Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chappaqua, NY

Hotel Ceiba del Mar

Posted Jan 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I can't rate this hotel highly enough. It is beautifully maintaned in a superb setting. Whoever designed the property is a genius. Every room faces the ocean. This is a spectacular place with an unpretentious vibe yet very elegant and understated ambience. The staff is friendly and professional at all times. A true gem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mirah from New York, NY, USA

Exquisite Boutique Resort

Posted Dec 27, 2011
Pros: The service and the food
Cons: Nothing!
Location: 20 minutes from the Cancun airport, in the fishing village of Puerto Morelos, a 30 minute walk along the beach to downtown.
This is the second time we've stayed at Ceiba del Mar, and it will definitely not be the last. I love this tiny luxury resort so much I'm afraid to review it too well lest it stop being off the beaten path. The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautiful, with light and airy Mexican decor and balcony or patio with an ocean view. This time we stayed in a junior suite on the first floor, and we could enjoy our coffee in the hammock before walking a few steps out to the pool or beach. The service is excellent; staff members seem to materialize with whatever you need before you can ask, and I've never seen such cheerful and genuinely nice staff anywhere. The beach is gorgeous, with enough comfy chairs lounges and palapas that you can always find two together. No sprinting to the beach in the morning to reserve chairs here. Even on Christmas, when the resort was completely full, it never felt crowded and we never had to wait for any amenities. The two restaurants are beautiful and have excellent food. We liked the beachside Arrecife for lunch and Xtabay for truly excellent Mexican haute cuisine for dinner. Both restaurants are a la carte only, so being on the all inclusive plan means you can order whatever you want from the regular menu. No long lines for bad buffet food. The pool/beach bar also serves a large menu of delicious cocktails and snacks to your lounge chair. I highly recommend the ceviche. The resort also has an excellent dive shop that offers private snorkeling tours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

VERY Relaxing

Posted Sep 30, 2011
On a quiet beach - with great staff, food, drinks, and spa. Excellent spot for a weekend getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Carlos

Good Hotel, Nice Facilities

Posted Apr 4, 2011
This is a good place to stay rather than Cancun or Playa del Carmen. It's much quieter than either of those places. I had a room on the top level with a good view, but quite a hike up the stairs. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to town. The internet is rather limited with only wireless available in the lobby area, and that being rather slow. There is also a modest business center with about the same service. The service at the hotel was First Class with the staff trying their best to make everyone happy. The grounds are very nice with two pools. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away from the buzz of Cancun or Playa del Carmen. The Town of Puerto Morelos was a real treat, and a short walk from the hotel down the beach or on the road. You can also bike to town on one of the bikes there. Swiming on any of the beaches around the area can be quite dangerous due to strong currents, and is not recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St Pete, Fl

The Absolute Best!!

Posted Apr 1, 2011
My husband & I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at Ceiba del Mar. The resort itself is beautiful-pictures don't do it justice. Our room was so comfortable and remained true to its Mayan heritage. The service was beyond impressive....everyone from the front desk, butlers, room service, pool service and spa was so nice, friendly and genuine. We have traveled all over and truly can't wait to get back to Ceiba del Mar!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Ceiba Del Mar in Puerto Morelos

Posted Dec 30, 2010 on Hotels.com
We couldn't have been more delighted with this wonderful hotel! Friendly, helpful staff, beautiful spa, lovely IMMACULATE grounds, great food. Well, okay, the pool was cold but other than that, it was perfect. Especially delightful was the basket on fresh sweet breads, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee & newspaper delivered to our room via a little connecting cupboard pass-through with a door for the staff to open on the outside & a door inside for us to open to get our breakfast. It was about a half hour leisurely walk down the beach to get to the town of Puerto Morelos so great location on top of everything else. A real gem!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Relaxing and Romantic Getaway

Posted Nov 11, 2010
Small resort, 15 miles south of Cancun. Excellent service, top quality restaurants, wonderful location right on the beach and at walking distance from the fishermen village of Puerto Morelos. Very private and romantic! We spent a week in October 2010 and can't wait to go back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Great place to relax, I can't wait to return to Ceiba Del Mar

Posted Nov 10, 2010
I truly love the Ceiba Del Mar Resort!!! The suites are so comfortable and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept on at a hotel. Top notch friendly service by all of the staff members of the Ceiba Del Mar Resort. They are very willing to try to make it your very best experience ever. I1 like that the resort is not a big mega resort, but smaller and more intimate. The The food and beverages were very good. Spa is also very special.