Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by laura from san antonio, tx

nice if you like all-inclusive resorts

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Nice hotel; lots of activities; seems like a good place for a family resort vacation with kids; food was pretty good, but menu was limited. Pool was nice. Beach was beautiful. One problems arose that they didn't handle well. Hot water heater went out in our building and we called and called while we took cold showers for two days. Finally, we demanded to be moved to another building. I'm surprised they didn't offer something to compensate for the absence of a major feature of a hotel room--hot water! At the very least, I would expect an apology but the employees didn't know how to deviate from their script. I speak English and Spanish so it wasn't a communication barrier. Over all, it was nice. My first all-inclusive and it will be my last.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Wimbledon

Absolutely Brilliant

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: The facilities were great; the room was big, comfortable and clean; the entire staff was friendly and helpful and the food and drink was perfect.
Cons: The gym could do with a bit of a/c.
Location: The beach is stunning ad great for long walks. The town of Tulum is pretty small but worth a little visit.
My experience at Dreams was excellent value for money. I can't think of anything that didn't meet or exceed my expectations. I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Nebraska

They clean our rms twice a day!!!

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, nice staff, good size rooms, nice whirlpool and shower in rms.
Love it all....The entertainment staff on the beach was very fun. Great meals, rooms, staff.....not crazy when you first come in...ignore all the people trying to get you to upgrade or go on another adventure....you can stay right where you are...lots to do there with free guides!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deb from Nebraska

Skip The Preferred Club

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The room was lovely, bed was comfortable and housekeeping did a great job. The pools were great, and the beach was beautiful.
Cons: Please, if you can't live up to the hype of your promised amenities don't offer them. Also, colder beer and faster service in restaurants.
Location: We went to the Mayan Ruins. Nice and close and well worth the trip.
We booked a Preferred Club Ocean Front Junior Suite. Obviously the staff at Tulum has never been introduced to their own website. *Personalized check-in consisted of waiting in line to check in and then following the bellman and our luggage to our room with two other couples and waiting outside while he settled the others into their rooms. *Access to private lounge and beach area.(number 4 on the Preferred Club Ammenity list), when asked about the private beach area we were made to feel like we had made that up in our foolish little heads however they could help us find a chair on the beach if we needed them to ! Thanks, I think I can manage that. The private lounge was left unlocked and never once were we asked for proof that we were members. The fabulous continental breakfast, hors d'oeuvres, and exquiste desserts that were supposed to be in the lounge were laughable, and after taking an empty liquor bottle off the shelf and setting it on the table, we came back in the afternoon to find it had been placed back on the shelf. Surely the employee who did that could see she was setting an empty bottle back on the shelf ? Our complimentary newspaper arrived 3 out of the 6 days we were there, and only after complaining about the "upgraded" mini bar service were we presented with a snickers bar, a small can of pringles, and a bag of m&m's. Oh well, the fridge in our room didn't work anyway, so why bother ! "Someone will be there to look at it", that was 6 days ago !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Delicious food, great activities, friendly staff, perfect pool for kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from minnesota

A little better than average hotel.

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Beach was nice.
Cons: Meal reservations as mentioned above. Nightly entertainment was very average.
Location: Location is a long way from Cancun airport but near some activities such as snorkeling, golf, cenotes, etc.
Beach was nice but swimming conditions were rocky. We had a group of 10 and had trouble getting seated together for meals. Would recommend allowing reservations. Rooms were nice but not overly clean. Overall setting and location was average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sharon from yorktown heights my

Fantastic

Posted Mar 3, 2014
The most relaxing mini-vacation I have ever experienced! Lots of activities if that is of interest --but relaxation is a given
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cristen from chicago

Friendly, fun and fantastic!

Posted Mar 2, 2014
We had out best vacation ever at Dreams Tulum. The resort feels small but has all the amenities of a large property and is secluded and safe. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable with nice views (we had a garden room). The staff were friendly, helpful, engaging and plentiful and they are happy to help you learn Spanish while they improve their English. Dining options were plentiful and flexible enough that you only have to repeat a meal or restaraunt if you want to. The activities were too numerous to count but we can highly recommend the dive shop and our dive master, Jamie who took us on some great reef and cenote dives while helping us get our PADI open water cert. We can't wait to go back and are talking about making it 2 weeks next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dje

Best hotel and amazing staff

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nill
We came here for our honeymoon and this was by far the most amazing hotel we have ever been to.the staff, food, room, views, grounds are so beautiful.we had such a wonderful time and can't wait to come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent accomodations - close to beach

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Our room was clean, staff very nice, just a hop, skip and a jump to the beach!
Location: Tulum was a little too crowded. Xel-Ha was excellent - spend the entire day there
Fantastic hotel - staff was great. Only one complaint - since huge destination wedding venue - one night a wedding took over the one restaurant - and the DJ was very loud - but other than that - the staff was incredible!