Ratings based on 529 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best

Posted Aug 15, 2014
All I can say is that we will be back. Awesome experience!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Beautiful, secluded, adults-only resort!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The only thing I would add is a swim-up bar, but as mentioned earlier, this wasn't really a problem for us.
Location: Close to the ruins in Tulum, Explor, Xel-ha, Xcaret and Playa del Carmen. Plenty of things to do!
This was my 6th trip to Riviera Maya and my husband's first. It was a 2 yr delayed honeymoon for us and it was just what we needed. The rooms are secluded in the jungle and the beach is fabulous. Rooms- clean and modern with very large shower and hammocks on the balcony. Service- 5 star! The staff at Catalonia Royal Tulum went above and beyond our expectations. Beach- White sand and crystal clear water! There was some seaweed but hey, it's the ocean. The staff was very diligent in cleaning up the seaweed every morning. Just north of the resort was a wonderful spot for swimming, no seaweed and calm waters. My husband and I walked the 3 minutes every day to have some "space" in the ocean. Plenty of shade too from palapas and palm trees. Restaurants- All of the food at Catalonia Royal Tulum was wonderful. We certainly didn't starve and there was such a huge variety. The Mexican restaurant was our favorite and the best part- you don't need to make ANY reservations! Pool- the pool was very clean, although it was quite warm but we did vacation there in August so that is to be expected. There is NO swim up bar, but the pool bar is so close by and the wait staff will bring you drinks AND food to you in the pool! As mentioned earlier, the wait staff was above and beyond our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

6 night stay at Catalonia!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
WE LOVED ROYAL CATALONIA!! In fact we loved it so much that we have decided to return back to this specific resort anytime we visit the Cancun Riviera Maya area now. The staff was not only friendly but fun!! They make your experience a personal one not like these big resorts that just an't do that. The food is yummy and they have nightly entertainment. The beach is beautiful!! We highly recommend this spot if your looking for something more personal and less hustle and bustle.This resort is primarily couples just having fun and falling in love!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from KC,MO

Great resort!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: pleasant staff, Ricardo the concierge was SO helpful. The beach was perfect, the grounds were beauiful
Cons: Hotel could make it much easier to tip the staff. You can't charge the tip on your card, or to the room. Cash only, which makes it hard to tip at time
Location: Excellent beach, Tulum and the ruins nearby, Playa Del Carmen 10 minutes away. Take the Collectivo instead of a cab, 3-4 dollars !
We have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and this is a new favorite. We expected it to be less than great because it was inexpensive. We were pleasantly surprised. The beach was absolutely beautiful, the service was great and the room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice adults only relaxing hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Liked everything but the check in with timeshare. When you arrive you are tired and ready to relax.
Cons: Restaurant food could be a little warmer when served. Hotel needs additional entertainment at night for mature adults.
Location: Stayed at the hotel as we were after relaxation. Zip lining is available about 30 minutes away. Tulum ruins are about 30 minutes.
Arrived at the madhouse that is the Cancun airport. Cleared customs and all the tour vendors that approach you on the way out. Found our shuttle Best Day. They were great to work with on our hotel shuttle as well as other tours we took. Always cordial and on time. It was about an hour and a half to the hotel. As mentioned in other reviews we were approached at check in with a margarita and the time share people. As we had no interest we spent about 10 minutes with her and we were off to our room. Only approached that one time and she was cordial. We used the Junior Suite and it was very nice on the second floor. Very private balcony, nice accommodations. First building so were closer to entrance and most of the restaurants. It is a hike to the pool and the beach but it is down a treed path and we enjoyed the 5 minute walk. Hotel provided most everything we needed. Nice beach, pool, bar, restaurants. Food was good. Only negative was it seemed to never be hot on arrival. Lots of honeymooners and Italians as mentioned in other posts. Hotel delivered a very relaxing stay as that is what we were after. Needed a week to decompress and they delivered. Would be nice if there was additional entertainment at night for mature adults like a lounge with dancing etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Emporia, KS

Adults only relaxation

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Pool, beach, plenty of chairs, service
Cons: Food left something to be desired
Location: The location was good if you don't want to do much but lie at the beach. Otherwise, it's not near local shopping or culture.
Great place to get away from everything. Awesome to be at a resort without kids!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Honeymoon. Very attentive to us and our requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Beautiful beach-A slice of paradise

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. The restaurants had a nice ambiance; especially the steak house that overlooked the beach. The staff was excellent.
Cons: Food just OK. Also, there should be a continental breakfast offered at the snack bar with cereal, fruit, yogurt, & pastries for a breakfast option.
Location: Playa Del Carmen was close and offered a fun area to shop on 5th Ave. Several excursions offered. Large area of beach-no other big resorts close.
We had a wonderful, relaxing experience. The beach and pool area were beautiful. We would love to go back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Beautiful beach. Food just ok. Some staff friendly

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The beach was absolutely beautiful. The rooms were comfortable. The food at the sit down restaurant was ok, but the buffet food wasn't so great. They are quite pushy about selling the "vacation club" upon you checking in and try to sell it as if it's not a timeshare but it's really the same thing. They want you to spend 90 mins of your very next morning listening to them talk about it and when we decided we weren't coming they kept pushing us. The beach massages were fantastic. The buffet was horrible to us. The Royal Grill was pretty good and so was the Toscana italian restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The perfect romantic get away for two.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: It was all adults.
Cons: The mosquitos were a problem at night.
Location: It is a nice beach.
It was very relaxing. It is a fun place if you want to enjoy the beach.