Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by SJK from Atlanta,GA

AWESOME EXPERIENCE

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Facility, staff, people we met.
Cons: Food could always be better.
Location: Remote part of a small fishing village. Did not venture off property - no need too.
Very cool resort. I was not sure what to expect but very happy we went. Very low key atmosphere and very friendly crowd - some experienced and some not. No pressure "to perform" at all. Very fun filled days and nights. Certainly not what we expected but better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J from St Louis

Great place!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Great place! (This is so incredibly stupid of Expedia to require a minimum of 5 0 characters in this field before they will allow me to rate this hotel.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Very service oriented staff. Always a smile. Positive energy. Good food.
Cons: Tip shakedown to get a chair by the pool and on beach. System of reserving chairs is wasteful, most are not used but are reserved - and then you pay!
Location: Didn't leave.
Reviews we read were reasonably accurate. Not over the top, but something for everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique fun for couples

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Stayed for 8 days and had a great time. Staff is awesome, especially Jessica and Larissa in activities and Rudi and Enrique in the restaurant. Some problems with chair availability at the pool due to different levels of guest importance. Probably not best for the true nudist who might be offended by some activities, but most open minded couples will enjoy the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JJ from Florida

2nd time even better:)

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Desire Pearl exemplifies outstanding customer service. The staff goes out of their way and consistently delivers. The room and grounds are perfect.
This is our 2nd time here within the last 6 months and getting ready to book again for October. They are running a special stay 4 nights get 4th night free which we will definitely take advantage of. We love the fact that when we are here, Desire Pearl gives us an environment to reconnect as a couple in a upscale passionate setting. Your experience can be whatever you want it to be. We are not in the lifestyle and had no issues being approached or shunned. The other guests are great and in the 2 trips everyone makes you feel comfortable. Clothing optional, sand, water, sun, drinks, passion, great service...what is not to like? What a great vacation...again! A couple of shouts out to Jared & Victor to always finding us a pool/beach lounges, Jonathan & Graciano for being the best waiters there, Jose and Eduardo for great bar service and Jessica and Julienne for their nonstop energy as EC's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eddie from ill

FUN

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Small but big enough to enjoy activities or relax away from it
Location: Need to fix road leading to hotel
Exceded my expectations!!!!! People not pushy. My partner and I are not in the life style but we met fun couples who honored our situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ramon from Chicago

We liked Desire Pearl better than Desire RM

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Cons: A heated pool would help.
We were 4 couples who went to Pearl the last week of January. We have stayed also stayed at the sister property RM several times before. We like this property better. The food and the rooms are better. The landscaping is nicer and more tropical. We prefer the hot tub here since it is larger. The pool is nicer and it has a swim up bar. It has fewer rooms so it is not as crowded. The staff (entertainment and restaurant) are great, but they are also fantastic at RM. If all you want is "in your face action" then you should pick RM. But, if what you desire is a classier type of "fun" then you should book Pearl. The most important factor that I did not mention is that our "women" like Pearl better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor

Nice experienece

Posted Jan 25, 2014
The road to the hotel is really bumpy so I wouldn't recommend renting a car to reach the hotel. Besides they don't have a proper parking lot nor experienced valet parking service. So it's better to hire a taxi or arrange for a shuttle. We spent one weekend at the hotel only. Since arrival all was okay. The Staff, not a problem all trained and happy to serve. We are. Couple in our mid 30s but felt like teenagers as the crowd there seemed more like mid 40s to 50s and scattered 60s, However they were very nice and relaxed. Being a lifestyle hotel and being out first visit to this type of hotel we felt a nice private atmosphere all around but also felt like just a normal hotel. As for the food, I should say that is not the best. They should improve in their vegetarian/vegan options, if they want to stand out from other resorts maybe they can do better on this. Facilities are not the most impressive. Some seem old and a bit of maintenance wouldn't be bad. I think that Rates are not comparable for the assets they have which some seem old and worn out (though all functioning).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Female Desire from USA

Female Client POV

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
I booked, paid for, and decided to take my fiance on a romantic trip to this resort. The pros are the room, the grounds, and the overall beauty of the location. Very romantic place. The con is the friendliness and the ability to provide good customer service by the staff. The poolside chair reservations are confusing and when we finally got one it was given away. We were treated very rudely by the person who gave it away and told to move without a solution being provided. This was embarrassing and annoying. After I suggested he provide us with other seating he continued to passively argue with my fiance about the issue. Even though I was the sole person associated with the reservation I was ignored by the office staff on many occasions and all questions were directed to my fiance as if I didn't exist. Also, there was a timeshare pitch given during our trip that was very annoying. No one goes on an "all inclusive" (it wasn't exactly all inclusive because of the optional menu and charges for various other services) vacation in order to be hammered about buying something. Beautiful place but I can't say I will be booking another trip there in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Scotty and Dolly from SLC, UT

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful time. Staff was very attentive and delightful.