant. The skies were partly cloudy but it only rained briefly on two occasions. It was a bit windy but not at all cold and it was still warm enough to swim and lie on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Wonderful Vacation

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Cons: Our king sized bed wasn't very comfy because the frame was really squeaky and would keep us up at night whenever someone moved, but others in our part
Wonderful hotel!!! It is my second time there and I will be back again. I have been to the Riviera Maya about 30 times and this is one of my recent favorite hotels. The food is great. There are 4 a la carte restaurants during the evening. Terrace (tapas) and Don Pedro (Mexican) were my favorites. Toscana was good too (Italian) and Tortuga (steakhouse) was just ok. We ordered the lobster dinner one night and it was perfectly cooked and was an extra special meal to celebrate a birthday. The drinks are delicious and the bar service is prompt. The beach is beautiful and the sand is so soft and the water is so blue. There are plenty of chairs and never a shortage of places to sit. I also liked that the kids club had lots of plastic toys available to borrow. I also had 2 massages and both were wonderful. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. Overall the hotel is almost perfect. We will be back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Great hotel, close to the beech, excellent service, overall we had a great time. I would go back again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent séjour ! Hotel magnifique !

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: sa situation : sur la plage la fôret tropicale de l'hotel le personnel les restaurants
Cons: rien
Location: pas grand chose a faire ou si non tres chères pour un pays comme le Mexique. le mieux louée une voiture comme nous avons fait mais chère aussi !
Ne pas hésiter a prendre l'option "privilege" cela vaut vraiment le coup ! les chambres magniques, spacieuses et très bien équipées
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Beach. OK Resort

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Communication between concierge and staff.
Location: Beach, beach, beach.
Food is just ok. Rooms are average. Basic staff was very friendly and nice. Wish I could say the same for check in/check out and "Privileged" concierge service. Beach is beautiful. We upgraded to "honeymoon" level and ALL the items we scheduled (except massage) did not take place on the dates or times requested. Disappointing at best. Glad it was NOT actually our honeymoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Great little resort on the most beautiful beach

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, amazing beach, comfortable rooms. This resort is nestled in the jungle (bring bug spray!), but bites were worth seeing the wildlife.
Cons: While the rooms are non-smoking, everything outside is fair game. A few non-smoking outdoor lounge areas would tremendously help this situation.
Location: We didn't do excursions, but we walked/ran for miles down either direction of the beach, which was largely uninhibited. Beautiful!
The beach makes this place. I didn't wear shoes, other than to the restaurants. The water was crystal clear, despite some wind and subsequent waves. We had pleasant encounters with staff, the food was acceptable (especially considering the price of the hotel) with a few standout meals. Beverages, again, acceptable, considering price.The room (Priveleged Comfort) was comfortable and well stocked. We had great service in the restaurants and with the cleaning crew.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom K

Catalonia worse than we remember it!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Nice beach, old outdated rooms, service is joke and food is terrible on all accounts. Breakfast buffet is OK. Al a carte restaurants are not much better than the buffet! We just returned from the resort and will never go back! It used to be decent place with delicious food...not anymore! Don't recommend it unless you enjoy poor service, tasteless food, and crowds of rude Europeans! Avoid if you are an American!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Horrible hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2014
I traveled for my parents anaversary with my whole family. We arrived and they made us wait because they told us that the rooms were not ready. After returning they tell us that we have no rooms available period!!! What!! The reservation was done 3 months prior. How can something like this happen? Staff reported that this is done often and that the staff has to lie to visitors. Horrible situation!!